Customer Reviews for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC

Purchase the computer and a FREE 1 Year Kaspersky Internet Security (1-User) download will be automatically added at checkout. The software download will be emailed to you. State law may require sales tax to be charged on the pre-discounted price if the product is subject to sales tax. Buy a Windows 7 PC June 2, 2012 through January 31, 2013 and get Windows 8 Pro for $14.99 (when it becomes available). Specifications: Processor & Memory: Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Processor (3.40GHz) Intel® B75 Express Chipset 16GB DDR3 Memory  (4 slots, 32GB MAX) Drives: 2TB SATA Hard Drive (5900RPM) 12X Blu-ray Rewritable Drive: Read AND Write CDs/DVDs/Blu-Ray Discs Front Panel 19-in-1 digital multimedia card reader Graphics: Integrated Intel® HD Graphics (dual monitor capable) Communications: 10/100/1000 Mb/s Gigabit  LAN Audio: High Definition audio Keyboard & Mouse: Wireless  Keyboard Wireless  Mouse Expandability (total bays/slots): 2 x 5.25" Exposed (1x occupied) 1 x 3.5" Exposed (1x occupied) 4 x 3.5" Hidden (1x occupied) 1 x PCIe x16 1 x PCIe x4 2 x PCI Ports: 6 x USB 2.0 ports (2x front, 4x rear) 2x USB 3.0 ports 3x Audio ports 1 x DVI-D port 1 x D-SUB port 1 x HDMI port 1 x RJ45 port 1x PS/2 port Operating System: Genuine Microsoft Windows® 7 Home Premium, 64-bit.   Buy a Windows 7 PC and get Windows 8 Pro for $14.99.  Offer valid June 2, 2012 through January 31, 2013, for complete details visit http://windowsupgradeoffer.com Additional Software: Microsoft® Office Starter (reduced functionality versions of Word and Excel; not the full version of Microsoft® Office 2010) Symantec Norton  Internet Security 2012 (30-Day Trial) NEW!  Symantec Norton™ Online Backup (5GB) 30-Day Trial. Automatic, secure, easy-to-use online backup safeguards your digital photos, video, music, and files against loss or damage. If disaster strikes, you can easily access and restore your files on any Web-enabled computer and get back up and running. Additional Information: Dimensions: (HxWxD):  13.9" x 7.1" x 16.9" (approx.) Power supply: 350W Lifetime, 24/7 toll-free phone technical support for hardware
Average Customer Rating:
4.256 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
(out of 39 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
33 of 39(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Review 1 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Puente, CA
Date:December 1, 2012

Overall a good buy

Pros: fast powerfull, multiple programs running at same time, huge hard drive, usb 3.0, lots of memory
Cons: usb hubs were installed upside down on front, no wireless adaptor installed, can be a little noisy at times
Model Number: ZT Intel Core i7-3770
"Great computer. I run multiple programs at same time with no hiccups or slowing down. Hard drive is very quiet and fast. 2 usb 3.0 on rear, but if your curious, you have an extra usb 3.0 connector on the motherboard; of course you need to buy a usb adaptor/extension, and voila! Sometimes the fan for the cpu gets a little loud, but it goes away; need to find out why, "ZT", this shouldn't be that loud when the fan kicks in to cool off. But overall, its money well worth spent, and hopefully lasts for some time, thanks."
Review 2 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2012

Photo and Video Recreationalist

Pros: i7 processor
Cons: bargain basement cheesy unsupported ..., low-tech@high-tech price
"Beware of what you get in this over-hyped package .. and why many as myself returned it after a tryout. The i7 processor is the only upscale virtue and nearly every other component is MIA. A 350W power supply is 8-track technology of the 90's, the HD is a weird 5900RPM 'greenie' rather than the modern 7200RPM standard, memory is 4X4 rather than 2X8 making upgrade more expensive, the very basic Asus MB didn't have a port for a Displayport connection to a better monitor so you must purchase a graphics card and a new power supply since 350W is inadequate. The TS (800) goes directly to the P.I. or India and any minimally tech question is routed back to Z Tech HQ which is available until 3PM PST five days a week. A totally bum deal for the price."
Review 3 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:September 9, 2012

Troublesome Setup--Had to Reinstall Windows

Model Number: SS-DAF1433
"I purchased the computer from the Costco web site on 8/22/12 and received it on 8/29/112. I let it run in its native state all day on 8/30/12 and began loading applications and data on 8/31/12. Here is my report; the good, bad, and the ugly.
The good:
1. It was well packaged and complete, i.e., no missing items.
2. It is a very attractive case.
3. The ON button is located in the lower-mid front panel and glows a bright blue when the computer is active. (The ON button on my old Gateway is hard to distinguish from other front panel features.)
4. Out of the box, the computer started without a hitch and displayed the Windows 7 desktop.
5. Tech support is easy to reach. The 1st level is in India, but the techs spoke unaccented English, and I had no problem understanding them. I called four times and got right through each time. On the last call, I was elevated to their support in New Jersey.
The bad:
1. The Windows desktop image will not change. Using the Personalize feature, alternative images are displayed but do not function to actually change the desktop display.
2. I had to call Tech Support on a new computer.
The ugly:
1. The computer is slow. Every time it reboots, it takes up to 4 minutes to become stabilized and ready to use.
2. I troubleshot this problem and the one above with ZT tech support. The problem was a corrupted Windows OS.
3. After spending a full day loading all of my apps and data, I had to reinstall the OS. I was not a happy camper.
4. ZT does not have a manual—just a very skimpy UG. Reinstalling Windows was not a slam dunk. I needed help. They walked me through the procedure and everything went well. I had to reinstall Windows from a disc then the utilities and applications from another disc.
5. I used the Windows Easy File Transfer program to move data, via Homegroup LAN, from my old to the new computer. That worked great. It took about 4 hours to effortlessly move 185 GB. It was an automated process that once started needed no further input from me.
6. The computer appears to work well, now.
Summary and rating:
1. I rate them a 10 for their Tech Support, an 8 on looks. a 3 on configuration. They have two USB 3.0 ports, but leave them on the rear of the unit. And, the USB and Camera Disc ports are installed upside down! That is, the SD memory card installs with its gold-colored pins facing up, and the flash drive installs such that you cannot see the working-disc flashing light.
2. Overall rating is a 4. I would not buy another ZT Systems computer.
I have been working with the computer three days now, and it is working fine and displays good speed. Having a corrupted OS may have been a fluke. It is a powerful machine for the money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston,MA
Date:September 1, 2012

Good Deal, Minor Problems

Pros: quality components
Cons: substandard case, small 350w power supply, must breakoff case tabs to add a pci card
Model Number: ZT Intel Core i7-3770 w/ Blu-Ray
"I tried pricing out the I7 processor, 16GB memory, a 2TB hard drive, a blu-ray burner, and an operating system, and this comes out as a good deal especially with the COSTCO 90 return policy.
The first day I tried loading all the motherboard drivers from the enclosed DVD, I got multiple Blue-Screen-Of-Death(s).
After two calls to the very helpful 24/7 India help line, we figured out the BIOS tricks and reloaded the operating system to eliminate the driver conflicts. Some of the drivers on the DVD are required (e.g. USB3, Audio, and ethernet) and the rest conflict with the Windows operating system.
The case feels cheap and the LG blu-ray tray button is in an awkward position. The light for the DVD is not visible.
There are no screwable filler strips for the card slots in the rear. When you add a card, you must break off a tab and add your own screw.
The 350 watt power supply is adequate, but I am hesitant in adding a video card without upgrading. The built in video scored very low on the Windows rating test (the processor rated very high).
The heat sink seems to cool the I7 enough to avoid any overheat messages (setup in the BIOS ... press DEL on bootup to access)."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Olympia, Wa.
Date:August 31, 2012

Everyone deserves a second chance...

Pros: so far just the blueray & the card readers.
Cons: the blue light on the front flashes, when the pc is sleeping; like a bright flashing, neon sign in a dark room.
"Everyone deserves a second chance, even Costco. I bought this PC because it's what I wanted. I bought it from Costco because of their guarentee and return policy. And I am very glad I did. This particular computer is a lemon and tomorrow, I'm taking it back and getting another one. A swap. I've had this PC for less than 3 weeks and it has bluescreened 21 times. I'm a desktop tech by trade and I was just going to work on it until it was fixed. But then I figured...no, by golly this computer is brand new....this is one I should not have to fix or work on yet. This is why I bought it at Costco. Lemons happen. It's a fact of life. And hopfully the next ZT I get to replace this one will be in top form. And then it will earn a better review from me."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Or
Date:August 30, 2012

Powerful PC, Great Price

Pros: fast, powerful, no excessive bloatware
Cons: norton internet security 2012
"This PC some serious horsepower. I purchased this to do mostly photo post-processing and as a media server. Photoshop runs like a dream. I am very impressed with the performance so far. You could certainly spend a lot more if you have to have a brand name. I've put this PC through its paces and it has done great.
As someone who has built many PCs in the past I was surprised to find such a good combination of components in a pre-built PC for the price. The Logitech wireless keyboard and mouse are a nice add-on as well. Take advantage of the bundled Kaspersky Internet Security. Much better than Norton"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LA. CA
Date:August 28, 2012

great speed

Pros: value and speed
Model Number: ZT Intel Core i7-3770 Desktop
"This is the computer that I bought for my son, he loves it and the speed is great. The price is good too. You cannot find anything like this with this price. Thanks Costco."
Review 8 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:arizona
Date:August 27, 2012

ZT computer #2

Pros: great service
Cons: needs a wireless adatper
Model Number: ZT Intel Core i7-3770 Desktop
"This is my second ZT. My Brother also has a ZT computer.
The computer is the best buy for the money. You get 24 hour toll free service. I have not used the service since my computers have been trouble free."
Review 9 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:El Dorado Hills, CA
Date:August 26, 2012

Good solid product - jury still out on games

Pros: bang for the buck
"Bought this for my son, who uses it for school and moderate gaming (no high-end first-person shooters). The unit works fine, and is quiet. However, many of his games (including slow ones like minecraft) do not work well on this, even with an aux graphics card. Tech support does not have any solutions. So, jury is still out on whether this is a problem w the PC."
Review 10 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Alamos, CA
Date:August 25, 2012

Outstanding value for what it is

Pros: value
Cons: no video card for gamer
Model Number: ZT Intel Core i7-3770 Desktop 12x Blu-ray Rewritable Drive HDMI, USB 3.0
"This is the second ZT computer I have bought from Costco and I have been very satisfied with each. I think this is the best value around for a powerful Ivy-Bridge i7 processor machine with lots of RAM and a large hard drive. This model uses the integrated Intel graphics with no separate graphics card, so the hard-core gamer probably wants the model for $100 more with the Nvidia card. But I'm not a gamer, and wanted a powerful machine that would be economical on power consumption. Extremely quiet. It comes with Windows 7 but I am running Ubuntu Linux. For the geek, it comes with a manual for the motherboard, which is awesome."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Danville, CA
Date:August 25, 2012

Great Product at a graet price

Pros: high capacity storage processing speed, the wireless keyboard feels rather stiff
Model Number: ZT Intel Core i7-3770
"My first unit arrived in time. It worked well while I was installing additional software. However, the optical drive stopeed working within a day or 2. Costco sent a replacemenr which took close to 3 weeks to for delivery.
The new computer has been working fine for about a month and I don't anticipate any problem.
"
Review 12 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:August 23, 2012

Smokin' fast with all the goodies! Best ever!

Pros: full featured., excellent customer service
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: ZT 17-3770
"I go back to the IBM 650 and card sorters with everything since then. This is by far the finest product/desk top computer I have ever used or seen. Added to that is the excellent customer service. My emailed question was answered in under two hours. My telephone call to ZT's Alan was as helpful and responsive as he could have possibly been. Add to that the extra strength of Costco and you have all you could ever ask for."
Review 13 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2012

Great Deal & Excellent Support

Model Number: 870-0002
"Its a great machine I bought it through Costco, I had some technical difficulties while setting this up & i called the free technical support & in no time I am all good to go thanks to the support Person Dane Helped me configuring the set up in a very professional manner. This Increases my Trust on decision of buying a ZT computer. Dane was very helpful , polite & helped me with all my questions. I am happy with my decision."
Review 14 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Apopka, FL
Date:August 18, 2012

Great Value - Fast and Quiet

Pros: great value, fairly quiet, very fast
Cons: usb ports in front mounted upside down, suggest manufacturer use 7200 rpm hard drives
Model Number: Zt-870-0002
"I sold PCs for years and even after getting out of the business I built my own machines. This is the first PC I have purchased completely built. The most taxing program I use is Adobe Premiere 9. It uses all of the CPU power and all the 16 GB of memory. This program ran in record time while rendering a Blu-ray home video. When the CPU is at maximum speed the fan will become loud but most of the time it is very quiet. I was also happily surprised to find that it came with an ASUS motherboard and the fastest memory. The only qualms I have is the hard drive speed and the fact that the front USB ports were installed upside down so you have to turn your USB plugs upside down to insert. This PC is a great value overall."
Review 15 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Juan Capistrano, California
Date:August 15, 2012

Sold on ZT support

Model Number: ZT 870-0002
"My Model 870-0002 ZT desk top, first used by me yesterday, is now functioning well, as near as I can tell so far, after two calls made for support. The first time because, though the computer is wireless capable, I was unaware that I needed to plug in the Internet cable or to purchase the needed wireless adaptor. because I'm not real computer savy.
However, today I phoned again and received excellent help from Nash after I explained that when I clicked on URLs in my e-mails, though it seemed that I was directed to the correct site, I could not see the video. Nash spent time with me determining that my Internet Explorer was functioning properly, but when I could still not click on a URL and be able to view the video. He gently and patiently explained my problem and now Internet Explorer is the default browser. He took the time to discuss important security issues with me as well.
This review is a bit long, but I'm feeling quite emotional about all this. I've had HP computers, Dell computers and other ones as well, but NEVER have I experienced such gentle and fabulous customer support, and it only takes a minute to be connected!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale AZ
Date:August 14, 2012

Sharp-smooth-fast computer

Pros: out of the box fast
Model Number: ZT I7-3770
"No problems right out of the box. I added an additional graphics board for my 2 monitors (the internal setup for two monitors needs a digital and I have two basic monitors).
I use multiple programs at the same time. I have NO problem with them I have the I-7 processor and 16GB memory and 2TB hard drive.
No problem moving Office 10 over to this machine as well.
"
Review 17 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Omaha, NE
Date:August 12, 2012

Good value for the money

Pros: lots of memory, core i7 3rd gen, blu-ray drive
Cons: no pci express power leads on oem power supply
Model Number: Affinity 870
"Overall I am satisfied with my purchase. I really was interested in the Blu-ray drive as I have a few of those discs lying around. It works as advertised.
Mine came with Cyberlink Power DVD 10 as well as some other Cyberlink apps on a DVD/CD.
Plenty of memory (16 GB) and plenty of HDD space with the 2 TB.
The Intel HD graphics are the 4000 chip set (much better than the 2500), so if you are not really into hard core gaming, you probably won't need a discrete gfx card.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2012

great computer

Pros: everything
Cons: none sofar
"internet searches are almost instant.down loads are superfast.I have the hdmi hooked up to my 60tv and picture is great with a 22 for monitor.I like that it has a blueray burner.Im no techi but i priced most of the components and couldnt have had one built for the price I paid.the wireless keyboard and mouse work good.I have the transmitter reciever plugged onto one of the front ports and can use them from my couch which is about 10 feet from the computer.smart tvs lack the flash players to watch alot of videos and now I can watch anything my computer does on my 60.the lifetime tech support will come in handy im sure becuase of my limited computer skills"
Review 19 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 30, 2012

Great Expectations

"I was very excited to order this unit yet I was let down within a matter of days. Video issues, lock up issues and more time than one should ever have on the phone with tech support. Slower than the older PC that I replaced... maybe I got a lemon? Tried for 45 days to work with it yet tomorrow it will be going back to the store..."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ZT Intel® Core™ i7-3770 Desktop PC
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:July 30, 2012

Great Deal!!!

"My computer died suddenly and I had to quickly look for a replacement. I looked a lot of places and this was by far the best bang for the buck. I was a little nervous because I wasn't familiar with this brand at first and there was a bad review from one person on the site but PC Mag gave them an honorable mention. It was just too good a deal to pass up so I decided to try it. I am so glad I did. It is blazing fast!!! Everything has worked perfectly. This was really a great deal!!!"
1 2 next>>