Customer Reviews for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®

Model: BDP-BX59
Average Customer Rating:
3.809 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
7
30 of 42(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Review 1 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:September 21, 2013

The worst blue ray ever

Pros: did play a few movies
Cons: increasingly fails to respond to the remote, can only use the remote to get it to play, drawer will often get stuck open or closed, movies get stuck in the player
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"The player often does not respond to the remote. The door gets stuck open or closed. Right now, it was stuck open for 5 mins straight and once we got it to close it would not play. So now the movie is stuck in the player and we can't get it out. The problems have been slowing increasing since we bought it about 4 months ago. Horrible product. I will return it once I get my movie out of it."
Review 2 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Billings mt
Date:January 15, 2013

Only buy if you want to lose 4 hours and no servic

Pros: non
Cons: unable to hook to sony registration site
Model Number: bdpbx 59
"After 4 hours of trying to get hooked up to Sony's registration site, and 4 phone calls that looped to no where, another hour on the net looking for help, we determined this unit is only designed to waste time and never actually work. Instruction book horrid, and sony site is non functional. Phone calls didnt work, as they just loop, and then tell you no idea when they will get to your call. Back to Costco to return...may or may not ever get another one. One thing is for sure, sony products will never enter this house again. Very bad experience."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:January 13, 2013

Wifi busted

Pros: lovely blu-ray picture, nice customer service people x 2 levels.
Cons: wifi networking was dead on arrival, remote has to be carefully aimed at unit, unit freezes
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"If you want the Wifi feature, then this is not your Blu-ray. Tried to connect to Trendnet, Cisco, and D-link routers and Blu-Ray DVD said it was connected "Ok" with IP addresses too, but "Internet: Fail" status when ever I tried accessing it. Costco Conceirge sent me to Sony. Sony sent me to a higher level with another service rep who kept thinking it was the WEP password. I even disabled the Security on the wireless router so there was no password at all and although it had an IP address assigned, it could never access the internet. I even moved the Blu-Ray and TV right next to the router for a 100% signal level with the same result. The rep wanted to pass it higher again to a fourth level of engineers, but I already spent an afternoon playing with this thing. Returned it the same day. Maybe I had a lemon. I bought a Panasonic and had unpacked, downloaded their current firmware and accessed Netflix in 10 minutes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 11, 2012

Not to Sony's reputation

Cons: worthless dvd
Model Number: BDPBX58
"I bought this because I trusted Sony to deliver good-to-excellent quality and value. But, this DVD, in order to get NetFlix, requires registration in their premium channel program. I went through the motions and filled out their survey of income, race, etc (none of their business, actually) only to get error messages at the end. Several tries later, I gave up and returned the useless box and purchased an LG, which works perfectly.
4 hours of my life long gone but Sony will never do this to me again. A lesson well learned."
13 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:July 20, 2012

Sony got an F in this product.

Pros: looks nice
Cons: network update problem
"This blu ray player, I thought would work like a charm. Well, it does, IF there are not updates that need to be performed. On the first day, it couldn't update via network but yet I was able to browse the internet. So I had to perform an update by downloading the firmware burn to the disc then install it by disc. Netflix worked like a charm, blu ray movies were great. After 4 days, another update, same problem, Had to update from the disc and called Sony customer service and they said this latest firmware should fix the problem i'm having. So I told them, if i have to perform another update by disc, I'll simply RETURN the product."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MA
Date:June 14, 2012

not durable

Cons: broken quickly
"We bought the Sony Blu-ray player about 3 years ago. After two years, it started to get stuck when playing a dvd. About a couple of months ago, it stopped working completely. We didn't watch DVDs a lot (probably once every two or three weeks). But still, it didn't last long."
2 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2012

Do not Buy it

Cons: it is a pitty good desing but poor performance, reset itself with no cause, too expensive, not worth the money
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"This product a total fake. I buy because of netflix and the icon do not appear in the menu... I contacted Sony support and the guy told me please return to the store no netflix working in this product.
Tomorrow I will return the product and I will buy a samsung or a panasonic"
0 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Miami, Fl
Date:January 17, 2013

Poor Quality Control

Pros: good number of apps included
Cons: very poor quality!
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"I brought this unit home, everything connected immediately. No firmware update needed, picture was very good. On the second day, it started making a buzzing noise when the dvd was spinning. By the third day the noise became very loud and the whole unit began vibrating. So I returned it and bought unit number 2. This one also required no firmware update, connected immediately and was quiet. However, the picture was terrible with blue lined running through the picture. So back goes this unit and I bring home unit number 3. This was obviously older stock as it required a firmware upgrade. The upgrade would begin and then a few miutes late would say that the upgrade failed. I tried 3 times and every time it said that it failed. I called Sony and while I was waiting on the phone I tried the upgrade for the 4th time and it finally worked. So far, after 1 day, I would say the picture is good, but it makes a little too much noise when the dvd spins. I will keep it for now, but I don't hold out hopes that this is a long term purchase."
Review 9 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oakland, NY
Date:October 2, 2012

Bad outweighs the good, avoid if DLNA is important

Pros: bluray playback is fine, scroll bar matches the movie's menu theme, hdmi-cec works well with other devices and remotes
Cons: dlna is almost unusable, entire device freezes and shuts down regularly
Model Number: Sony BDP-BX59 aka Sony BDP-S590
"I tried two of these with the original and updated firmware and the same results. I wanted to like this model, but couldn't. The feature set is great, but the DLNA is unusable unless you can enable on the fly transcoding. I tried 4 DLNA servers (Mediatomb, miniDLNA, Serviio, and Bubble Upnp) on 3 different machines. Every other DLNA client works fine. The killer is that the units locked up sporadically and either shuts down or requires pulling the plug. I went with an LG BP620C. I don't like the LG features as much, but they work reliably and as advertised."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 1, 2012

Plays great, wireless doesn't work

Pros: plays quality no stutter, gives tons of info on your dvd
Cons: wirless is spotty, won't play my video audio files, documentation on how to program remote was not inc
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"Quality playback of bray/dvd but the wireless to my computer won't playback. Even when I can get it connected for short period of time it wont play my files.
Remote control setup google: RMT-B119A how to program"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:May 14, 2012

No Component Outputs

Cons: no component hd outputs
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"This unit has NO component (analog) HD outputs, so you cannot connect a TV that way, nor an HD recorder to record streaming content. Note that the previous model (BDP-BX58 or BDP-S580) DID have the component outputs.
Also, they appear to have styled the cabinet in a screwy curved manner, compared to the previous model. It just looks cheaper overall; I'll stick with the 'BX58!
Another thing: Sony makes you register online before you can use any of the streaming video functions, except YouTube.
Note that this model is probably also available in other stores as the BDP-S590 (Exactly the same, but Sony changes the model number for warehouse stores so the other stores don't have to match Costco's price)."
5 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:January 7, 2013

Blue Ray Great But Streaming Not So

Model Number: BDP-BX59
"Played Blue Ray Disks and DVDs, both played well w/o any problem.
I also have Roku XDS using which I regularly play a list of 1080P videos from youtube and they play pretty sharp. With this player though not only the searches are sluggish, the actual video quality is so bad that I do not want to play those videos on this device.
So get this device if you intend to use it only for playing BlueRay and DVDs. For streaming get something else (I recommend Roku)."
Review 13 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Orlando, Florida
Date:August 10, 2012

Basic Player ok, but the rest... not so much

Model Number: BDP-BX57
"We purchased this player about a year ago. Works fine with normal blue-ray disks. Recently, some Netflix releases just won't play. Tried to play an AVI file, which is supposed to be support via the USB stick port. NADA.
I spent 45 minutes with the on-line support and they were pretty much worthless; polite but ineffective.
The WiFi works ok, but often the buffering stinks and anything playing via NetFlix freezes on occasion.
Searching is a pain when on-line with YouTube or anything, but it does at least work.
I think I'll replace this with a Samsung. I have had Samsung phones and they are excellent. Sony is just not what it once was."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:spring lake, mi.
Date:January 24, 2013

too soon to tell?

"Have not watched a dvd but set up was easy and everything needed was included. I like that!"
Review 15 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Costa Mesa, CA
Date:January 18, 2013

Very good BluRay player and Smart Apps device

Pros: great bluray playback quality, huge variety of smart apps, easy setup and configuration
Cons: remote control has no qwerty keyboard/keypad
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"Scored as 'good' because I've seen/experienced better. However, its setup is fairly straightforward and easy, plays BluRay dvds very nicely, and has a large variety of Smart Apps for internet connectivity.
Connecting via HDMI is the best option, of course, and from there the network connectivity for Smart Apps was a breeze. I have an Actiontec DSL modem/router and used the wifi signal for initial setup, although I'll be running an ethernet cable later for better consistent speed. I tested a couple BluRay dvds which played flawlessly, and then tested several Smart Apps for streaming clarity and performance: Pandora, Euronews, Amazon Instant Video (I'm a Prime member which gives access thousands of movies and TV series for free), Slacker, YouTube, Berliner Philharmoniker Concert Hall (amazing music and video app/channel) - each of them loaded and played within 10 secs (I have a 3Mbit internet download speed). The thing that took the most amount of time was registering a few of the sites/apps - I chose to use my computer's browser since the method of typing using the remote control keypad is tedious.
"
Review 16 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:January 5, 2013

DLNA Windows Media Player "Play To" Limitations

Pros: easy netflix setup, easy amazon setup, flexible user interface
Cons: dlna windows media player functionality
Model Number: SONY BDP-BX59
"Very happy with this Blu Ray Player except that Windows Media Player (WMP) "Play To" functionality for play lists is not as I expected. Could not get the BDP-BX59 to play a multi-song MP3 play list created on my Windows 7 PC using WMP and transferred to the BDP-BX59 over a Ethernet network (DLNA). The first song always plays fine, but subsequent songs on the play list are sometimes skipped and/or identified as corrupt files (WMP reports that it can't control the player).
I own another DLNA certified device that supports playback of files from a play list using WMP "Play To" function. It works properly on the same network with the same PC and same WMP MP3 play lists.
After working on the problem for several hours, I emailed SONY Technical support and was told "DLNA does not support the playback of files from a playlist" and "Also, you need to select a particular file each time for the playback via DLNA". Since the WMD play list works on my other DLNA device, I've concluded the limitation is the result of SONY's implementation of DLNA."
Review 17 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area
Date:November 24, 2012

Can't play Costco Photo DVD or USB in Entirety.

Pros: nice design two usb slots
Cons: may have bugs - can't play a photo dvd completely., needs clear line of sight for the remote to work.
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"Entering router WAP was a bit clumsy but learned to use the purple button to select Capital, Lower Case, Numbers, or Symbols and the green button for backspacing erase. Inserting a Costco photo DVD prompted the player to show a Data DVD symbol but wouldn't play saying no playlist, reading the manual finally resolved that by selecting the camera instead of the film (video) symbol. However the player seems to get stuck on a photo and wouldn't continue to play the rest, the same happened when I played SD card via a USB adapter, the player played beautifully and then stops as if it has run out of gas (reached some storage limit?).
The Costco photo DVD was highly compressed (3+ GB to less than 500 MB) and so looked pretty bad played on a standard DVD player but the up-converting of this player made the pictures look great. I would give it 5 stars if it can finish slide show on DVD and/or USB.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2012

good enough

Pros: plays well, good sound, remote syncs with my vizio
Cons: not a big sony fan
Model Number: bx59
"compared this to the panasonic bd2200. very similar I thought. no problems with hookup for either. seems like each had minor features the other didn't. ie. panasonic had sound with fast play and may have been a little faster to start up. but with some discs there was no slow reverse and when the sony played in reverse the picture wasn't half blocked by thr tracking banner.. I also liked the darker motif on the sony. I guess what finally tipped the scales (once the prices were the same discount) to the sony was the remote. while awkward to handle it had better quick access to things like subtitles(for those movies where the english is garbled or accented). better access to sound tracks and menus. not a small thing was by putting in the code 04 I was able to get the power and volume button to sync with my vizio. not an option on pana or samy. after one month.. seems good enough"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:RICHMOND, VA
Date:June 23, 2012

Great product for the money

Pros: easy streaming setup
Cons: forcing you to register to use some features
Model Number: BDP-BX59
"Don't currently have many Blu-Ray disks to play but the ones I do have look awesome. NetFlix worked without a hitch. I love that I can stream music from my computer or smartphone to my stereo through this player and listen to it out on my patio. Great for parties when you don't have to run inside the house to change the music."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony BDP-BX59 Full HD1080p 3D Blu-ray Disc Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:February 10, 2013

Great DVD Player

Model Number: BDP-BX59
"This DVD player does more than just play DVD's. It has so many different apps on it like Netflix and other movie apps. I found a cool one that shows fitness videos. I just purchased a spinning bike and this will come in handy because you can sign up for monthly service to access of Spinning Videos. Very cool!. They are updated regularly so I don't have to keep buying spin dvds. It hooked up to my wifi connection great."
1 2 3 next>>