Customer Reviews for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®

Model: BDP-BX59
Average Customer Rating:
3.809 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
7
30 of 42(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Review 1 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:September 21, 2013

The worst blue ray ever

Pros: did play a few movies
Cons: increasingly fails to respond to the remote, can only use the remote to get it to play, drawer will often get stuck open or closed, movies get stuck in the player
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"The player often does not respond to the remote. The door gets stuck open or closed. Right now, it was stuck open for 5 mins straight and once we got it to close it would not play. So now the movie is stuck in the player and we can't get it out. The problems have been slowing increasing since we bought it about 4 months ago. Horrible product. I will return it once I get my movie out of it."
Review 2 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:February 10, 2013

Great DVD Player

Model Number: BDP-BX59
"This DVD player does more than just play DVD's. It has so many different apps on it like Netflix and other movie apps. I found a cool one that shows fitness videos. I just purchased a spinning bike and this will come in handy because you can sign up for monthly service to access of Spinning Videos. Very cool!. They are updated regularly so I don't have to keep buying spin dvds. It hooked up to my wifi connection great."
Review 3 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:February 8, 2013

Easy to Operate

"Love the simplicity of it all, downstreaming Netflix is a dream and hardly ever have an issue with visual interruption which is common with wireless. The operating of the Blu-ray discs are great, you have to get one to believe me!!"
Review 4 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Date:January 25, 2013

Fast Setup

Pros: price, more online content, picture, easy setup
Model Number: SONY BDP-BX59
"I got this player for my guest bedroom so guests could enjoy internet content not available on the TV. I needed the WiFi connectivity since I don't have a wired connection in that room. The BDP-BX59 hooked up wireless to my D-Link Gigabit router in minutes. After logging into my Bravia account and registering my device, Netflix, Pandora, and Amazon were immediately available without having to register the apps again! I have the older 3D BDP-BX57 in my master bedroom and this new unit seems to play online movies smoother using WiFi than my older one using a GB connection. I also like the fact that it shows the streaming speed when playing movies on Netflix. The dedicated Netflix button on the remote is great, too. There are more apps and games if you use the SEC button, and it's easy to add favorites. I also tried the smartphone app on my Galaxy III S and it allowed me to play music from my D-Link Network HD through the 3D player. I liked this unit so much, that I ordered another one online to replace a Panasonic Blu-Ray player, in my den, that started having issues pausing online content using the remote. However, now I think I am going to put this new one in the Master Bedroom and put the older Sony BDP-BX57 in the den, since the unit in the bedroom is used more."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:spring lake, mi.
Date:January 24, 2013

too soon to tell?

"Have not watched a dvd but set up was easy and everything needed was included. I like that!"
Review 6 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Green Valley, AZ
Date:January 24, 2013

One of the best for the Price

Cons: non
Model Number: BX59 /590
"Originally bought a Samsung to get the Smart apps that would allow me to browse internet on TV. It wouldn't work with my internet speed. I took it back and then decided to get the Sony just for the Blu Ray. Lo and behold the Internet app works and I can browse the Internet. I doesn't require the speed that the Samsung did."
Review 7 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Taylorsville, UT
Date:January 23, 2013

I liked it so much I bought another.

Pros: simple intuitive menus, excellent selection of streaming content, ability to search netflix
Cons: i really don't have any cons yet.
Model Number: BDP BX59
"I bought this for a second BluRay player in my home. The reason why is that I liked my first one so much I decided to get another. The BDP-BX59 is the same unit as the BDP-S590 it just comes with a free HDMI cable. I now have both and they are identical units. The menus are simple and intuitive and setup is a breeze. The choices for available streaming audio and video are second to none in this price range and without going to a dedicated media player. Netflix and BluRays load very quickly and I like being able to search on Netflix which I could not do on a previous player."
Review 8 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverside, CA
Date:January 22, 2013

Good Player at Low Price

Pros: reasonable price, easy set-up, improves visual quality of standard dvds
Cons: small remote, small buttons
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"I read the older reviews prior to my purchase, but decided to proceed. The player worked straight out of the box. I was able to connect the Wi-Fi without any drama. Including the HDMI cable is a plus. The remote is small with small buttons and does not have an obvious front or back could be difficult for older users"
Review 9 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:January 19, 2013

Great price timely shipping

Pros: ease of use and connection, great 3d features, picture quality, 3d simulation for non 3d movies, good online app selection
Cons: wifi connection doesn't always wrk with all router
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"Simple to use, easy to connect and has a convenient free smart app that makes entering letters much easier for the online apps. Couldn't beat the Costco price and shipping was faster than stated. Would have given 5 stars except for WiFi connectivity doesn't always work with all routers."
Review 10 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:January 18, 2013

Just what I needed

Pros: easy set up. affordable blue-ray.
"Very easy hook up. No issues at all. Was watching netflix within minutes."
Review 11 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Costa Mesa, CA
Date:January 18, 2013

Very good BluRay player and Smart Apps device

Pros: great bluray playback quality, huge variety of smart apps, easy setup and configuration
Cons: remote control has no qwerty keyboard/keypad
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"Scored as 'good' because I've seen/experienced better. However, its setup is fairly straightforward and easy, plays BluRay dvds very nicely, and has a large variety of Smart Apps for internet connectivity.
Connecting via HDMI is the best option, of course, and from there the network connectivity for Smart Apps was a breeze. I have an Actiontec DSL modem/router and used the wifi signal for initial setup, although I'll be running an ethernet cable later for better consistent speed. I tested a couple BluRay dvds which played flawlessly, and then tested several Smart Apps for streaming clarity and performance: Pandora, Euronews, Amazon Instant Video (I'm a Prime member which gives access thousands of movies and TV series for free), Slacker, YouTube, Berliner Philharmoniker Concert Hall (amazing music and video app/channel) - each of them loaded and played within 10 secs (I have a 3Mbit internet download speed). The thing that took the most amount of time was registering a few of the sites/apps - I chose to use my computer's browser since the method of typing using the remote control keypad is tedious.
"
Review 12 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Miami, Fl
Date:January 17, 2013

Poor Quality Control

Pros: good number of apps included
Cons: very poor quality!
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"I brought this unit home, everything connected immediately. No firmware update needed, picture was very good. On the second day, it started making a buzzing noise when the dvd was spinning. By the third day the noise became very loud and the whole unit began vibrating. So I returned it and bought unit number 2. This one also required no firmware update, connected immediately and was quiet. However, the picture was terrible with blue lined running through the picture. So back goes this unit and I bring home unit number 3. This was obviously older stock as it required a firmware upgrade. The upgrade would begin and then a few miutes late would say that the upgrade failed. I tried 3 times and every time it said that it failed. I called Sony and while I was waiting on the phone I tried the upgrade for the 4th time and it finally worked. So far, after 1 day, I would say the picture is good, but it makes a little too much noise when the dvd spins. I will keep it for now, but I don't hold out hopes that this is a long term purchase."
Review 13 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sherwood OR
Date:January 17, 2013

Great Buy

"Great product, can watch in my bedroom youtube,Netflix, even movie files on my usb flash drive, all in HD. and I'm using my Iphone or Ipad as remote control, great WiFi response, just love it."
Review 14 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Billings mt
Date:January 15, 2013

Only buy if you want to lose 4 hours and no servic

Pros: non
Cons: unable to hook to sony registration site
Model Number: bdpbx 59
"After 4 hours of trying to get hooked up to Sony's registration site, and 4 phone calls that looped to no where, another hour on the net looking for help, we determined this unit is only designed to waste time and never actually work. Instruction book horrid, and sony site is non functional. Phone calls didnt work, as they just loop, and then tell you no idea when they will get to your call. Back to Costco to return...may or may not ever get another one. One thing is for sure, sony products will never enter this house again. Very bad experience."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:January 13, 2013

Wifi busted

Pros: lovely blu-ray picture, nice customer service people x 2 levels.
Cons: wifi networking was dead on arrival, remote has to be carefully aimed at unit, unit freezes
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"If you want the Wifi feature, then this is not your Blu-ray. Tried to connect to Trendnet, Cisco, and D-link routers and Blu-Ray DVD said it was connected "Ok" with IP addresses too, but "Internet: Fail" status when ever I tried accessing it. Costco Conceirge sent me to Sony. Sony sent me to a higher level with another service rep who kept thinking it was the WEP password. I even disabled the Security on the wireless router so there was no password at all and although it had an IP address assigned, it could never access the internet. I even moved the Blu-Ray and TV right next to the router for a 100% signal level with the same result. The rep wanted to pass it higher again to a fourth level of engineers, but I already spent an afternoon playing with this thing. Returned it the same day. Maybe I had a lemon. I bought a Panasonic and had unpacked, downloaded their current firmware and accessed Netflix in 10 minutes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2013

Fantastic Unit

Pros: great picture flawless wireless.
Cons: the setup instructions are useless, but if you have any tech savvy you'll be ok.
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"This is a great unit. It delivers a pristine image, and the wireless works flawlessly. I normally stream from an Apple TV, and having read some bad reviews of wireless/dvd units, I was reluctant to purchase one. But this box has changed my mind. Works great, and for the price, it's astoundingly good."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WEST MA
Date:January 9, 2013

very happy

Model Number: BDP-BX59
"I am very happy with this unit. Installed started and programmed in less than 10 minutes. No sweat, reliable and stable.
I had bought an LG version last year (not from Costco :( ) It was a real dog always updating and failing etc. 20% of time was making it work.
This is a sweet and well priced unit
"
Review 18 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:January 7, 2013

Blue Ray Great But Streaming Not So

Model Number: BDP-BX59
"Played Blue Ray Disks and DVDs, both played well w/o any problem.
I also have Roku XDS using which I regularly play a list of 1080P videos from youtube and they play pretty sharp. With this player though not only the searches are sluggish, the actual video quality is so bad that I do not want to play those videos on this device.
So get this device if you intend to use it only for playing BlueRay and DVDs. For streaming get something else (I recommend Roku)."
Review 19 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 5, 2013

DLNA Windows Media Player "Play To" Limitations

Pros: easy netflix setup, easy amazon setup, flexible user interface
Cons: dlna windows media player functionality
Model Number: SONY BDP-BX59
"Very happy with this Blu Ray Player except that Windows Media Player (WMP) "Play To" functionality for play lists is not as I expected. Could not get the BDP-BX59 to play a multi-song MP3 play list created on my Windows 7 PC using WMP and transferred to the BDP-BX59 over a Ethernet network (DLNA). The first song always plays fine, but subsequent songs on the play list are sometimes skipped and/or identified as corrupt files (WMP reports that it can't control the player).
I own another DLNA certified device that supports playback of files from a play list using WMP "Play To" function. It works properly on the same network with the same PC and same WMP MP3 play lists.
After working on the problem for several hours, I emailed SONY Technical support and was told "DLNA does not support the playback of files from a playlist" and "Also, you need to select a particular file each time for the playback via DLNA". Since the WMD play list works on my other DLNA device, I've concluded the limitation is the result of SONY's implementation of DLNA."
Review 20 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area
Date:November 24, 2012

Can't play Costco Photo DVD or USB in Entirety.

Pros: nice design two usb slots
Cons: may have bugs - can't play a photo dvd completely., needs clear line of sight for the remote to work.
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"Entering router WAP was a bit clumsy but learned to use the purple button to select Capital, Lower Case, Numbers, or Symbols and the green button for backspacing erase. Inserting a Costco photo DVD prompted the player to show a Data DVD symbol but wouldn't play saying no playlist, reading the manual finally resolved that by selecting the camera instead of the film (video) symbol. However the player seems to get stuck on a photo and wouldn't continue to play the rest, the same happened when I played SD card via a USB adapter, the player played beautifully and then stops as if it has run out of gas (reached some storage limit?).
The Costco photo DVD was highly compressed (3+ GB to less than 500 MB) and so looked pretty bad played on a standard DVD player but the up-converting of this player made the pictures look great. I would give it 5 stars if it can finish slide show on DVD and/or USB.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>