Customer Reviews for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Model: M470SL VIZIO’s M470SL 47” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps® puts the best of the web right on your TV. Get instant access to on-demand movies, TV shows, social networking, music, photos and more at the push of a button on the enhanced 2-sided remote with keyboard. Equipped with built-in WiFi (802.11n), it also boasts 1080p Full HD with Razor LED and 200,000 to 1 DCR for brilliant color and clarity in a razor thin design. SRS StudioSound HDTM delivers advanced virtual surround sound, and three HDMI® ports connect your home theater, satellite or cable TV and Blu-ray™ Player. This energy saver also meets ENERGY STAR® 5.3 guidelines making it a friend to the environment and your wallet.   Specifications: Costco extends manufacture warranty to 2 years   Screen Size: 47" Class (46.69" diagonal)   Resolution: 1920 x 1080   Refresh Rate: 120Hz Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 200,000:1   Response Time: 8ms   Ambient Light sensor   Smooth Motion   Viewable Angle (HxV): 178° x 178°   Energy Star 4.1   Wall Mount Compatibility: 200mm x 400mm   Weight: 39.7 lbs (w/ stand), 35.3 lbs (w/ out stand)   Dimensions (WxHxD): 43.2" x 29.1" x 9.5" (w/ stand), 43.2" x 27" x 2" (w/ out stand) Audio: Speakers: Built-in 10W x 2 Speakers   SRS TruSurround HD™   SRS StudioSound HD™   SRS TruVolume™ Inputs/ Outputs: HDMI with HDCP x4   Component x1   Computer RGB x1   RF Connector for Internal Tuner x1   Enternet x1   SPDIF Digital Optical x1   USB 2.0 x 2 Sides (MP3 & JPEG)   MultiMedia: Music (MP3)   Photo (JPEG)   Video (MPEG)   DLNA
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
(out of 40 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
4
27 of 40(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Review 1 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2013

Love it!!

"Purchase made online - delivered quickly. Easy to install. Tech support walked me through the internet connection and we are enjoying the ease of connecting to Netflix especially. TV has a clear picture and the size was perfect for our Bedroom. Recommend for purchase without any qualms."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco bay area
Date:March 18, 2013

Excellent TV

Pros: picture quality, sound, remote with qwerty keyboard, ease of setup, was able to purchase in store
Model Number: M470SL
"Moved up from a Sharp 32" LED flat screen. This 47" is fantastic! The speakers on this model are at the bottom of the screen and face forward rather than down so negative comments about poor sound may not apply. Love the qwerty keyboard."
Review 3 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:February 20, 2013

Great Value

Pros: value
Cons: ups delivered 2 damaged tvs
Model Number: M470SL
"This is the fourth Vizio TV I have purchased. The first one is still running fine but is only 720p. The other two were bought as gifts for my children. This set is an LED and 1040 HD with 120 refresh. Uses less energy than any TV I ever own.
I am very pleased with its picture and sound.
"
Review 4 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Concord, CA
Date:February 14, 2013

Great tv

Pros: side usb for flash drive music and videos, 4 hdmi ports, smart tv
Cons: none
"I've had a lot of tv's over the years and this is one of the best. First off the picture is great with no motion blur and also bright colors. You can also adjust you picture size for the incoming signals, which have always been able to do with Vizio's. I bought a yamaha soundbar to deal with the sound issues, so no problem there. I would definitely recommend the tv for the price. I also like all the "smart" perks this tv has also."
Review 5 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:January 25, 2013

Very good buy

Pros: great picture, no motion blur, sound is excellent with srs on, price!!
Cons: not 120hz panel- 60hz panel w/120hz software, sound can fluctuate rarely with srs on
Model Number: M470SL
"I purchased this Vizio a few days ago due to its low price and 120hz LED capabilities, along with the Wifi and Netflix. I'll admit I was hesitant to buy a Vizio, but had heard good things from some friends of mine so I decided to give it a go.
First off, the picture is VERY good. Colors are great, blacks are very black, and the picture is very clear, especially when playing a Blu-ray.
Second, the sound is AMAZING. The SRS sound truly does make a difference. I've always had problems with my LG LCD tv in that I can't ever hear what people in movies/shows are saying because their voice is the same volume level as the show's background noise. This SRS audio brings important sounds to the front and I am finally able to hear. It also does give off a noticeable "surround sound" type effect, especially for video games.
Now, some dislikes.
I dislike that Vizio advertises it as a 120hz television- it is not. It is 120hz SPS, which means it is a 60hz television (panel) with software in it to bring it up to what Vizio deems as 120hz (whatever criteria that might be, I don't know). With that, however, I have not noticed any motion blur whatsoever and it is comparable to my LG TruMotion 240hz television which is actually a 120hz panel with software to make it 240hz (see a trend?).
A downside of the SRS sound is that, occasionally, I have noticed fluctuation of the sound during shows. It sounds as if the software is unable to decide which sound it should bring to the front, so it bounces back and forth. I have experienced this only once and only for about 2 minutes, but I did notice it. I'm assuming that these negative reviews are referring to that effect which, I'm assuming, can be corrected by turning SRS off (but then the sound goes back to all being the same level, leaving it hard to hear).
All in all, so far, the pros outweigh the cons and it is a GREAT tv for the price. Wifi, apps (netflix, pandora, hulu, skype, etc) are all just a plus and icing on the cake.
If my opinion changes, I will post."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 23, 2013

Vizio 47" TV

Pros: cheap
Cons: cheap
Model Number: M470SL
"I bought this TV in a pinch after my house was robbed and all TV's were stolen. I got home with it and it worked beautifully the first night. The next day, less than 24 hours after purchase, the picture went grey with lighter lines vertically down the middle of the screen. Costco gladly exchanged it but I'm not happy with the picture quality of the second one. I will probably exchange it and pay the difference to get the better quality Samsung."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:January 1, 2013

Great Netflix app, other apps lousy

Pros: connectors properly positioned for wall mount, great netflix app including "netflix for kids", tolerable keyboard on remote, streams video from 5 most popular sites on net, good picture
Cons: doesn't stream video from other sites on net, most apps other than netflix are lousy, still need media computer to stream other sites, shipped with non-functional m-go app, m-go has dedicated non-working button on remote, screen is prone to reflections, "smart" functions are not yet worth the extra $
Model Number: M470SL
"Title sums it up. Great picture, although screen is a little too reflective for my tastes. The connectors face the right way (parallel to wall) for mounting on the wall, unlike most competing units with connectors that point straight back.
Regarding apps: The Netflix app is great for kids' shows, which is 90% of what we watch. Merely good for grownups, because of limited search capability.
You can also stream video from Amazon, Hulu, Vudu, and a non-functional "coming soon" service called M-Go which has its own, irritating, non-functional, dedicated button on the remote.
BUT, we can't stream video from my wife's favorite source, abc.com, and without a built-in browser for a work-around, we'll still need to keep the living room media computer hooked up to the TV. So if we STILL need a computer connected to the TV, what's the point of paying as much as $200 extra for a "smart" TV?"
Review 8 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:December 10, 2012

beware: worst purchase ever

Cons: doesn't work warranty no help
Model Number: M470SL
"We purchased this tv approx 6months ago and now the internet apps (netflix, pandora etc.) only work about 10% of the time. No problem under warranty right? Wrong, 5 phone calls and over two hours on the phone. Still does not work. Multiple other wireless devices in the house all work properly. I pay for high speed cable internet and never a glitch on anything else. I can watch netflix on my higher end brand tv even when Vizio does not work. I suggest you find reviews made by people who have lived with this tv more than a couple hours. Good luck and caveat emptor."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brandon, Tampa
Date:November 29, 2012

Terrible customer support

Pros: cheaper price, best thing i like is thier remote..keypad n remote
Cons: not grt in color display not even close to samsun, no browser, not too many apps that u like to download
Model Number: M470SL
"While buying this TV, i had compared with Samsung and found the quality was ok.
After that issue started. I'm able to connect to Youtube app.. but not able to connect to Netflix.
Ohh man..Vizio customer support is terrible. After providing all info, lady who assisted me found that some codes were missing and asked me to upload my purchase recipt which i did. Later i waited for her to call back fr 4 hrs. after that i called back and got hold of 1 guy. I had given the case number. Instead of checking the issue with the case number, again he started from point 1 asking the issue. Don't knw hw JD power given for this guys as best in customer support. Now i'm waiting fr thier tech. supp. guys who come and fix. Today is 3rd day"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Wa.
Date:November 24, 2012

not so happy anymore

Pros: price ease of set-up
Cons: customer service from vizio faulty remote
Model Number: M470SL
"Bought this tv to use during recovery from knee replacement surgery and was pretty happy until yesterday morning when the remote just quit working. Vizio tech support concluded I needed a new remote and since the process can't get started until Monday with a three to four day gap between authorization and shipping I will be lucky to get a new one in 10 days. What???...sorry sir can't do any better. Now I'm stuck unable to use any of the fancy internet apps (Netflix etc.) for which I bought it and wondering if the rest of the package will just quit. Am tempted to return it to Costco for another tv...would be quicker than waiting for a new remote from Vizio."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Date:November 15, 2012

Best deal for the money

Pros: price!
Cons: start up time
"This is the first Vizio TV I ever bought and wanted to get a larger TV than the 37" Sharp Aquos I had. I was hesitant due to some of the reviews, but figured I could take it back if unsatisfied. I have had the TV for about a month and love it! It interfaces well with my wireless and you can add apps to it. I have streamed movies from my UVUV account easily. The picture is fantastic and the sound better than my Sharp - though I plan to hook it up to my surround sound at some point. I gave it 5 stars based on quality to price!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:November 1, 2012

Start up a deal breaker

Pros: picture audio features
Cons: start time, connector placement
Model Number: 47" M Series Slim LED Edge Lit LCD
"I had high hopes for Vizio. Standing back and taking in all the TVs, Vizio always looked good to me. Finally got the TV home and found out start up takes forever. It is 15+ seconds from the time I hit the button until there is something on the screen. That is just unacceptable to me. It may not bother some but I am used to and like my instant on culture. After 24 hours it is going back."
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:September 22, 2012

Great TV

Pros: sharp, clean picture, good refresh rate, nice interface, well done wifi modules like netflix, intuitive operations
Cons: marginal sound
Model Number: M470SL
"Great TV, excellent picture for sports and movies. Good enough sound for news, Jeopardy, etc, but needs help for movies and anything immersive. I use a Vizio soundbar and a stereo for Breaking Bad and NFL."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:September 17, 2012

Sound/Volume Issue

Pros: price
Cons: sound/volume issues
Model Number: M470SL
"This is the 2nd Vizio I purchased within 3 weeks. I returned the first one due to volume issues. It wd rise and fall on its own; from a whisper to a deafening roar. This one does the same thing. Called Vizio tech support re the first one, and they claimed this was unusual, but not unheard of. Not so, check the web. Purchased this one, a newer version, the last one was a the "M" series, the other was an "E" thinking Vizio had worked out the bugs. It has exactly the same problem. Returning it. I wd NOT recommend Vizio."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:September 17, 2012

Good Picture, Remote IR does not work

Pros: picture and sound good
Cons: the ir signal on my set is not working correctly.
Model Number: M470SL
"Very nice picture and for a TV the sound is good.
The delayed remote IR signal is very annoying. It can take 10-15 minutes for the remote to catch up with buttons being pushed. Vizio tech support has not been any help.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:September 13, 2012

Excellent Purchase Vizio M470SL

Pros: excellent all around tv., really easy setup
Cons: no internet surfing app, no bluetooth
Model Number: M470SL
"Got the TV home, out of the box, set it up according to the Quick Start Guide, and worked like a charm. Overall it took about an hour. Colors are brighter than some of the more expensive units at the Costco warehouse. Flesh colors are accurate. It recognized my computer connected via VGA cable with no problem. The only downside is that, for the almost $700.00 price tag, Bluetooth capability should be standard thereby enabling Bluetooth keyboards, headphones, etc.
There are some standard popular apps, but most are channel news stations, such as Channel 12, Portland, OR. I would appreciate an app for surfing the net so as to access sites like GrooveShark, etc. But then I don't know if one is able to do that with any other TV at this time.
Overall, this was an excellent purchase and would refer others this way."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:August 31, 2012

Great TV

Pros: tv picture sound
Cons: not enough inputs remote to small
Model Number: M470SLV
"I can't believe the picture quality! I had a Samsung LCD but it died after 6 years. The Vizio LED is far superior. Sound is better also. Internet onboard is a plus also. Only drawback is not enough inputs. It has 4 HDMI but only one composite input. Easy setup. I opted for 5 years with square trade, 2 with costco, what a deal."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2012

Best Picture ! Sound=FAIL

Pros: picture
Cons: sound
"The set up was easy....
Picture is Great !
Sound is AWFUL...it Buzzes ! !
I am going to call...Today"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Somerville, TN
Date:August 25, 2012

Great Purchase

Pros: easy to set up, price good, no lengthy learning curve
Cons: remote buttons very small, two sided remote
Model Number: M470SL
"This was a gift and has been a great choice. It was easy to put together, easy to set up and easy to learn. The only negative that I can see thus far is that the digits on the remote are very small, making them hard to read and hard to push. Also with buttons on the front and the back...you can imagine the problem.
Overall - great product at a very good price
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2012

Great!

Pros: very thin, wifi, easy setup
Cons: kinda slow processor
"We ordered this TV online took it out of the box and set it up ended up turning on and that's all. Took it back to Costco and they easily refunded the money got me a new tv and was out of there in under 20 minutes. Now the TV looks awesome and everything is really smooth the controller is a little odd but I think you get used to it!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>