Customer Reviews for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F

For more information about this product or warranty issues, please call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864) M-F: 8am-Midnight (EST), Sat-Sun: 9am-11pm (EST). Model: UN60EH6050F
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
(out of 56 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
50 of 56(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Review 1 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2012

Mediocre TV

Pros: big size, backlit
Cons: picture quality, lack of inputs, sound quality
Model Number: UN60EH6050
"I originally purchased this TV because it was going to be going into a bright room with skylights and windows and wanted something with good bright room performance. Plus the allure of the 60" was hard to resist.
Some pro's about the TV:
1) It's backlit as opposed to edge lit. The benefit of backlit is the illumination comes from behind the screen and projects out towards you. This leads to a picture that is lit more uniformly across the set than and edge lit unit (where the light is projected from the edges inwards and tends to be brighter around the edges of the TV). However, as this is one of Samsung's budget TV's they don't disclose how many LED's they use in the backlight panel. It definitely isn't as many as the more expensive backlit models.
2) The size. The TV is huge and looks really impressive.
Those are really the only two pro's for me. Now the Cons:
1) Mediocre picture quality, at best. First, the blacks on this TV have no detail whatsoever. I bought the TV and spent weeks adjusting the picture over and over trying to get a picture I was happy with. Eventually, I bought a Panasonic ST50 to compare it to and hooked them both up with HDMI to my HD cable and watched the same program on both TV's to compare them. There was a scene where the characters were walking up to a door that was in the shade of a porch. On the Samsung the door appeared completely black and lacked any detail whatsoever. On the Panasonic you could see the detailing of the carvings on the door, the handle, and actually see that the door was a dark green, not black. This leads me to my other picture quality gripe, the color. I found the color to not be realistic at all. Even after tons of adjustments I couldn't get the colors dialed in to what I deemed were an acceptable level. Also, I didn't find the picture to be particularly clear. When compared side by side to the Panasonic, the Samsung's picture was very rough and the faces and details were not smooth at all, even after turning the sharpness down to 0. This was especially clear when watching football (something I do a lot). When the camera was showing the field with both teams lined up, on the Samsung the players lacked detail and were very jagged compared to the Panasonic where they were clear and smooth. Also, during some very dark scenes the LED backlight grid was visible and you could see the brighter spots where the LEDS were located with dark vertical and horizontal lines between them. One last thing, the brightness was very harsh. Even adjusting the backlight and brightness in the settings didn't yield a good compromise of brightness and shadow detail. It was either deal with a darker picture or turn up the brightness and blow out the bright areas. I won't keep beating the picture quality to death, but suffice it to say, it's not a strong point of this unit.
2) Terrible connection ability. I didn't really have a desire for smart or 3d capacity since I have a PS3, but the 2 hdmi ports is unacceptable. If you hook up a cable box and a PS3 or Xbox with hdmi, you're maxed out and only have a component input left. A TV today should have a minimum of 3, and 4 would be even better. It's just another sign of budget cutting by Samsung.
3) The sound is just OK. Nothing to write home about and I recommend an external set of speakers.
Conclusion: If you just want a big TV and picture quality, connection ability and sound quality aren't very important to you then you'll be happy with this TV. HOWEVER, many other TV's are available at a lower price that will perform just as well as this. At the price of this TV there are many other TV's out there that perform much much better and have much better connectability that this unit. To me, if I'm going to spend a lot of money on a TV I want to be completely happy with it and get a very good picture. I'm rating it a 3 because even thought I was unhappy with it and ended up returning it, it's still a decent set for someone who isn't a videophile and prefers to just have a large TV."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:UN60EH6050F
Date:September 20, 2012

Great Picture Without All The Bells & Whistles

Pros: picture sound ease of set up low weight
Cons: only 2 hdmi inputs
"I purchased this television at Costco about a month ago and absolutely love it! It took about an hour to tweak all the settings, but the picture now looks really good with great color, sharpness, and contrast. The key to a great picture is to turn off ALL video processing, including clear motion 240. The following settings are the ones I used after much experimentation which I believe will be very helpful for those not really knowing how to proceed. I would recommend using them as a base, and then making minor adjustments, as necessary. The following are the picture settings I currently use: Mode-Standard, Backlight-12, Contrast-85, Brightness-54, Sharpness-55, Color- 36-40, Tint-50,50. Color is necessary to adjust depending on the program content, so use your own judgement within the range.
All other settings that have a choice of On or Off, go for the off setting. Turning on some of these settings tend to degrade the picture due to internal processing.
And if you need more than 2 HDMI inputs, do what I did and buy an automatic switching device for about $20 from amazon.com. You connect 2 HDMI outputs into the device and the device has 1 output to the television. The device then switches the input to the device depending on which device is turned on, automatically! And it works perfectly, so now the TV has 3 HDMI inputs. Sweet."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:January 30, 2013

Good Picture but not in day light

Pros: price
Cons: viewing angle and reflection on bright light
Model Number: UN60EH6050F
"I am not a technical person about TV. Although I am aware that this TV is not a smart TV, I purchased as my home theater will provide all the smart features. I found this TV has good picture (Backlit) and you will find that black is not really black and LED spots but I am still ok. Sound quality is good. The only complaint I have is that it is impossible to watch the TV in the day light (if you have sliding door or window close to TV) or if you have lamp in front of it. Also viewing angle of the TV is very poor. TV expects you to be in front.
After lots of research I found that matte finish (Sharp) TVs are good for bright light room. Also found that glossy LEDs are as bad/Good as Plasma in bright room. I am planning to go for matte finish. Lets see.
I recommand this tv for dark room."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Leawood, KS
Date:February 11, 2013

Great picture

Pros: lightweight, great price, great picture
Model Number: UN60EH6050F
"I replaced a 52" LCD that was water damaged. This 60" was the exact same height as the old 52" and 30 lbs lighter. Brightness is great. Picture quality is superb. It had the clearmotion turned on when I started using the TV. Big mistake. It makes movies look fake and extremely odd. Figured it out after about 10 minutes. However, the clearmotion is great for sports.
Price was fantastic. $800 off the $1849 regular price with free delivery.
Easy to hang. Easy to connect. Great for watching movies and television.
Relatively thin. Isn't "razor" thin, but uses backlit LED instead of edgelit, which give better picture quality over the entire surface (edgelit is brighter around the edges)"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville
Date:February 12, 2013

Another Costco Hit!

Pros: excellent picture clarity
Model Number: Samsung 60" UN60EH6050F
"As usual Costco and Samsung delivered. This is the third TV we've ordered from Costo and they have all been good values. This is the second Samsung large screen LED TV we've bought and you can't beat Samsung's picture quality!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:September 10, 2012

Amazing for the price

Pros: clear picture, bright, easy to set up, speakers, low reflectivity
Cons: minimal connections
"My 8 year old DLP TV finally bit the dust, and didn't want to invest in repairs. Saw this at Costco, and for the price, it is a steal! Size, resolution, and overall functionality are awesome. My living room is kind of bright, and this is easily viewed. The screen coating realy cuts down on the reflections as well. If there is one complaint, there is only one set of component inputs. But I can buy a HDMI converter and splitter to add to the 2 existing HDMI inputs. Would recommend this any day and twice on Sunday!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, Ca
Date:January 19, 2013

I couldn't pass up this deal!

Pros: realistic color and very light., tv works well with my samsung blu ray controller.
Cons: i should have bought it sooner!
Model Number: Samsung 6050
"So far I've been impressed with the tv. It was exactly what I was looking for. I ended up buying a matching smart blu-ray and I honestly can't find one complaint about my purchase!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mebane, NC
Date:January 22, 2013

Great purchase; problem in paradise

"We purchased our Samsung 60" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN60EH6050F a little over 90 days ago. This television has a very nice picture. The colors are vivid and the images are sharp and clear. Although we are very pleased with our purchase, we understand that things happen. In our case, the back light has gone out of the television. We contacted Costco Concierge Service to troubleshoot and resolve this issue and have been pleased with their service, thus far. A Samsung technician will be out to service our television (hopefully REAL SOON) -- just in time to watch the Superbowl. I can hardly wait!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:January 27, 2013

Great TV, but ONLY WITH HDMI CABLES

Pros: good with hdmi
Cons: bad without hdmi
Model Number: Samsung 60" Class 1080p LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
"This TV looks great, with a wonderful picture. However, that is only true is you use HDMI cables for video. Composite cables make everything look extremely red and yellow, making the picture unwatchable. I spent 3 hours trying to fix it with manual settings until I figured that out.
The only other negative is that the menu options are a little confusing and it is sometimes hard to find the option you want."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Culver City, Ca
Date:February 6, 2013

WOW great picture quality, high contrast ratio

Pros: great price super clear picture easy to set-up, sounds great for only 10 watt speakers with the, srs system high contrast ratio and refresh rate, energy star rating
Cons: only has 2 hdmi connections but thoughs whom, need more pays more (lots)
Model Number: UN60EH6050F
"I bought this for my daughter to replace her projector TV. What a great picture quality and easy setup. She bought a wall mount kit and installed it with out any problems. With only 2 HDMI outlets you can only connect a cable-box and DVD connection at the same time, but that's all she needed. It doesn't have all the high end features like internet connections and multi HDMI connections but for the price this is all the HDTV she needed. For most people the TV SRS speakers are adequate unless you want true suround sound 5.1 then you better get a separate sound system."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:August 2, 2012

Great Picture

Model Number: UN60EH6050
"order to delivery 5 days.
Delivery service was right on.
I planned for wall mount but installed base to make sure everything worked ok. It did, as others have noted the picture was too bright out of the box. I think I have the setup about right now. I have it mounted on the wall with the screen center 65" from floor Using Cheetah wall mount model APDAM2B. It will take 2 people to hang this unit on the wall 60pounds is not too much but the size makes it a 4 hands job. I watch this TV from 3 locations 10', 14' and 31' (from another room) picture looks good and I don't have any view angle problems.
Picture setup was no problem I don't think anybody makes a TV that would have a perfect picture without some adjustment as no 2 people see the same picture. The TV has 2 HDMI ports I use one to connect to my FIOS box. As of now this is a keeper
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Casa Grande, AZ
Date:February 13, 2013

So far, so good!

"First week's experience has been great. Good to go with a nice picture and sound right out of the box."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodinville, WA
Date:May 7, 2012

Fits the bill for me

Pros: picture, quality built, customization of settings, wide color enhancer plus
Cons: for some 2 hdmi ports
Model Number: un60eh6050 = un60eh6000 ?
"This TV is great and has very nice picture. I have a Xbox, so no need for a Smart TV. The previous reviewer gave a rating of 1 star because the TV had only 2 HDMI ports. I think that if the reviewer didn't read the box to see that it clearly states 2 HDMI ports and bought it anyway...then to complain or is just complaining using the review system (didn't actually buy the product) is wrong. I knew they system had 2 ports and for me that worked. It might not for others, so look elsewhere if you need more than 2 ports. One tip for people on the packaging... the stand connection piece is packed inside the top of styrofoam that could get overlooked, make sure and pull all of the styrofoam out to find that piece.
To finish...Great TV with Beautiful Samsung LED picture...Love it!"
26 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Germantown, MD
Date:June 14, 2012

Good TV from straight on

Pros: great picture right in from of tv
Cons: picture is noticeably off when viewed from even, slightly off angle
Model Number: UN60EH6050
"Had this tv delivered last week and have had mixed results. First of all, it's way too bright out of the box. So I've been tinkering with it pretty much everyday to try and get the right look. Lots of suggestions online but I guess it varies depending on the size of room, light in room, etc. Think I finally got it to where I like it. Sitting directly in front of the screen it looks great. The problem I've noticed is if I move a little to the left or right of the screen. The picture gets noticeably lighter and less clear. Was wondering if anyone knows, is this a problem with all LED tv's or just this model?"
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:January 19, 2013

Poor skin tone, natural colors, sound

Pros: none
Cons: natural colors and sound
"I bought this TV a week ago. I have a high end Samsung HDTV and know the products & setup pretty well. Bought this as a 2nd for the rec room. After much effort, the skin tone and natural colors could not be dialed in. The speakers are terrible. I went to the store to look at this model and compare. For cartoons it is great but when you look at people and landscapes there is too much purple/pink or green and not enough tan or brown hues. It cannot be corrected through setup adjustments. I called the Costco concierge. They confirmed that most Samsung models are excellent and a few are not. They confirmed that typically the colors were spot on as delivered from the factory and if there were not, often it could not be corrected. I'm returning the TV tomorrow and going to try their Visio 60" competitor. It appears to do a better job and has more HDMI and other connectors and mgmt software. I'm pretty disappointed in Samsung after years as a loyal customer."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eastvale, CA
Date:April 17, 2013

Great Manufacturer & Great TV

Pros: great tv
Cons: none
Model Number: 6 Series 60"
"I just happened to get one with a defect after 3 months. I have this thin blue line running down close to the middle of the screen. I have 2 other Samsung TV for years now and it's great.Good thing I can take it back to the store."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Woodbridge, VA
Date:January 7, 2013

Sub-Par

Pros: looks good price was good at the time
Cons: tv broke after 4 months
Model Number: UN60EH6050F
"You probably can't buy this TV from costco anymore. TV looks good. Screen is glossy which makes the picture look brighter but reflects any lights or windows in the room. Like a plasma without the nice black levels, kind of annoying.
The TV died after only 4 months. Dealing with Costco and Samsung warranty wasn't too bad. Have to wait a week for Samsung repair tech to show up."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2012

shutdown

Pros: decent picture
Cons: not the quality expected
Model Number: un60eh6050
"purchased tv 1 month ago. needed to adjust auto motion for normal viewing. tv shuts off on its own on any given day or time. tv timer is in off mode. called samsung they are puzzled. not sure what part is the problem. waiting for repair to be made. I will also wait until the 89th day and then tv is going back to costco"
6 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:washington state
Date:June 22, 2012

GOOD PRICE RIGHT SIZE

Cons: needs more hdmi conections
"AT 15 FEET 60" IS CORRECT.
SAMSUNG IS VARY WELL REVVED.
I DO NOT FEEL 3D IS NOT FOR ME.
SMART TV IS VARY SLOW AND COSTS MORE I USE A LAPTOP.
"
3 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung 60" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV UN60EH6050F
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Troutdale, OR
Date:November 14, 2012

So Disappointed!

Pros: decent pictures, good for people who pays for cable/sat
Cons: terrible tv reception, no signal meter to help align antenna
Model Number: UN60EH6050F
"We were pretty excited upgrading to this 60" Samsung from the older generation thick 52" LCD Samsung. After a few hours of measuring and drilling new holes to hang the TV on the wall and hooking everything back up, we sat down to watch TV. We were very disappointed with the tuner only picking up less than 1/2 of the channels we were getting with our old Samsung. Thought it may be just a bad tuner since nothing else changed. We have a big 110" outdoor antenna and the signal on all our channels were > 75% on the old TV. so we took it back to Costco and exchange for another TV. The 2nd TV over the air reception was even worse than the 1st TV. Now we only received about 1/4 of what we were getting before. Took the 2nd one back and went looked at a different TV altogether."
0 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>