Customer Reviews for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Model: M470SL VIZIO’s M470SL 47” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps® puts the best of the web right on your TV. Get instant access to on-demand movies, TV shows, social networking, music, photos and more at the push of a button on the enhanced 2-sided remote with keyboard. Equipped with built-in WiFi (802.11n), it also boasts 1080p Full HD with Razor LED and 200,000 to 1 DCR for brilliant color and clarity in a razor thin design. SRS StudioSound HDTM delivers advanced virtual surround sound, and three HDMI® ports connect your home theater, satellite or cable TV and Blu-ray™ Player. This energy saver also meets ENERGY STAR® 5.3 guidelines making it a friend to the environment and your wallet.   Specifications: Costco extends manufacture warranty to 2 years   Screen Size: 47" Class (46.69" diagonal)   Resolution: 1920 x 1080   Refresh Rate: 120Hz Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 200,000:1   Response Time: 8ms   Ambient Light sensor   Smooth Motion   Viewable Angle (HxV): 178° x 178°   Energy Star 4.1   Wall Mount Compatibility: 200mm x 400mm   Weight: 39.7 lbs (w/ stand), 35.3 lbs (w/ out stand)   Dimensions (WxHxD): 43.2" x 29.1" x 9.5" (w/ stand), 43.2" x 27" x 2" (w/ out stand) Audio: Speakers: Built-in 10W x 2 Speakers   SRS TruSurround HD™   SRS StudioSound HD™   SRS TruVolume™ Inputs/ Outputs: HDMI with HDCP x4   Component x1   Computer RGB x1   RF Connector for Internal Tuner x1   Enternet x1   SPDIF Digital Optical x1   USB 2.0 x 2 Sides (MP3 & JPEG)   MultiMedia: Music (MP3)   Photo (JPEG)   Video (MPEG)   DLNA
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
(out of 40 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
4
27 of 40(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Review 1 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:July 17, 2012

Good TV

Pros: great picture, good sound, attractive, easy to set up
Cons: careful of the electrical problems
"After reading a lot of reviews, a lot of them negative about the 47" Vizio TVs, I was assured the Series E had the power issues addressed and corrected. The picture is beautiful, good sound, no glares all around a good purchase until about 4 months of personal use it had no power. Not even the logo on the front of the TV was lit. A call to Vizio customer service on a Saturday afternoon and they ran me through a couple of possible problem solving exercises. Nothing worked so the very polite young lady set up a service appointment for me for the following Friday and said I would be called within 1 to 2 business days to confirm the appointment. No calls, so I started calling them and finally got a repair scheduled for the following week. Efficient and knowledgeable repair folks that were right on time were in and out of my house within an hour and had everything working again. So, if this was just a "fluke" and the set continues to perform I will be very happy. But, it makes me wonder if the problem was really solved by the manufacturer."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:June 7, 2012

Outstanding Experience

Pros: sharp picture., easy easy setup., great sound, good for bright rooms, 5 year warranty at 1/3 cost of competition, low price, smart tv
Cons: can't think of one.
"We bought this TV based on price and features, after viewing it in the store. We had planned to get a Samsung or Panasonic but liked the price value on this set. We didn't need a lot of bells and whistles, but did want the Internet access and 1080 picture, though we understand not many programs or DVDs are 1080. After one week I am amazed at the quality of this TV. Ran several DVDs including one with ocean animation and the colors are rich and true, amazing detail and the sound is awesome. TV pictures are great too, especially sports. We have a bright room, also a feature that made us choose this TV. The picture is always easy to see and very little to no glare or shadows. I can't imagine a sharper picture or richer color. The sound is set at a fairly low level and still blows us away. I totally love this TV and plan to buy a 32" Vizio for the bedroom, I am that impressed with this product. I bought an LG but plan to return it and exchange for Vizio. The set up on the LG took forever and was very confusing. This Vizio was one step and DONE. My movers did it without the benefit of instructions."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Champlain Valley, VT
Date:May 3, 2012

Great TV - Great Price

Model Number: M470SL
"We've had the set for 3 weeks now. It's the best TV we've ever owned. The 47" is crisp and clear. This set seems to know intuitively how to fill the screen to get the best picture. The sound is easily adjustable to fit the people listening and the content watched. The WiFi set itself up immediately without any input from me and has stayed locked on without any problems. It even downloaded a firmware update by itself. Netflix works great with regular DSL and is easy to use. Connection is immediate. The remote is rather complicated but intuitive and versitile, so it works great. Outstanding and affordable Costco warranty. The only place to buy a TV."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:September 13, 2012

Excellent Purchase Vizio M470SL

Pros: excellent all around tv., really easy setup
Cons: no internet surfing app, no bluetooth
Model Number: M470SL
"Got the TV home, out of the box, set it up according to the Quick Start Guide, and worked like a charm. Overall it took about an hour. Colors are brighter than some of the more expensive units at the Costco warehouse. Flesh colors are accurate. It recognized my computer connected via VGA cable with no problem. The only downside is that, for the almost $700.00 price tag, Bluetooth capability should be standard thereby enabling Bluetooth keyboards, headphones, etc.
There are some standard popular apps, but most are channel news stations, such as Channel 12, Portland, OR. I would appreciate an app for surfing the net so as to access sites like GrooveShark, etc. But then I don't know if one is able to do that with any other TV at this time.
Overall, this was an excellent purchase and would refer others this way."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:December 10, 2012

beware: worst purchase ever

Cons: doesn't work warranty no help
Model Number: M470SL
"We purchased this tv approx 6months ago and now the internet apps (netflix, pandora etc.) only work about 10% of the time. No problem under warranty right? Wrong, 5 phone calls and over two hours on the phone. Still does not work. Multiple other wireless devices in the house all work properly. I pay for high speed cable internet and never a glitch on anything else. I can watch netflix on my higher end brand tv even when Vizio does not work. I suggest you find reviews made by people who have lived with this tv more than a couple hours. Good luck and caveat emptor."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:January 25, 2013

Very good buy

Pros: great picture, no motion blur, sound is excellent with srs on, price!!
Cons: not 120hz panel- 60hz panel w/120hz software, sound can fluctuate rarely with srs on
Model Number: M470SL
"I purchased this Vizio a few days ago due to its low price and 120hz LED capabilities, along with the Wifi and Netflix. I'll admit I was hesitant to buy a Vizio, but had heard good things from some friends of mine so I decided to give it a go.
First off, the picture is VERY good. Colors are great, blacks are very black, and the picture is very clear, especially when playing a Blu-ray.
Second, the sound is AMAZING. The SRS sound truly does make a difference. I've always had problems with my LG LCD tv in that I can't ever hear what people in movies/shows are saying because their voice is the same volume level as the show's background noise. This SRS audio brings important sounds to the front and I am finally able to hear. It also does give off a noticeable "surround sound" type effect, especially for video games.
Now, some dislikes.
I dislike that Vizio advertises it as a 120hz television- it is not. It is 120hz SPS, which means it is a 60hz television (panel) with software in it to bring it up to what Vizio deems as 120hz (whatever criteria that might be, I don't know). With that, however, I have not noticed any motion blur whatsoever and it is comparable to my LG TruMotion 240hz television which is actually a 120hz panel with software to make it 240hz (see a trend?).
A downside of the SRS sound is that, occasionally, I have noticed fluctuation of the sound during shows. It sounds as if the software is unable to decide which sound it should bring to the front, so it bounces back and forth. I have experienced this only once and only for about 2 minutes, but I did notice it. I'm assuming that these negative reviews are referring to that effect which, I'm assuming, can be corrected by turning SRS off (but then the sound goes back to all being the same level, leaving it hard to hear).
All in all, so far, the pros outweigh the cons and it is a GREAT tv for the price. Wifi, apps (netflix, pandora, hulu, skype, etc) are all just a plus and icing on the cake.
If my opinion changes, I will post."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Wa.
Date:November 24, 2012

not so happy anymore

Pros: price ease of set-up
Cons: customer service from vizio faulty remote
Model Number: M470SL
"Bought this tv to use during recovery from knee replacement surgery and was pretty happy until yesterday morning when the remote just quit working. Vizio tech support concluded I needed a new remote and since the process can't get started until Monday with a three to four day gap between authorization and shipping I will be lucky to get a new one in 10 days. What???...sorry sir can't do any better. Now I'm stuck unable to use any of the fancy internet apps (Netflix etc.) for which I bought it and wondering if the rest of the package will just quit. Am tempted to return it to Costco for another tv...would be quicker than waiting for a new remote from Vizio."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Date:November 15, 2012

Best deal for the money

Pros: price!
Cons: start up time
"This is the first Vizio TV I ever bought and wanted to get a larger TV than the 37" Sharp Aquos I had. I was hesitant due to some of the reviews, but figured I could take it back if unsatisfied. I have had the TV for about a month and love it! It interfaces well with my wireless and you can add apps to it. I have streamed movies from my UVUV account easily. The picture is fantastic and the sound better than my Sharp - though I plan to hook it up to my surround sound at some point. I gave it 5 stars based on quality to price!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:September 17, 2012

Sound/Volume Issue

Pros: price
Cons: sound/volume issues
Model Number: M470SL
"This is the 2nd Vizio I purchased within 3 weeks. I returned the first one due to volume issues. It wd rise and fall on its own; from a whisper to a deafening roar. This one does the same thing. Called Vizio tech support re the first one, and they claimed this was unusual, but not unheard of. Not so, check the web. Purchased this one, a newer version, the last one was a the "M" series, the other was an "E" thinking Vizio had worked out the bugs. It has exactly the same problem. Returning it. I wd NOT recommend Vizio."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sllver Spring, MD
Date:August 11, 2012

Nice Buy

Model Number: M470SL
"This is the third Vizio that I have purchased for myself and family members and they are great TV's. This is the most recent purchase and I found it very light weight, exceptionally easy to set up and a pleasure to watch. I was expecting the Wifi to be a problem to setup, but it immediatelly recognized my network and connected as soon as I entered my code. I especially like the thin screen. It is really a great value for the price."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:May 6, 2012

After one week not yet 'sold' on this TV

Pros: ease of set-up decent sound
Cons: picture tends towards yellow/green
Model Number: M470SL
"Bought this set a little over a week ago in the store. Ever since, I'm constantly trying to get the colors correct. It has a definite push to yellow/green and no matter what I try it's still just not right. Forget about using the pre-set viewing options....they're all horrible. You'll constantly be dinking around with the settings. I'm thinking of returning it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:August 31, 2012

Great TV

Pros: tv picture sound
Cons: not enough inputs remote to small
Model Number: M470SLV
"I can't believe the picture quality! I had a Samsung LCD but it died after 6 years. The Vizio LED is far superior. Sound is better also. Internet onboard is a plus also. Only drawback is not enough inputs. It has 4 HDMI but only one composite input. Easy setup. I opted for 5 years with square trade, 2 with costco, what a deal."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:June 24, 2012

Can't get enough...

Pros: low price, wifi-enabled features, vivid color picture/resolution, slim lightweight & easy set-up, good tv sound quality esp. w/ 5.1 ch
Cons: usb: photo setting shuffle off slideshow stops
Model Number: VIZIO 47", M-Series
"I wasn't impressed by Vizio before, but this M-series model blew us away with all the new features--esp our criteria: wifi-enabled & slim tv at a incredibly low price. I've been wanting to own a big screen TV where I can slide show our photos from a flashdrive or hook our pc. Now am happy to see our various photos like a living wall frame in the room or like a billboard ad sign on the road. Even though pix (from flashdrive) are all saved in low reso, colors still look great--no noticeable change. Despite the cons, it still is resolvable. TV picture doesn't glare your eyes. Hubby can't get enough complimenting it. Planning to get another M-series."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:September 22, 2012

Great TV

Pros: sharp, clean picture, good refresh rate, nice interface, well done wifi modules like netflix, intuitive operations
Cons: marginal sound
Model Number: M470SL
"Great TV, excellent picture for sports and movies. Good enough sound for news, Jeopardy, etc, but needs help for movies and anything immersive. I use a Vizio soundbar and a stereo for Breaking Bad and NFL."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2012

Vizio Lack of Customer service

Pros: price and picture
Cons: really bad customer service
Model Number: VIZIO M470SL
"Opened the box and found a manufacturng defect in the stand. I called Vizio and they wanted a photo, I sent it, then they wanted a photo of the box, also sent it. Recieved a call to let me know that it was not their problem and I should take it up with Costco. As it was within 90 days Costco took back the Vizio TV. On checking Costco also determined it was a manufacturing defect. I have never had a problem, with my other 5 Vizio products. Time for a change, thank you Panasonic and Phillips for offering an alternative to Vizio."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brandon, Tampa
Date:November 29, 2012

Terrible customer support

Pros: cheaper price, best thing i like is thier remote..keypad n remote
Cons: not grt in color display not even close to samsun, no browser, not too many apps that u like to download
Model Number: M470SL
"While buying this TV, i had compared with Samsung and found the quality was ok.
After that issue started. I'm able to connect to Youtube app.. but not able to connect to Netflix.
Ohh man..Vizio customer support is terrible. After providing all info, lady who assisted me found that some codes were missing and asked me to upload my purchase recipt which i did. Later i waited for her to call back fr 4 hrs. after that i called back and got hold of 1 guy. I had given the case number. Instead of checking the issue with the case number, again he started from point 1 asking the issue. Don't knw hw JD power given for this guys as best in customer support. Now i'm waiting fr thier tech. supp. guys who come and fix. Today is 3rd day"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gold Country in the Western Sierra Foothills
Date:May 11, 2012

Best in its' league

Pros: the best tv picture for the money.
Cons: the remote control is smaller than i would like..
Model Number: Visio M470SL
"Of all the TVs' in this size category that we looked at, this stood out as one of . . . if not the very best.
Out of the box the default settings were perfect for us. No diddling was required.
The Netflix hook up went smoothly, once one gets used to the remote's keyboard which has very small print.
The sound was pretty good, particularly for a Visio. Our 32 inch Visio can not boast the same.
The picture is very good with standard DVD, Netfix and DirecTV. . . with BlueRay the picture excellant."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:May 14, 2012

Love this TV!

Pros: great picture, unbeatable price, internet apps
Cons: can't think of one!
Model Number: M470SL
"This is the second Vizio television I've purchased and I love them both. This one replaced a smaller Sharp LCD and the Vizio wins without a doubt. The picture is sharp, clear and the colors are true. I had it out of the box, set-up and connected to the internet in 20 minutes. The sound is great - I was thinking of getting a sound bar but I don't think I really need it after listening to the set alone for the past month.
Compare this set to those higher priced TV's and this one beats them all."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:January 1, 2013

Great Netflix app, other apps lousy

Pros: connectors properly positioned for wall mount, great netflix app including "netflix for kids", tolerable keyboard on remote, streams video from 5 most popular sites on net, good picture
Cons: doesn't stream video from other sites on net, most apps other than netflix are lousy, still need media computer to stream other sites, shipped with non-functional m-go app, m-go has dedicated non-working button on remote, screen is prone to reflections, "smart" functions are not yet worth the extra $
Model Number: M470SL
"Title sums it up. Great picture, although screen is a little too reflective for my tastes. The connectors face the right way (parallel to wall) for mounting on the wall, unlike most competing units with connectors that point straight back.
Regarding apps: The Netflix app is great for kids' shows, which is 90% of what we watch. Merely good for grownups, because of limited search capability.
You can also stream video from Amazon, Hulu, Vudu, and a non-functional "coming soon" service called M-Go which has its own, irritating, non-functional, dedicated button on the remote.
BUT, we can't stream video from my wife's favorite source, abc.com, and without a built-in browser for a work-around, we'll still need to keep the living room media computer hooked up to the TV. So if we STILL need a computer connected to the TV, what's the point of paying as much as $200 extra for a "smart" TV?"
Review 20 for VIZIO 47" Class 1080p 120Hz SPS LED™ LCD HDTV M470SL
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Date:August 15, 2012

Good TV, not great

Pros: good price, wireless & internet apps
Cons: hd picture quality
"This Vizio was nice. Decent picture, but I must say I was a little disappointed. With HD UVerse and hooked up with HDMI, the picture was blurry during most screen movement. Watching scenery the trees were out of focus. However, the Apps and wireless were great. Viewing youtube on the TV was wonderful. Took TV back after a week and am ordering the 240hz version for only $50 more in price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>