Customer Reviews for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. Model: P510
Average Customer Rating:
4.675 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(169 Reviews) 169
(out of 169 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (169 reviews)
5 stars
135
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
5
161 of 169(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Review 21 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Berkeley Springs WV
Date:August 29, 2012

Nikon Coolpix P510 - Excellent Purchase

Pros: great buy works excellent
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Nikon Coolpix P510 Camera
"I purchased this camera last week in preparation for an upcoming trip. The camera works flawless. Does everything in the automatic mode beautifully. The 42X optical zoom is unbelievable. Unbelieveable pics from a point and shoot camera with this type of lense.
In several reviews I read, some people had an issue in the camera focussing automatically at distant subjects. I find that once you pick your subject at long range, all you have to do is press the shutter button down part way. The camera focusses and locks in!
I have used the manual landscape option to see how the manual feature works verses the automatic feature. I find both work well. I plan on using the automatic setting for most daytime pics.
I highly recommend this camera, and the package price from COSTCO is more than $30.00 less than other website sights or vendors for the same camera."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Crescent, Oregon
Date:August 29, 2012

Best camera

Pros: beautiful pictures
Cons: camera bag that was with the kits is way too small, had to buy a bag for the camera
Model Number: P510
"I absolutely love this camera. I am still learning how to use everything but that will come in time and my experience will get even better"
Review 23 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2012

Fabulous camera

Model Number: P510
"I wanted a small camera to carry instead of my Canon Rebel and my large Nikon, with all of their lenses, etc. I am so impressed with the Coolpix P510, I may rarely use my other cameras now."
Review 24 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:southport, nc
Date:August 18, 2012

great camera

Pros: excellent zoom quality.
Cons: case isn't made for carrying-made for storage, c/n put in pocket. need to buy another case
Model Number: Nikon COOLPIX P510
"Perfect camera for traveling. It only has 1 lens so I can zoom in and out without having to change lenses. I would have prefered a smaller camera, but this one had the zoom I wanted."
Review 25 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:August 10, 2012

impressed & pleased

Pros: easy to use
Cons: none so far
"Previous camera had 24x opt. zoom and took excellent pics. I was eager for greater opt. zoom since most of my pics are of wildlife. This Nikon fits the bill and meets all my expectations."
Review 26 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:August 7, 2012

very good camera..... great lens

Pros: 42 zom wide angle lens, ease of use, quality of pics
Cons: none
Model Number: Nikon coolpix P 510
"A great little, easy to use, point and shoot digital camera. A great addition to our travel camera group of a Pentax slr, and another point and shoot by Sony. This little guy is easier to use and gives great pics for a non-enthusiast."
Review 27 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. James, Long Island, NY
Date:August 7, 2012

Easy - Point & Shoot!

Pros: takes some pretty great videos also., i was able to attach straps to the bag myself!
Cons: have to put away when i'm done!
Model Number: Nikon CoolPix P510
"Not too shabby. We all know that as some of us get older, our hands begin to shake. Those little cameras are too light even with the shake feature, pictures wind up somewhat fuzzy.
NOT WITH THIS CAMERA! Even with my hands shaking, this camera is a bit heavier + with a lot more quality in your hands = better pictures. I would heartily recommend it to anyone whether 'avid photographer' or "I need my vacation photos' person. Just point & shoot...the camera does all the rest. Too much light? Not enough light? This camera has the brains to figure it out for you & give you exactly the right shot every time. Lush colors. Great for framing your photo...the camera helps you with that also! I'm going away on my very first cruise & will absolutely want to write a new review once I see how it weathers under constant use. Since I bought this camera from Costco.com I will be printing from my Costco store not only for convenience but because they are capable of printing the most beautiful albums to go with the very best of photos. BUY this camera...you won't be sorry! Best investment I ever made. --- By the way...don't pay attention to the nay sayers who've complained because the case doesn't come with a strap. If your imaginative you can put your own strap on it just like I did. Works like a charm...now all I do is sling it over my shoulder & go wherever with it. Oh! And pay attention because you'll get some great video with it too! Don't just take my word for it...BUY IT...It's a truly great camera!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pinellas Park, FL
Date:August 6, 2012

It's a good product

Model Number: P510 Nikon
"I would recommend this camera to friends. Takes great pictures. Love the ability to zoom in close to the subject."
Review 29 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Broadview Heights, Ohio
Date:August 1, 2012

Quality Camera

Pros: easy to use
Model Number: Nikon Coolpix P510
"I really have not had a chance to fully use this camera, but the little that I used it proves to me that this a a very quality camera for the dollar. I would recommend this camera to anyone--you do not need to be a professional photographer to use this. Very satisfied!"
Review 30 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bonaire GA
Date:July 23, 2012

Does just what I wanted it to do.

Model Number: P510
"Takes very clear pictures and was not so complicated that I could not use it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:July 17, 2012

So far so good

Pros: long zoom, auto mode works greatt
Cons: short battery life
Model Number: P510
"Purchased to get a camera with a viewfinder. Picture quality has been great in the auto mode. With 16 GB memory, can go for a full weeks vacation with no concerns, even at max resolution. Only negative is short battery life and the camera does not come with an external battery charger."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:July 16, 2012

Pleasantly Surprised

Pros: the lens is awesome
Cons: the manual that came with the camera is disappoint
Model Number: Nikon Coolpix P510
"Have only had the camera for a week, so these are first impressions. Some of the more technical reviews I read made me feel this camera would be at a disadvantage when used indoors. For outside shots at or near max zoom (wildlife), the camera focused fast and the pictures were great (as expected). Next I participated in an indoor event in an auditorium with many speakers. Lighting was good, I could not use flash and I wanted tight zooms of the speakers' faces. While the camera took a bit longer to focus, I did not miss many shots and the results were very satisfactory. I will need to find a more detailed manual and get a better handle on the controls, however these first impressions make me feel good about this camera."
Review 33 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 14, 2012

Great camera for a good price

"I bought this camera because my family and I are going for vacation.. I'm a newbie in photography, but I can say this is the easiest and best camera I have ever owned."
Review 34 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Everson, WA
Date:July 6, 2012

nice photos!

Model Number: COOLPIX P510
"Very convenient to have a wide 42X zoom, 16.1 Megapixels CMOS, full HD movie and a 3.0" LCD viewing screen at a reasonable price. No need to lug around extra lens!"
Review 35 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rosamond, CA
Date:July 5, 2012

Cool Nikon Camera

Pros: takes high quality photos., the zoom is great for wildlife details., the 8 gb sd card is great for longer trips.
Cons: needs a tripod to keep still with the zoom., the battery takes several hours to recharge.
Model Number: Nikon COOLPIX P510
"We are enjoying our new camera. We bought it to take pictures of wildlife and it is working well. It is simple to download the pictures to the computer."
Review 36 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:June 22, 2012

NOT a real photographer, just a Mom

Pros: zoom lens is best in market right now for similar, simple to use, bargain cost for camera and extras, "pet" setting for photos of pets
Cons: weight of camera, free case needs a strap
Model Number: Nikon P510
"My review of this product is strictly from the viewpoint of a non-professional photographer-Mom who uses a point-n-shoot camera for taking pictures of family and pets and scenery. I purchased this camera for myself last month for Mother's day and haven't looked back since. I don't know anything about aperture, frames per second, any type of camera lingo, so if you are looking for that, look at another review. Mine is simply a Mom who wants a camera that does the job for her and makes her come out looking like a Nat Geo photographer. This one does just that.
I need a camera that can go shoot in a dark concert hall, thirteen rows back and still take a photo of the kid on stage that isn't overexposed or orange or out of focus or make my child look like a Liliputian...this one does that, perfectly, AND better than my Nikon 5000 with super lenses that extend over the person in front of me shoulders! I need a camera that can take a picture of two kittens playing at lightning speed and not have it come out as a furry blurr. This camera does exactly that.
Something to point out with this camera. There is a "pet" setting. That means when you take a picture of the family sitting with your Yellow Labrador outside at the BBQ...her yellow eyes aren't going to come out as glowing globes of scary light that make the picture frightening and ready for the midnight horror show more so than suitable for framing.
I need a camera that will take wonderful family photos on vacation in Hawaii and make it look like I knew what I was doing when I handed my camera off to a non-English speaking Japanese couple and made the motion to "just push the button". This camera did EXACTLY that. This camera is all that and a bag of whistles, to boot. I can't get over the extended range zoom on this. We are headed for Alaska in August and will have to edit this review then when I have taken photos of bears---from a mile away and made it look like I was in their face.
I had seen the reviews online for this camera and had read that it wasn't good in dark places/low light settings, but I have taken photos of my son in concerts with this and have yet to have them turn out as over exposed or underexposed as they have in the past with my other much more pricier cameras and the child is in focus! I love that I am sitting in the bleachers at football stadiums and taking photos of my son and can get his facial expression out on the field. It is that good. Well, there was one bad one-- in the dark, outside, taken of a tarantula, but I am pretty sure it was operator error. I was using macro to get in close, so the flash doesn't want to flash correctly and the photos kept coming out blurry and there was that annoying lengthy pause for the shutter to close, but again, I am sure that is the low-light picture taking the reviewers were mentioning in combination with operator error.
You can't beat the price for this camera with all of the options. The price at Costco is equal to or less than other sites and comparable businesses/warehouses and yet you receive the case and SD card, both worth far more than a few bucks!
If you are a pro photographer, I don't know if I would recommend this or not. It does have the capacity to adjust settings on it, many more buttons than I will ever even toggle to, but I HIGHLY recommend it to a family or beginner photographer.
The weight: There is the weight issue. This camera is not your typical point and click digital that you can slide in your cargo pants pocket. It is quite a bit heavier. You have that zoom lens to think about. It is worth the weight--don't get me wrong. If you are looking for a lightweight, backpacking,at the beach all day, carry around in your purse camera, then this isn't the one for you.
The case: The case that comes with the camera, albeit handy, isn't suitable for travel. There is no strap with the case. It is as it is shown. A case that is shaped like the camera. There is a net inside the lid to carry extra batteries and SD cards, and two open side pockets, but I don't know what you would put in the outside pockets. There is no top to them so anything in them is subject to falling out. You have to carry the case in your hand and again, that leads me back to the weight of the camera. I find mine stuffed into my armpit most of the time and that isn't very safe for the camera at all. I will be getting a new case for the next vacation.
Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this camera 100%. This camera is the perfect price and takes the best pictures of any camera I have had to date. Again, I am not a professional photographer. I just review based on what I get back from the Costco photo department or what pictures others ask me to copy for them that I have taken with this camera. I haven't had a bad photo yet."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mi
Date:June 12, 2012

Best camera I have ever used

Cons: disappointing case that came with camera.
Model Number: P510
"Fantastic camera.
Great zoom lens.
Great color and sharp pics.
"
Review 38 for Nikon Coolpix P510 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salem, Oregon
Date:June 9, 2012

Wonderful Camera

Model Number: Nikon P510
"I have had this camera for about a week and continue to be very impressed. The zoom is fantastic and the picture quality is great. The GPS feature works very well. All in all, this is a wonderful camera."
<<prev 1 2