Customer Reviews for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®

Model: BDP-BX59
Average Customer Rating:
3.809 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
7
30 of 42(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Review 1 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area
Date:November 24, 2012

Can't play Costco Photo DVD or USB in Entirety.

Pros: nice design two usb slots
Cons: may have bugs - can't play a photo dvd completely., needs clear line of sight for the remote to work.
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"Entering router WAP was a bit clumsy but learned to use the purple button to select Capital, Lower Case, Numbers, or Symbols and the green button for backspacing erase. Inserting a Costco photo DVD prompted the player to show a Data DVD symbol but wouldn't play saying no playlist, reading the manual finally resolved that by selecting the camera instead of the film (video) symbol. However the player seems to get stuck on a photo and wouldn't continue to play the rest, the same happened when I played SD card via a USB adapter, the player played beautifully and then stops as if it has run out of gas (reached some storage limit?).
The Costco photo DVD was highly compressed (3+ GB to less than 500 MB) and so looked pretty bad played on a standard DVD player but the up-converting of this player made the pictures look great. I would give it 5 stars if it can finish slide show on DVD and/or USB.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2012

good enough

Pros: plays well, good sound, remote syncs with my vizio
Cons: not a big sony fan
Model Number: bx59
"compared this to the panasonic bd2200. very similar I thought. no problems with hookup for either. seems like each had minor features the other didn't. ie. panasonic had sound with fast play and may have been a little faster to start up. but with some discs there was no slow reverse and when the sony played in reverse the picture wasn't half blocked by thr tracking banner.. I also liked the darker motif on the sony. I guess what finally tipped the scales (once the prices were the same discount) to the sony was the remote. while awkward to handle it had better quick access to things like subtitles(for those movies where the english is garbled or accented). better access to sound tracks and menus. not a small thing was by putting in the code 04 I was able to get the power and volume button to sync with my vizio. not an option on pana or samy. after one month.. seems good enough"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:January 13, 2013

Wifi busted

Pros: lovely blu-ray picture, nice customer service people x 2 levels.
Cons: wifi networking was dead on arrival, remote has to be carefully aimed at unit, unit freezes
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"If you want the Wifi feature, then this is not your Blu-ray. Tried to connect to Trendnet, Cisco, and D-link routers and Blu-Ray DVD said it was connected "Ok" with IP addresses too, but "Internet: Fail" status when ever I tried accessing it. Costco Conceirge sent me to Sony. Sony sent me to a higher level with another service rep who kept thinking it was the WEP password. I even disabled the Security on the wireless router so there was no password at all and although it had an IP address assigned, it could never access the internet. I even moved the Blu-Ray and TV right next to the router for a 100% signal level with the same result. The rep wanted to pass it higher again to a fourth level of engineers, but I already spent an afternoon playing with this thing. Returned it the same day. Maybe I had a lemon. I bought a Panasonic and had unpacked, downloaded their current firmware and accessed Netflix in 10 minutes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Miami, Fl
Date:January 17, 2013

Poor Quality Control

Pros: good number of apps included
Cons: very poor quality!
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"I brought this unit home, everything connected immediately. No firmware update needed, picture was very good. On the second day, it started making a buzzing noise when the dvd was spinning. By the third day the noise became very loud and the whole unit began vibrating. So I returned it and bought unit number 2. This one also required no firmware update, connected immediately and was quiet. However, the picture was terrible with blue lined running through the picture. So back goes this unit and I bring home unit number 3. This was obviously older stock as it required a firmware upgrade. The upgrade would begin and then a few miutes late would say that the upgrade failed. I tried 3 times and every time it said that it failed. I called Sony and while I was waiting on the phone I tried the upgrade for the 4th time and it finally worked. So far, after 1 day, I would say the picture is good, but it makes a little too much noise when the dvd spins. I will keep it for now, but I don't hold out hopes that this is a long term purchase."
Review 5 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Orlando, Florida
Date:August 10, 2012

Basic Player ok, but the rest... not so much

Model Number: BDP-BX57
"We purchased this player about a year ago. Works fine with normal blue-ray disks. Recently, some Netflix releases just won't play. Tried to play an AVI file, which is supposed to be support via the USB stick port. NADA.
I spent 45 minutes with the on-line support and they were pretty much worthless; polite but ineffective.
The WiFi works ok, but often the buffering stinks and anything playing via NetFlix freezes on occasion.
Searching is a pain when on-line with YouTube or anything, but it does at least work.
I think I'll replace this with a Samsung. I have had Samsung phones and they are excellent. Sony is just not what it once was."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Date:January 25, 2013

Fast Setup

Pros: price, more online content, picture, easy setup
Model Number: SONY BDP-BX59
"I got this player for my guest bedroom so guests could enjoy internet content not available on the TV. I needed the WiFi connectivity since I don't have a wired connection in that room. The BDP-BX59 hooked up wireless to my D-Link Gigabit router in minutes. After logging into my Bravia account and registering my device, Netflix, Pandora, and Amazon were immediately available without having to register the apps again! I have the older 3D BDP-BX57 in my master bedroom and this new unit seems to play online movies smoother using WiFi than my older one using a GB connection. I also like the fact that it shows the streaming speed when playing movies on Netflix. The dedicated Netflix button on the remote is great, too. There are more apps and games if you use the SEC button, and it's easy to add favorites. I also tried the smartphone app on my Galaxy III S and it allowed me to play music from my D-Link Network HD through the 3D player. I liked this unit so much, that I ordered another one online to replace a Panasonic Blu-Ray player, in my den, that started having issues pausing online content using the remote. However, now I think I am going to put this new one in the Master Bedroom and put the older Sony BDP-BX57 in the den, since the unit in the bedroom is used more."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 5, 2013

DLNA Windows Media Player "Play To" Limitations

Pros: easy netflix setup, easy amazon setup, flexible user interface
Cons: dlna windows media player functionality
Model Number: SONY BDP-BX59
"Very happy with this Blu Ray Player except that Windows Media Player (WMP) "Play To" functionality for play lists is not as I expected. Could not get the BDP-BX59 to play a multi-song MP3 play list created on my Windows 7 PC using WMP and transferred to the BDP-BX59 over a Ethernet network (DLNA). The first song always plays fine, but subsequent songs on the play list are sometimes skipped and/or identified as corrupt files (WMP reports that it can't control the player).
I own another DLNA certified device that supports playback of files from a play list using WMP "Play To" function. It works properly on the same network with the same PC and same WMP MP3 play lists.
After working on the problem for several hours, I emailed SONY Technical support and was told "DLNA does not support the playback of files from a playlist" and "Also, you need to select a particular file each time for the playback via DLNA". Since the WMD play list works on my other DLNA device, I've concluded the limitation is the result of SONY's implementation of DLNA."
Review 8 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Somewhere, Texas
Date:June 11, 2012

Great buy

Pros: small, wireless
"For the poor chap that gave this a 1 star for not being able to find NetFlix in the menu, try the big red NetFlix button on the lower left of the remote... works like a champ :)
We've only had this 2 weeks, but use it every night for NetFlix. We're buying another for downstairs."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 11, 2012

Not to Sony's reputation

Cons: worthless dvd
Model Number: BDPBX58
"I bought this because I trusted Sony to deliver good-to-excellent quality and value. But, this DVD, in order to get NetFlix, requires registration in their premium channel program. I went through the motions and filled out their survey of income, race, etc (none of their business, actually) only to get error messages at the end. Several tries later, I gave up and returned the useless box and purchased an LG, which works perfectly.
4 hours of my life long gone but Sony will never do this to me again. A lesson well learned."
13 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:June 25, 2012

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: everything
Cons: a bit slow between selections
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX59
"I rarely write reviews however this product deserves it. I purchased the Samsung Blu Ray player from Costco and it locked up within a week and I wasted over an hour on the phone with tech support trying to resolve the issues. After this frustration I returned it and purchased the Sony. It took a little while for all the registrations but it was well worth the effort. This little powerhouse of a machine is able to stream all the music and movies from our home network as well as a huge amount of online content. We have been so pleased with this unit we are going to purchase two more for the house. Sony has made a great product that deserves many accolades. This product is well worth the extra money spent."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Metro Atlanta, GA
Date:August 6, 2012

Great value

Pros: easy setup
Cons: key board function
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"I purchased this player primarily because I wanted the Wi-Fi connectivity but this unit is an outstanding Blu-ray player also. The setup was a breeze and connects to the internet easily. The keyboard function is a little crude but it works and I don't use it often."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oakland, NY
Date:October 2, 2012

Bad outweighs the good, avoid if DLNA is important

Pros: bluray playback is fine, scroll bar matches the movie's menu theme, hdmi-cec works well with other devices and remotes
Cons: dlna is almost unusable, entire device freezes and shuts down regularly
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX59 aka Sony BDP-S590
"I tried two of these with the original and updated firmware and the same results. I wanted to like this model, but couldn't. The feature set is great, but the DLNA is unusable unless you can enable on the fly transcoding. I tried 4 DLNA servers (Mediatomb, miniDLNA, Serviio, and Bubble Upnp) on 3 different machines. Every other DLNA client works fine. The killer is that the units locked up sporadically and either shuts down or requires pulling the plug. I went with an LG BP620C. I don't like the LG features as much, but they work reliably and as advertised."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Napa,CA
Date:November 6, 2012

New format Costco.com

Pros: easy hookup-works very good-not expensive
Cons: none
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX59
"The new costco.com caught me off guard. By mistake I made two orders because the order form lacked the usual feedback to see that my order was complete. It took two days for delivery and the delivery was without problems. I used the HDMI cable that was included. Everything worked fine and I was delighted that a Blu-ray disk started within 6 seconds. The WIFI enable works great my HDTV is Netflex ready."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Costa Mesa, CA
Date:January 18, 2013

Very good BluRay player and Smart Apps device

Pros: great bluray playback quality, huge variety of smart apps, easy setup and configuration
Cons: remote control has no qwerty keyboard/keypad
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"Scored as 'good' because I've seen/experienced better. However, its setup is fairly straightforward and easy, plays BluRay dvds very nicely, and has a large variety of Smart Apps for internet connectivity.
Connecting via HDMI is the best option, of course, and from there the network connectivity for Smart Apps was a breeze. I have an Actiontec DSL modem/router and used the wifi signal for initial setup, although I'll be running an ethernet cable later for better consistent speed. I tested a couple BluRay dvds which played flawlessly, and then tested several Smart Apps for streaming clarity and performance: Pandora, Euronews, Amazon Instant Video (I'm a Prime member which gives access thousands of movies and TV series for free), Slacker, YouTube, Berliner Philharmoniker Concert Hall (amazing music and video app/channel) - each of them loaded and played within 10 secs (I have a 3Mbit internet download speed). The thing that took the most amount of time was registering a few of the sites/apps - I chose to use my computer's browser since the method of typing using the remote control keypad is tedious.
"
Review 15 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2013

Fantastic Unit

Pros: great picture flawless wireless.
Cons: the setup instructions are useless, but if you have any tech savvy you'll be ok.
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"This is a great unit. It delivers a pristine image, and the wireless works flawlessly. I normally stream from an Apple TV, and having read some bad reviews of wireless/dvd units, I was reluctant to purchase one. But this box has changed my mind. Works great, and for the price, it's astoundingly good."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:July 20, 2012

Sony got an F in this product.

Pros: looks nice
Cons: network update problem
"This blu ray player, I thought would work like a charm. Well, it does, IF there are not updates that need to be performed. On the first day, it couldn't update via network but yet I was able to browse the internet. So I had to perform an update by downloading the firmware burn to the disc then install it by disc. Netflix worked like a charm, blu ray movies were great. After 4 days, another update, same problem, Had to update from the disc and called Sony customer service and they said this latest firmware should fix the problem i'm having. So I told them, if i have to perform another update by disc, I'll simply RETURN the product."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2012

Amazing difference from my previous Blu-Ray Player

Pros: perfect reproduction of 5.1 surround sound, upconversion
Cons: maybe..little user friendly menu
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"I upgraded my Insignia Blu-ray with this Sony BDP-BX59. I went to get the LG but ended up buying Sony as it was only about $10 more. I am one of those guys who likes to read reviews but not to write. So, you can imagine how satisfied i am.
I cant believe the difference in picture and sound this has brought about. I connected to my wi-fi in less than 5 minutes. Upgraded the firmware in another 5 minutes and got into Net Flix right away. I watched "District 13 ultimatum" and i scolded myself why i waited so long to switch to this player. I did not realize how good a home theater system i had with the Denon A/V receiver and JBL speakers until i got this player. I generally dont prefer Sony products because they end up having customized accessories but this player might change my opinion. I watched several other DVD's (not blu-ray's) and i should say i am pretty impressed with the upconversion. I am waiting to find a good blu-ray to watch. I want to have my complete satisfaction when i watch the first blu-ray i play on this.. so, waiting on that...
I saw the review of 1 star from an other owner who could not find NetFlix. I am suspecting s/he needs to upgrade the software so, latest versions of apps are downloaded. Think about it... Manufacturers like Sony dont really take you for a ride. You need to figure out what you are doing wrong."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 4, 2012

unhappy at first, but now happy

Pros: wifi is excellent nice assortment web choices.
Cons: none
Model Number: bdp-bx59
"When I first installed, I could not get wifi to work either automatically or manually. Found out my router had router isolation enabled. Once I disabled, auto worked like a charm. Blue ray is 30 ft away in a closed cabinet and still 5 bars. It even found 2 neighbors with 1 bar. When I performed the update for the unit, it said it had 9 parts and sat on 1 for about 20 minutes, thought it would be a overnighter, but then it just shot to 9 and finished. I thought it was very cool that it read AVCHD on the front USB, flawlessly. Also, comes with web browser so you can search the web and bookmark sites, pretty cool features."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Billings mt
Date:January 15, 2013

Only buy if you want to lose 4 hours and no servic

Pros: non
Cons: unable to hook to sony registration site
Model Number: bdpbx 59
"After 4 hours of trying to get hooked up to Sony's registration site, and 4 phone calls that looped to no where, another hour on the net looking for help, we determined this unit is only designed to waste time and never actually work. Instruction book horrid, and sony site is non functional. Phone calls didnt work, as they just loop, and then tell you no idea when they will get to your call. Back to Costco to return...may or may not ever get another one. One thing is for sure, sony products will never enter this house again. Very bad experience."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:May 14, 2012

No Component Outputs

Cons: no component hd outputs
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"This unit has NO component (analog) HD outputs, so you cannot connect a TV that way, nor an HD recorder to record streaming content. Note that the previous model (BDP-BX58 or BDP-S580) DID have the component outputs.
Also, they appear to have styled the cabinet in a screwy curved manner, compared to the previous model. It just looks cheaper overall; I'll stick with the 'BX58!
Another thing: Sony makes you register online before you can use any of the streaming video functions, except YouTube.
Note that this model is probably also available in other stores as the BDP-S590 (Exactly the same, but Sony changes the model number for warehouse stores so the other stores don't have to match Costco's price)."
5 of 15 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>