Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0

Surf millions of web pages, play thousands of games, and access content from your TV, all from one device. With its 7" screen and Wi-Fi® capability, the Galaxy Tab 7.0 2 is also easy to carry and use anywhere. And with the lightning fast Dual-Core processor and open access to Android Market™ you get a faster, richer web browsing experience. It’s the best entertainment companion yet. Operating System:   Android™ 4.0 (Version Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0) Processor:      Dual-Core Processor Storage Capacity:    8 GB Solid State Drive   Display:    7.0" Capacitive Multi-touch HD LCD Screen (1024 x 600)   Connectivity:    802.11 b/g/n WLAN, WiFi Direct   Bluetooth® 3.0   3 MP rear-facing, VGA front-facing   Audio:    Integrated Stereo Speakers Ports: microSD Card Slot   3.5 mm Line-in Mic Productivity and Software: Preloaded: Contact, Alarm/Clock, Calendar, Camera, Gallery, Google Talk™, Gmail™, YouTube™, Web Browser, My Files, Email, AllShare (DLNA), Google Search, Voice Recorder, Memo, Mini Diary, Latitude, Task Manager, Video Player, Social Hub, Media Hub, Amazon Kindle, Cisco Webex, Find My Mobile, Calculator, Ebook, Music Player, Photo Edition, NIM (Next Issue), Smart Remote (Peel), Swype, Polaris Office, Adobe® Flash® Player, Pulse   Android™ Market   Word File: doc, docx, txt, rtf, hwp   Excel File: xls, xlsx, csv   PowerPoint: ppt, pptx, pps   PDF: pdf Miscellaneous: GPS Battery:     Capacity: 4,000 mAH    Additional Information: Color: Titanium Silver    Dimensions: 4.8" W x 0.41" D x 7.6" H   Approximate Weight: 0.76 lbs. Model: GT-P3113TSYXAR
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(1021 Reviews) 1021
(out of 1,021 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,021 reviews)
5 stars
649
4 stars
267
3 stars
50
2 stars
30
1 star
25
877 of 940(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:June 1, 2012

Best of ereaders

Pros: great ereader, extras are a plus to all of the other readers
Cons: takes a little time to learn but it is well worth
Model Number: Samsung Tab 2 7"
"I reviewed and compared Nook, KindleFire, Nook Color and the Samsung. I like it best as the brightest and most flexible reader on the market. Others restrict you to access through their portal. Once you learn the library connections for free downloads you get to read to your heart's content. The extras like 1000's of Apps and internet and email all all extras. If you like to read, this device solves the problem of toting around pounds of books."
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mountain View, CA
Date:June 26, 2012

More for less.

Pros: gps, light weight, inexpensive
Model Number: Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 2 7.0
"Glad I didn't pay $500+ for a tablet. For a wifi only tab, this has the bonus of a working gps. For me, a tablet has limited uses, whether it's Android or IOS. It is convenient to get information quickly and has some useful apps not found on a PC."
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 13, 2012

Works very well

Pros: read functions, image quality, very responsive
"My first experience with a tablet device, and I am very pleased. I bought it mainly as a reader, but find I use it to read/watch/listen to the news in the AM, search the web, etc.
The ebook function is a little hard to master since it can access Google Books, Nook and Kindle. So, I shop for the cheapest price, since the "read" function works on all three. Be aware that Adobe Digital Editions does not work on this device; so what? Also, Adobe Flash is no longer supported on any newer Android device."
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2012

great price

Model Number: samsung galaxy tab 2 7.0
"went in my local costco today,,,boca raton ,florida....price was 189.00 and came with a protective sleeve to cover tablet...they have a 90 return...all others are 14 days !! how can you go wrong..charging mine now.just wanted to post price...didnt try tablet yet."
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern NJ suburbs.
Date:December 2, 2012
Pros: love the concierge service costco offers., 90 day return policy removed any hesitation., music manager gave me cloud access to 2350 songs!, alerts me whenever new emails arrive., easy to carry around like my old pocket calendar., fits inside my jacket pocket!, added 32 gb micro sd card for total 40 gb storage.
Cons: i missed the black friday discount by a few days.
Model Number: Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 2 7.0 WiFi 8GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0 - Item# 659172
"Light, compact, easy to access all features, extremely portable, using it now to replace my paper calendar/task list, carry my contacts and notes with me, using the memo feature to list books I want to read, movies to see, shopping lists, etc. Allows me to view appointments or tasks by day, week, month, year or list/agenda. Built in reminder when appointments mature to remind me. typing and scrolling are even easier than I imagined. Bought screen protectors and no loss of sensitivity! One battery charge usually lasts a couple of days depending on whether or not I've used Netflix feature."
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whippany, NJ
Date:January 22, 2013

Would recommend this!!!

Pros: easy to use
Cons: haven't found any yet
Model Number: GT-P3113TSYXAR
"We are not really computer people but wanted to start small and not put out alot of cash. Well this is great. We are thinking about getting another one. I origianal bought this online but a piece was missing. Not a problem took it to the store without any problems."
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:April 6, 2013

Love it!

Pros: price!, android os, display is clear
"Just bought this for myself yesterday. It seems to be really fast so far. I chose the smaller one so that it was easier to carry around with me anywhere I go."
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:September 3, 2013

A Wonderful Product

Pros: easy to use
Cons: wish it could use a flash player for some videos.
"Downloaded the apps I wanted without difficulty. Email works fine. Audio including vice and music are understandable."
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2012

Another great tablet from Samsung!

Cons: the lack of flash & bulb when using inside.
"Great picture,sound,fast browsing.The camera takes awesome videos in daylight,but it needs the help of light inside because it lacks a light bulb.For taking pictures inside,the same way.Netflix & You Tube videos look great!"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toledo, Ohio
Date:May 16, 2012

Great Item

Model Number: Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 2 7.0 WiFi 8GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
"I have worked on the 10.1 inch Samsung predecessor and see many common features. It is a great item and fulfills all its promises. I love the fact that Samsung allows us to increase storage with the micro-SD slot. The audio on it is great, the picture is great, the price is the best feature. Its small and ultra portable, yet sufficient for reading, email checking/ writing... I am aware of tablets out there that deliver more tech options, connectivity and so on, but the price and quality of this product are what make it worth the bargain. In summary, it does it all, I'm not sure why people complain or rate with 1 star if an item is defective. Just go back and switch it for one that works!"
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:B'more
Date:May 17, 2012

It works as advertised!

Pros: portability, front and rear camera, android !cs
Cons: finger prints, need a case for better handling
Model Number: GT-P3113
"The Samsung Galaxy 2 7.0 works as advertiesed. For the price and value it's non brainer.
No problems connecting to WIFI, screen is beautiful and battery life good. The micro SD card to 32GB option sealed the deal for me. Email and other apps easily configured, I can't ask for more...
I think this should be rated 4 stars and it's certainly not a 3 star item, so to bump up the over all rating I'm giving it a 5!"
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2012

Very nice

Pros: nice display, very fast (when rooted with new rom)
Cons: none when compared to other 7" tablets
Model Number: P-3113
"May be a little disappointing to some out of the box, but the beauty of Android is the fact that it is open source. If you are able to follow simple instructions, you can root this tablet , download a clean ROM, and make it 100 times better than the Nook \ Kindle tablets.
Even out of the box it does everything, and more, than the other 7" tablets.
I find the 7" form factor to be too small for most things I want to do with a tablet, but the Tab 2 7" is great if a 7" tablet is what you want."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Citrus Heights, CA
Date:May 15, 2012

Very good, but some issues

Pros: everything was good except on wireless issue, price, ics 4.0, case
Cons: wireless encryption issue, samsung touchwiz android version
Model Number: Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 2 7.0 WiFi 8GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
"I ended up returning the product. But, I am strongly considering purchasing it again.
I kept it for two days and really put it through the ringer. ICS 4.0 is great. I am an network administrator and wanted to see if I could use this device as a network troubleshooting tool for testing BYOD and wireless connectivity.
The TV remote control app that is included had way too may features to be of much real use. I did not want to spend a ton of time troubleshooting why it did not work perfectly so I just dumped it.
Loaded a bunch of WIFI, VPN and remote access apps and they all worked really well.
The one big issue I had was connecting to a Secure wireless network. The wireless continually defaulted to a 1Mb speed when connect to any AES encrypted network. Smokin fast on an unencrypted or open network. To be honest not sure if this was due to an ICS 4.0 issue or an issue with the internal 2.4Ghz wireless card or antenna.
I also stacked up the technical apps with the IPad and found the Android apps to provide much more technical detail. So in that area Android wins.
I also put a bunch of my music and pics on a micro SD card, downloaded the Winamp app it it worked perfectly, no iTunes type of program needed here, which of course is GREAT!
IMHO, what would make it better? First, give me an option to dump the Samsung Touchwiz version of ICS (Ice Cream Sandwich) and choose a Vanilla version of Android. Second, a 5Ghz capable wireless card would be fantastic.
Anyway, I really am considering going and purchasing the unit again and trussing that a future upgrade to ICS may resolve the wireless encryption issue.
Hope this helps.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:June 6, 2012

Best tablet at Costco

Pros: screen size greater viewing angle, light weight and thin, offline gps
Cons: not good with stylus finger writing is ok, storage restriction, no usb hdmi
Model Number: Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 2 7.0
"This tablet is very elegant and also screen size is good for office use.
I am yet to try skype , other than that all apps worked fine with no crashing.
Wifi is excellent on this new os 4.0.
In 2.3 it used to frequently disconnect. ( lenovo A1 comes with 2.3 , so be aware , your are going to have problem with lenovo)
Note taking application works fine with finger writing and not so good with Stylus.
Screen Viewing angle is also good compared to lenovo A1 which had only 30 to 60 degree ...I am yet to check HD video streaming through computer or web ...But youtube HD movies worked just fine with no breaks so far.
GPS works fine even in offline mode. Maps google apps does not work without wifi. navfee usa works fine in offline , you cannot search using google , bu you can search address using address search . Still this apps is not mature , but works fine with existing limitations. Audio Sound is good and loud. Memory is ok as long as there are less apps loaded. Storage looks to be an issue as it says 8 GB , but only 4GB is used and other 4GB looks to be a backup/mirroring of existing data .
So far looking good..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:July 8, 2012

Good but not perfect

Pros: size
Cons: proprietary cord and plug
Model Number: Galaxy Tab 2 7"
"I've had mine about 10 days and I'm slowly getting used to it. The problem is that the icons and menus are similar to my Droid X2 but not the same. The shift from one to another is not seamless.
That said I'm really loving this tablet. I didn't want a Kindle because I didn't want to be locked into anything. I also didn't want the 10" model because I valued portability. While the size and text are very convenient if reading books is the main focus of your purchase get the 10" model.
I installed a 32gig sd card which seems to be more than enough for all the books (mostly technical) and music I own or am going to buy in the next 10 years. The speed is good and the wifi connection is very good. It pairs easily with my Bose Sound Link speaker for great sound. Coupled with Google Music and Pandora I have an unlimited library anywhere I go.
One huge gripe and the reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is that the connector is a proprietary plug instead of the mini-usb plug for all my other devices. Hello Samsung, this is a new century! I now have to carry one more cord just when I thought we were past all that. Worse, it's not the same proprietary plug as my Samsung camera. So I have 2 Samsung cords + 1 usb for everything else.
Unforgivable but not so bad that I'm taking it back. Just irritating in an otherwise well designed product"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:August 30, 2012

Good,

Model Number: Tab™ 2 7.0 WiFi 8GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
"I was disappointed because because I was not able to add contacts on TANGO and not able to download VIBER, These two apps are used with smart phone.
Everything else is ok. It is a good product.
I am not sure if it is 5 or 8 GB.
"
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:May 14, 2012

Almost perfect

Pros: open environment, expandable memory, infrared sensor for remotes
Cons: proprietary usb connection
Model Number: Galaxy Tab 2 7.0
"This device is great. The closest comparison is the Kindle Fire but this gives you many more options and much more freedom. You're not limited to just the Kindle store for apps and books. If you really like the Kindle or Nook you can just install those apps and access those libraries and book stores, which is what I did.
The only thing that disappoints me with this is Samsung's use of of a proprietary usb connection rather that using the standard micro usb that most device makers have come to use. If it weren't for that this would definatly have gotten a 5 star rating."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:May 26, 2012

Great product but....

Pros: great screen, very fast, expandable memory
Cons: proprietary usb
"It's just too much like my Droid phone in size. I think I'm going to upgrade to the 10.1" model. Bought for a bedside/chair device for casual browsing/lookups and it's just not big enough to make me use this over my phone."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:July 5, 2012

SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB 2 7.0

Pros: handy and compact
Cons: none
"I have had for 2 weeks and used almost everyday - I prefer using the tablet to my laptop for quick, non-typing work, news read, even book read. I love the fast boot time, the Ice Cream Sandwich interface is good. I have problem with closing windows, but overall I know I am learning this product. So far, so good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Tab ® 2 Tablet™ 7.0 WiFi 8 GB Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Irmo, SC
Date:August 20, 2012

A quality product

Pros: the screen is easy to read., the gorilla glass is great., size makes it easy to use.
Cons: poor gps function.
Model Number: Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 2 7.0
"I thought the tablet is a very good and impressive product. After trying it out for a few days I decided to return it for a refund. My main problem was I was disappointed in the GPS function. I chose this particular tablet because of it's advertised GPS capabiliity. It is not a true GPS. It has very poor satellite tracking capabilities and is basically a map only. It cannot be programmed or altered after leaving the WiFi environment."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>