Customer Reviews for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54

Picture Quality: Expressive, Lifelike Colors - Vivid Color Creation : The brightness, saturation, contrast and sharpness of colors are finely compensated in each scene. Highly vivid colors are produced with hardly any mutual interference. People's faces are also detected, and skin tones are beautifully corrected to ensure soft, natural complexions*. Naturally Flowing Film Images - 24p Cinema Smoother: The system analyzes the frames before and after, and generates and inserts three new frames. By displaying images with 96 frames compared to the 24-frame original source, smooth images are produced without the blurring that is typical of movies. Brilliant Images from Every Seat - Wide Viewing Angle: With VIERA's wide 178°* viewing angle, you see clear, vibrant images from every seat in the room. The backlight features a wide transmission aperture that enhances contrast between light and dark and improves response to provide smoother motion images. Easy Operation: Change the Way You Operat e - VIERA remote App Support: Smartphone Remote: VIERA remote App lets you use a smartphone or tablet device as a remote control. Tap and flick-based commands are intuitive. Text input is easy, too, with familiar keyboard operation. These handy devices also make great gamepads. Networking: Takes You to a New World - VIERA Connect: VIERA Connect is an internet service for TVs based on the use of cloud servers. It brings you video-on-demand (VOD), catch-up TV, games, educational content, and lots more, through a wide range of apps. It's a great way to relax in your living room with family and friends. Wi-Fi Ready (Wi-Fi Adaptor Included):   Neat and Comfortable Wireless Internet Connection.  It is easy to connect to the internet or a home network by using the Wireless LAN Adapter. There is no need for cords or cables, so the layout is flexible and the room stays neat and uncluttered. Using a wireless connection for VIERA Connect and employing the DLNA function make it easy to share photos and movies. A Home Network Linking the Entire House DLNA - A DLNA-compatible VIERA makes network connection super easy. It makes content easy to share by linking equipment over a home network. Enjoy photos, movies, music and more in the living room, bedroom, or any room in the house. Simply insert an SD Memory Card or USB memory stick into the slot to enjoy previously saved photos, video clips and music on VIERA's large screen. You can also add frames and other effects to your photos and videos, and create slide shows complete with background music. A wide variety of formats are supported, so you can listen to PC-based music files and web movies right on your TV. VIERA Link interlinks the operation of various AV devices, so you can operate them all using only the VIERA remote. Setup is easy, too – simply connect the devices to each other via HDMI cables. Eco: Searching for Waste and Automatically Saving Power - Eco Mode: This mode automatically turns the power off and adjusts the brightness depending on VIERA's operating status. Settings can be configured by selecting Eco mode from VIERA Tools. No Signal for 10 Minutes or No Activity for 3 Hours.  This setting automatically turns the power off when there's no image signal for 10 minutes or more, or when there's no activity for 3 hours or more. This setting adjusts screen brightness to reduce power consumption. Model: TC-55LE54
Average Customer Rating:
3.809 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
(out of 21 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
14 of 21(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Review 1 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2013

Excellent HDTV

Pros: exquisite picture quality clarity and sharpness, excellent color control. flesh tones are perfect.
Cons: poor tv speakers. needs a good sound bar., skinny frame or notshouldn't need to buy speakers, the wireless internet connection is problamatic.
Model Number: 55LE54
"This is the best picture I have ever seen over a TV... anywhere. DIsh Sat HD broadcast signal, Samsung Upconverting HD-DVD, Samsung 160 watt, sound bar,WOW!
Broadcast sports looks like you are there. Our old DVD's never looked this good and the movies are sharper than when we saw them in the theater. Really! I'm not exaggerating.
"
Review 2 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:January 30, 2013

Good TV

Pros: picture quality 4 hdmi ports wifi app store, netflix button
Cons: none
Model Number: TC-55LE54
"Overall, I like this TV. The picture quality is very nice. Setup was also easy though I had to call the tech support once but the issue related to Wifi was resolved in 10 minutes over the phone. I would recommend this TV to anyone who is considering to buy a smart TV. It's very well priced as well on costco.com"
Review 3 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, Wa
Date:January 23, 2013

I love the tv except!

Pros: beautiful picture and easy to understand.
Cons: no rca jacks.
Model Number: TC-55LE54
"The tv is great except it has no rca jacks on it. I have ordered a special converter so I can hook it up to my reciever."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:December 18, 2012

Excellent HDTV for the Price

Pros: picture quality, lots of ports, price, screen size, lightweight
Cons: audio quality; for best effect use a home theater, no analog audio output
Model Number: TC-55LE54
"Excellent picture quality, good viewing angle characteristics for use in wider rooms, lots of video ports (4 x HDMI, USBs, Component in ports, VGA connectors). Wireless adapter is included and set up of the TV was easy.
TV speakers are not as good as our older 40" Sony Bravia LCD, but they are OK for normal listening. For best sound, you'll need to use a home theater or sound bar.
Have not used Smart Vierra software yet as our Blu-Ray Player provides these same functions.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fargo, ND
Date:December 15, 2012

Amazing picture

Pros: great picture great sound
Cons: none
"great price, has all the common streaming apps, and access to some games and other apps
the standard video mode isn't that great, but as soon as you adjust it a little, the picture is amazing. the sound is also very good."
Review 6 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:December 13, 2012

BAD SERVICE

"I didn't get a chance to set up this TV and it's going back to COSTCO. I opened the box and there are 4 small screws missing. COSTCO asked me to contact Panasonic under warranty and Panasonic asked me to fax them the receipt and it will take 1-2 days to "evalute" and I have to pay shipping charge for the screws they did not put in. I didn't even set up the TV. This is such a bad service of Panasonic. They should have just sent me the screws by courier. I am returning this TV to COSTCO."
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:December 9, 2012

Great Buy

Pros: good price excellent picture
Cons: poor tv sound quality resolved with soundbar/sub
Model Number: TC-55LE54
"I reviewed many different LED HDTVs in the 55-60" class while trying to stay within a $1000.00 budget. This LED TV ultimately won the battle. The price was good, features are rich resulting in a very pleasant viewing experience. The TV has marginal preset calibration configurations however internet forums provided great perspective on how to properly calibrate. Xbox 360 runs great, Blueray was phenomenal and HD Sat was awesome. The Veria apps are amazing. I can run the entire TV from my iphone with an app in addition to pushing pics/videos from the phone to the TV. It took all of 30s to share my PC using DLNA for picture/video streaming. One word can summarize my experience..."Incredible"."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:December 4, 2012

Horrible Picture Quality

Pros: none for a tv in this price range
Cons: horrible picture quality
Model Number: Panasonic TC-55LE54
"I bought this tv because of the price and appearance. When I got it home and set it up the picture quality was awful. The colors were too dark, the images were very pixelated and there was a lot of motion blur. The picture was much worse that the 5 year old Samsung LED and 27" Vizio sets we have. I called tech support and we could not improve things. As a last resort I took the tv back to costco where they were very nice about accepting the return. I did some more research and ended up buying the Panasonic Plasma TCP55ST50 and saw an enormous improvement. For some reason Costco does not carry any of the higher rated Panasonic Plasma tv's so I had to buy from another store."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:November 25, 2012

Great TV

Pros: picture quality, plenty of connectors, price, sleek looks, smart tv, audio balances/smoothens sound difference
Cons: for best effect use a home theatre sound system, smart vierra apps are primitive
Model Number: TC-55LE54
"Very good picture quality. IPS panel, 4 x HDMI, USBs, Component in ports, VGA connectors. Wireless adapter is included in Costco online purchase.
Audio systems balances the sound differences pretty well especially when playing youtube videos.
Smart Vierra software and iPhone app are pretty primitive. They need to be more intuitive and user friendly. Both are software changes and hopefully panasonic will release a better version."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunny Isles Beach, Fl.
Date:November 20, 2012

Great TV...But you...........TC-55LE54

Pros: great picture..... read the instructions carefully
Cons: none yet
Model Number: TC-55LE54
"I had an old HD Mitz1080 I find this product just great!! I guess you can catch a lemon but the quality of this tv is just wonderful. When I adjusted this set I put it on Custom as vivid makes the picture somewhat fake. I have not tried to much other add on's yet but I will. I am a pro photographer and a good picture means the world to me. I bought this at Costco with their 2 year warantee plus the extra Square trade 3 year warrantee and never had a problem with them. Great deal!! Give yourself a chance to know this wonderful set. A steal. Some times you get a bad set and you can send it back."
Review 11 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Frisco, Texas
Date:November 15, 2012

Disappointment

Pros: big screen internet features lots of hdmi/usb cx
Cons: picture quality
Model Number: Panasonic TC-55LE54
"I really had high hopes for this TV , my 1st LED, all I can say it is nowhere near my 5yr old Panasonic Plasma, nothing wrong with my 42 inch just wanted a bigger TV and thought since it's a Panasonic I couldn't go wrong, boy was I ever wrong, this TV is so difficult to get the colors right, I have now played with it for a week, thank goodness for Costco return policy, it will be going back. Unless the scenes are in bright daylight, picture quality will be bad , dark scenes are a nightmare. Pictures are not crisp and have a soft touch/hazy look to them, some motion blur but more of a jerky movement when watching football/sports, internet worked really well, as did the DLNA portion, hooked up my smart phone and laptop to it no problem, netflix worked fine"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:October 23, 2012

Excellent TV!

Pros: amazing picture quality, easy set up easy to use menu
Cons: audio is awful but it's so for all flat screen tv
"Great TV for the price... $50 less in the store. Very easy set up. Perfect color from the time it was first turned on. Only complaint is the terrible, tinny audio given that we had become accustomed to great audio with our old Sony. But it turns out all new flat screens have awful audio. Didn't want to hook up to 5.1 surround Home Theater audio just for daily watching, so ended spending another $200 on one of those sound bars - a really nice one, also by Panasonic (SC-HTB20) - makes all the difference."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Myers, Fl.
Date:October 21, 2012

BEST 55" PANASONIC LED HDTV "Sorry Samsung"

Pros: amazing pict hdtv. smart tv. price., lifelike colors. costco warranty.
Cons: doesn't fit in my pocket.
Model Number: 55LE54
"I spent several weeks over reviews, searching here, and there before choosing this TV.
Picture, Picture, Picture. Blacks, quality, etc. Are way better than the competition.
Picture is so clear that I can see the freckles on peoples's faces.Features are endless.
NETFLIX, PANDORA, FACEBOOK, YOUTUBE, HULU, VIERA APPS ETC...
Best of the best 2012 55 Inch. TV.
On the market under $949.00
At my local Costco.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:san jose,ca
Date:October 13, 2012

Great clear and crispy picture

Pros: great tv
Cons: none
Model Number: panasonic TC-55LE54
"i just bought this tv and im amazed of its clear picture.for a big screen tv with that kind of the picture quality the price is very good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:September 16, 2012

Excellent value...great picture!!

Pros: easy to setup, great picture, excellent internet connection for netflix-amazon, sound quality is awesome
Cons: front red power indicator light
Model Number: TC-55LE54
"Purchased this from the local Costco and have enjoyed it thoroughly all weekend.
I can control it from my IPhone with the Viera app! The internet connection was so easy to set up...Netflix and Pandora work great.
"Custom" picture mode plus a little more sharpness and little more color proved the best picture.
The Viera apps are awesome. The sound quality is fantastic!
There is clear plastic around the outer shell of the tv...it's very sharp looking...very thin. The pedistal was easy to install.
Only thing I don't like is the red power indicator light on the front, but we're getting use to it.
Great TV!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Billerica, MA
Date:September 13, 2012

Not Impressed

Pros: abundance of features for the price, sleek modern look, multiple hdmi inputs
Cons: inconsistent picture quality, excessive motion blur, weak black color
"I purchased this TV back in August just in time for the 2013 NFL football season. I bought this TV because of it size, feature list, price and the Panasonic name.
After installing it I noticed that the picture was difficult to set for optimal viewing. After an hour or so I settled on the custom setting rather than the vivid setting which seemed over the top. The blacks were never black enough and darker scenes seemed masked in subtle shadows. Bright outdoor scenes offered the best viewing.
The most frustrating thing for me was still having motion blur during sporting events. I was hoping by upgrading to a 120Hz TV I would eliminate the blurring that exists on my older 60 Hz Vizio model.
I replaced my 42" Vizio that actually had better picture quality. I will most likely return this TV for one of a similar size. I plan on sticking with the LED-LCD format because of the sharper colors and lower power consumption."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Manhattan Beach, CA
Date:September 5, 2012

Excellent LED HDTV

Pros: an excellent led hdtv
Cons: no problems yet
Model Number: TC-55LE54
"Purchased this LED HDTV to place in a living room with abundant ambient sunshine emitting through uncovered windows. The picture quality is stunning both during the day and night. The IPS LED panel is an excellent feature. Suggest selecting VIVID as the desired picture quality. Minor adjustments are required to amplify the desired picture quality. The 120 Hz refresh is also perfect for all motion picture movies and sporting events. Hookup was easy with my home theater system. Finally the delivery men were on time and professional."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Hackensack, New Jersey
Date:August 17, 2012

Could be better

"Purchased tv almost 3 weeks ago from Costco. Watched the Olympics and picture looked pretty good to me. I am a big football fan, and so i happen to catch a game on Wednesday. Was not too happy with the picture. Read the other reviews and even took time to go online and see how to improve picture quality. I have the hd box, on the hd channel with the hdmi cord. I will decide on Saturday if this tv is worth keeping. I already found another tv that will replace this one if i experience the same issue come saturday when the giants play the jets."
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:August 6, 2012

not a good product

Model Number: Panasonic 55" Class SMART VIERA® 1080p 120Hz LED
"Yesterday I purchased this product to replace my old panasonic 50 inch 720P plasma TV (purchased 5 years ago). After everything is connected, I found that both picture and audio quality is much worse than my old 720P plasam TV. The picture is so dark in standard setting, but too harsh in vivid and other settings. I have spent one hour to play with all the picture settings, can never get a good result, much worse than the TV that I am trying to replace.
Another bad thing is the audio quality, again much worse than my old panasonic 720P plasma TV.
I have to return this one to costco today."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Panasonic 55" Class 1080p 120Hz LED Edge Lit SMART VIERA® HDTV and Wireless Adapter TC-55LE54
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Fernando Valley, CA
Date:August 2, 2012

Great Features, but a couple of drawbacks

"All the features listed are correct, but, I have that set in my bedroom and I have an audio cable from the tv to a splitter at the head of the bed so that my wife or I can unplug the sound and sleep. This set has no output jack for analog sound. I have now bought a converter for that purpose.
The set also has no sleep timer. I had to buy a remote just to turn it off while we are sleeping.
"
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>