Customer Reviews for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC

Purchase the computer and a FREE 1 Year Kaspersky Internet Security (1-User) download will be automatically added at checkout. The software download will be emailed to you. State law may require sales tax to be charged on the pre-discounted price if the product is subject to sales tax. Buy a Windows 7 PC June 2, 2012 through January 31, 2013 and get Windows 8 Pro for $14.99 (when it becomes available). Specifications: Processor & Memory: Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Processor (3.40GHz) Intel® B75 Express Chipset 16GB DDR3 Memory  (4 slots, 32GB MAX) Drives: 2TB SATA Hard Drive (5900RPM) 12X Blu-ray Rewritable Drive: Read AND Write CDs/DVDs/Blu-Ray Discs Front Panel 19-in-1 digital multimedia card reader Graphics: Integrated Intel® HD Graphics (dual monitor capable) Communications: 10/100/1000 Mb/s Gigabit  LAN Audio: High Definition audio Keyboard & Mouse: Wireless  Keyboard Wireless  Mouse Expandability (total bays/slots): 2 x 5.25" Exposed (1x occupied) 1 x 3.5" Exposed (1x occupied) 4 x 3.5" Hidden (1x occupied) 1 x PCIe x16 1 x PCIe x4 2 x PCI Ports: 6 x USB 2.0 ports (2x front, 4x rear) 2x USB 3.0 ports 3x Audio ports 1 x DVI-D port 1 x D-SUB port 1 x HDMI port 1 x RJ45 port 1x PS/2 port Operating System: Genuine Microsoft Windows® 7 Home Premium, 64-bit.   Buy a Windows 7 PC and get Windows 8 Pro for $14.99.  Offer valid June 2, 2012 through January 31, 2013, for complete details visit http://windowsupgradeoffer.com Additional Software: Microsoft® Office Starter (reduced functionality versions of Word and Excel; not the full version of Microsoft® Office 2010) Symantec Norton  Internet Security 2012 (30-Day Trial) NEW!  Symantec Norton™ Online Backup (5GB) 30-Day Trial. Automatic, secure, easy-to-use online backup safeguards your digital photos, video, music, and files against loss or damage. If disaster strikes, you can easily access and restore your files on any Web-enabled computer and get back up and running. Additional Information: Dimensions: (HxWxD):  13.9" x 7.1" x 16.9" (approx.) Power supply: 350W Lifetime, 24/7 toll-free phone technical support for hardware
Average Customer Rating:
4.256 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
(out of 39 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
33 of 39(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Review 1 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Midwest
Date:July 11, 2012

Worst Computer I ever had

Pros: convinced me to buy apple
Cons: painful
Model Number: ZT X16
"I bought this as a replacement for a HP model I've had for 4 years. the first thing i noticed was it wouldn't stay connected to the internet. I called the 1-800 number and they couldn't solve it. Then the system crashed and I had to do a system reset. Finally it started wiping out data and programs.. wouldn't let me reload programs. I've used Norton 360 for years and convinced myself I had a virus. I managed to load 3 different anti virus programs that found nothing. Ultimately i cleaned the system and reloaded windows and all the software. The pro I hired saved my tax files etc thank God. Finally after years of suffering through Windows .. ZT convinced me to buy an Apple.... best move I've ever made.. ok ok the Honda over GM was a good move too."
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2012

Photo and Video Recreationalist

Pros: i7 processor
Cons: bargain basement cheesy unsupported ..., low-tech@high-tech price
"Beware of what you get in this over-hyped package .. and why many as myself returned it after a tryout. The i7 processor is the only upscale virtue and nearly every other component is MIA. A 350W power supply is 8-track technology of the 90's, the HD is a weird 5900RPM 'greenie' rather than the modern 7200RPM standard, memory is 4X4 rather than 2X8 making upgrade more expensive, the very basic Asus MB didn't have a port for a Displayport connection to a better monitor so you must purchase a graphics card and a new power supply since 350W is inadequate. The TS (800) goes directly to the P.I. or India and any minimally tech question is routed back to Z Tech HQ which is available until 3PM PST five days a week. A totally bum deal for the price."
Review 3 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Olympia, Wa.
Date:August 31, 2012

Everyone deserves a second chance...

Pros: so far just the blueray & the card readers.
Cons: the blue light on the front flashes, when the pc is sleeping; like a bright flashing, neon sign in a dark room.
"Everyone deserves a second chance, even Costco. I bought this PC because it's what I wanted. I bought it from Costco because of their guarentee and return policy. And I am very glad I did. This particular computer is a lemon and tomorrow, I'm taking it back and getting another one. A swap. I've had this PC for less than 3 weeks and it has bluescreened 21 times. I'm a desktop tech by trade and I was just going to work on it until it was fixed. But then I figured...no, by golly this computer is brand new....this is one I should not have to fix or work on yet. This is why I bought it at Costco. Lemons happen. It's a fact of life. And hopfully the next ZT I get to replace this one will be in top form. And then it will earn a better review from me."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 30, 2012

Great Expectations

"I was very excited to order this unit yet I was let down within a matter of days. Video issues, lock up issues and more time than one should ever have on the phone with tech support. Slower than the older PC that I replaced... maybe I got a lemon? Tried for 45 days to work with it yet tomorrow it will be going back to the store..."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fort Collins, CO
Date:June 29, 2012

Good Price, Bummer Computer

Pros: cheap, decent tech support, comes with disks to reinstall os and drivers
Cons: unstable system, called tech support 4 times in 2 months, had to reinstall os after only one week
Model Number: not clear. i7-3770; 16GB RAM; 2TB HD
"I traded in a one month old Dell XPS for this, as it had more memory for the same price. The first thing that was disappointing was it lacks wireless. I have not had any computer, desktop, laptop, or netbook for OVER 3 years that didn't come with wireless standard. Even the cheaper HP I am replacing due to a dead HD had wireless! Then, within a week, I had to reinstall the OS. Next, I started getting the blue screen of death randomly. I would be in word...or excel...or online...and *WHAM* blue screen. Next I noticed that I actually had to watch it search for files...searching so slowly I watch the blue progress bar. Now, for 16 GB of RAM searching for a file on a HD only having 65.3GB (out of 2TB) in use...this is ridiculous. The kicker was last night. I left my computer, made and ate dinner, and came back to find it shut down. It had crashed all by itself...and when I tried to restart it, it couldn't utilize the restore point...so I was forced to delete it and just hope everything I had just done wasn't lost.
So, maybe I have a lemon. And, yes, tech support has been mostly helpful. However, in all the time I had the HP, I never ONCE called tech support, and in the two months I have had this, I've called four times. So, bye-bye ZT. And this being my first experience with ya, I'm not willing to give it another try.
"
11 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:September 9, 2012

Troublesome Setup--Had to Reinstall Windows

Model Number: SS-DAF1433
"I purchased the computer from the Costco web site on 8/22/12 and received it on 8/29/112. I let it run in its native state all day on 8/30/12 and began loading applications and data on 8/31/12. Here is my report; the good, bad, and the ugly.
The good:
1. It was well packaged and complete, i.e., no missing items.
2. It is a very attractive case.
3. The ON button is located in the lower-mid front panel and glows a bright blue when the computer is active. (The ON button on my old Gateway is hard to distinguish from other front panel features.)
4. Out of the box, the computer started without a hitch and displayed the Windows 7 desktop.
5. Tech support is easy to reach. The 1st level is in India, but the techs spoke unaccented English, and I had no problem understanding them. I called four times and got right through each time. On the last call, I was elevated to their support in New Jersey.
The bad:
1. The Windows desktop image will not change. Using the Personalize feature, alternative images are displayed but do not function to actually change the desktop display.
2. I had to call Tech Support on a new computer.
The ugly:
1. The computer is slow. Every time it reboots, it takes up to 4 minutes to become stabilized and ready to use.
2. I troubleshot this problem and the one above with ZT tech support. The problem was a corrupted Windows OS.
3. After spending a full day loading all of my apps and data, I had to reinstall the OS. I was not a happy camper.
4. ZT does not have a manual—just a very skimpy UG. Reinstalling Windows was not a slam dunk. I needed help. They walked me through the procedure and everything went well. I had to reinstall Windows from a disc then the utilities and applications from another disc.
5. I used the Windows Easy File Transfer program to move data, via Homegroup LAN, from my old to the new computer. That worked great. It took about 4 hours to effortlessly move 185 GB. It was an automated process that once started needed no further input from me.
6. The computer appears to work well, now.
Summary and rating:
1. I rate them a 10 for their Tech Support, an 8 on looks. a 3 on configuration. They have two USB 3.0 ports, but leave them on the rear of the unit. And, the USB and Camera Disc ports are installed upside down! That is, the SD memory card installs with its gold-colored pins facing up, and the flash drive installs such that you cannot see the working-disc flashing light.
2. Overall rating is a 4. I would not buy another ZT Systems computer.
I have been working with the computer three days now, and it is working fine and displays good speed. Having a corrupted OS may have been a fluke. It is a powerful machine for the money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:texas
Date:July 9, 2012

could be faster for video rendering

Pros: quiet, good value for its specs, return policy
Cons: no hdcp, underwhelming video rendering
"We ordered this based on specs and usually good reviews posted by others on earlier generations. My main use of this computer was to have a recent model wintel machine to supplement our four year old, aging gateway mini computer we use for our media player along with a PS3 for blu ray. Since this had both thought it would do the job. First off no HDCP on the video board so we would have to hook it up like we did with the gateway to get surround sound (two cables) Next despite the processor/memory in this being much faster than the old core 2 quad 2.5 ghz/4 gb DD2 in the gateway, its only about twice as fast in rendering large HD files (think blu ray sized) I dont really have need of it if its not going to be a super fast rendering machine and its too big to fit in the gateways slot in the entertainment center without removing the PS3 anyway. 16 gb is great but overkill for just video editing. I think we will return it (thanks Costco for the 90 days) and look for a i7QM in a laptop that will have both a HD screen and true HDMI that can drive our home amp directly."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston,MA
Date:September 1, 2012

Good Deal, Minor Problems

Pros: quality components
Cons: substandard case, small 350w power supply, must breakoff case tabs to add a pci card
Model Number: ZT Intel Core i7-3770 w/ Blu-Ray
"I tried pricing out the I7 processor, 16GB memory, a 2TB hard drive, a blu-ray burner, and an operating system, and this comes out as a good deal especially with the COSTCO 90 return policy.
The first day I tried loading all the motherboard drivers from the enclosed DVD, I got multiple Blue-Screen-Of-Death(s).
After two calls to the very helpful 24/7 India help line, we figured out the BIOS tricks and reloaded the operating system to eliminate the driver conflicts. Some of the drivers on the DVD are required (e.g. USB3, Audio, and ethernet) and the rest conflict with the Windows operating system.
The case feels cheap and the LG blu-ray tray button is in an awkward position. The light for the DVD is not visible.
There are no screwable filler strips for the card slots in the rear. When you add a card, you must break off a tab and add your own screw.
The 350 watt power supply is adequate, but I am hesitant in adding a video card without upgrading. The built in video scored very low on the Windows rating test (the processor rated very high).
The heat sink seems to cool the I7 enough to avoid any overheat messages (setup in the BIOS ... press DEL on bootup to access)."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:El Dorado Hills, CA
Date:August 26, 2012

Good solid product - jury still out on games

Pros: bang for the buck
"Bought this for my son, who uses it for school and moderate gaming (no high-end first-person shooters). The unit works fine, and is quiet. However, many of his games (including slow ones like minecraft) do not work well on this, even with an aux graphics card. Tech support does not have any solutions. So, jury is still out on whether this is a problem w the PC."
Review 10 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Omaha, NE
Date:August 12, 2012

Good value for the money

Pros: lots of memory, core i7 3rd gen, blu-ray drive
Cons: no pci express power leads on oem power supply
Model Number: Affinity 870
"Overall I am satisfied with my purchase. I really was interested in the Blu-ray drive as I have a few of those discs lying around. It works as advertised.
Mine came with Cyberlink Power DVD 10 as well as some other Cyberlink apps on a DVD/CD.
Plenty of memory (16 GB) and plenty of HDD space with the 2 TB.
The Intel HD graphics are the 4000 chip set (much better than the 2500), so if you are not really into hard core gaming, you probably won't need a discrete gfx card.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2012

Great deal, technical details missing

"Bought this because it was a way better price than any similar system. They made a few system tradeoffs which you should be aware of which impact the cost/quality of the system:
1. The memory is 16 GB, as stated, and is comprised of 4x4GB sticks. System supports 32 GB in 4 slots. Means you can't upgrade without getting rid of some memory.
2. The memory sticks are DDR3-1066 when the system supports DDR3-1600. Could be faster.
3. The power supply is a little underpowered at 350 W. In fact if you intend to add another hard drive there isn't a spare SATA connector inside. If you decide to make any changes you probably want to replace the power supply with a slightly bigger one.
4. The case is as cheap as it could be, fairly flimsy, but the front looks nice and who cares, anyway - they already built the computer for you.
Some nice points as well -
1. Price, price, price
2. Attractive front
3. Very nice motherboard - an Asus B75. This is a business-type chipset rather than the popular Z77 intended for overclockers.
4. Quite quiet so far, though I haven't put it through its paces yet.
5. Actually comes with two DVDs, one of which is Windows install media.
All in all, a nice buy."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Yorktown, Va
Date:July 25, 2012

Computer good with minor glitch

Pros: fast, good price, easy set-up
Cons: support not free, no directions on set-up except a few pages, no list of what is installed on the computer
Model Number: ZT Intel Core i7-3770 Desktop
"I have had the system for about 2 weeks. When the system was out of the box, Set up was easy and everthing worked. A minor problem was that the CD-ROM/Blu-Ray drive tray would not close all the way on its own. It would stop about 1.5 inches from closing. The friction of the drive door against the bottom of the disk tray keeps the disk tray from closing all the way. If you push the door down, the drive tray will go the rest of the way in.
Contacted ZT Support, they suggested taking the sides and front off the PC and then reseating the front to see if this fixes the problem. Have not done this yet.
When the Support desk called back, they left a toll number to call to. So tech support follow up is not toll free and I was on hold for a while.
Another minor inconvenience is that there is no indication anywhere of whether caps lock is on. No light on the keyboard. Overall like the computer so far except for these 2 items.
"
Review 13 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:July 23, 2012

Very good for Photo Editing

Pros: excellent multitasking, 2 tb disc; 16 gbyte memory
Cons: none yet...
Model Number: Model 870-0002
"I use the system to edit RAW photos with Lightroom, Photoshop, and Perfect Photo Suite 6. I'm impressed with its speed and ability to multitask between the photo editing programs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Williamsburg, VA
Date:July 18, 2012

A Well-Built System

Pros: lots of memory, fast processor, large hard drive, well built
Cons: no usb 3.0 on front panel, only one 6 gig sata port
"Lots to like in this model: 16 Gig of memory, latest i7 processor, big hard drive and Blu-ray DVD at a very reasonable price. I opened it up and the build quality is good, plus there is lots of room for adding additional components or drives. Deducted one star because they did NOT bring an available USB 3.0 port to the front panel (just left an empty connector on the motherboard), and because there was only ONE 6 Gig SATA connector (and five 3 Gig SATA connectors) on the motherboard. If you add a hard drive, (which I did) you are forced to use one of the slower 3 Gig SATA ports."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:July 13, 2012

ZT Intel Core i7-3770 Desktop

Pros: very quiet
Cons: case is poorly designed
Model Number: i7-3770
"Computer came quickly. Runs well and quietly. Not very much junk-ware installed. Case is unfriendly. Need screwdriver to remove sides and both sides need to be removed to add a drive. No spare sata cables or power connectors were provided inside. Microsoft patches were very far behind. Had to load over 600 MB of patches to bring machine up to date."
Review 16 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, HI
Date:July 12, 2012

Good Value

Pros: fast
Cons: costco tech support did not know product features
Model Number: ZT Intel Core i7-3770 Desktop 12x Blu-ray
"I'm not familiar with computers, but it was easy to set up and operate. Computer is very fast and installing office & turbo tax was flawless. Have used computer for one week.
The computer does not have speakers, nor is there a WIFI card."
Review 17 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Puente, CA
Date:December 1, 2012

Overall a good buy

Pros: fast powerfull, multiple programs running at same time, huge hard drive, usb 3.0, lots of memory
Cons: usb hubs were installed upside down on front, no wireless adaptor installed, can be a little noisy at times
Model Number: ZT Intel Core i7-3770
"Great computer. I run multiple programs at same time with no hiccups or slowing down. Hard drive is very quiet and fast. 2 usb 3.0 on rear, but if your curious, you have an extra usb 3.0 connector on the motherboard; of course you need to buy a usb adaptor/extension, and voila! Sometimes the fan for the cpu gets a little loud, but it goes away; need to find out why, "ZT", this shouldn't be that loud when the fan kicks in to cool off. But overall, its money well worth spent, and hopefully lasts for some time, thanks."
Review 18 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Or
Date:August 30, 2012

Powerful PC, Great Price

Pros: fast, powerful, no excessive bloatware
Cons: norton internet security 2012
"This PC some serious horsepower. I purchased this to do mostly photo post-processing and as a media server. Photoshop runs like a dream. I am very impressed with the performance so far. You could certainly spend a lot more if you have to have a brand name. I've put this PC through its paces and it has done great.
As someone who has built many PCs in the past I was surprised to find such a good combination of components in a pre-built PC for the price. The Logitech wireless keyboard and mouse are a nice add-on as well. Take advantage of the bundled Kaspersky Internet Security. Much better than Norton"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LA. CA
Date:August 28, 2012

great speed

Pros: value and speed
Model Number: ZT Intel Core i7-3770 Desktop
"This is the computer that I bought for my son, he loves it and the speed is great. The price is good too. You cannot find anything like this with this price. Thanks Costco."
Review 20 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:arizona
Date:August 27, 2012

ZT computer #2

Pros: great service
Cons: needs a wireless adatper
Model Number: ZT Intel Core i7-3770 Desktop
"This is my second ZT. My Brother also has a ZT computer.
The computer is the best buy for the money. You get 24 hour toll free service. I have not used the service since my computers have been trouble free."
1 2 next>>