Customer Reviews for Garmin nuvi 3590LMT 5" Portable GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Garmin nuvi 3590LMT 5" Portable GPS

Thanks to Garmin Guidance 3.0, FREE lifetime Digital 3D traffic and map updates, advanced lane guidance and much more, nüvi 3590LMT provides the most comprehensive navigation capabilities available in our thinnest 5" high resolution touchscreen navigator. Navigate By Touch or By Voice With its innovative voice-activated navigation, you can control nüvi 3590LMT with your voice — allowing you to keep both hands on the wheel. Simply wake up nüvi with a customizable voice command and begin speaking menu options that are clearly displayed on the screen. You also can control the nüvi using its high-resolution 5" (12.7 cm) glass touchscreen. Garmin Guidance 3.0 allows you to quickly look up addresses and services and be guided to your destination with voice-prompted, turn-by-turn directions that speak street names. It comes preloaded with maps that feature 3-D landmarks and terrain for North America. It also comes preloaded with more than 8 million points of interest (POIs) and offers the ability to add your own. Avoid Traffic Tie-ups With FREE lifetime traffic updates from Digital 3D Traffic, nüvi 3590LMT can help you avoid delays. Digital 3D Traffic provides updates as often as every 30 seconds over the HD Radio system, so you can easily reroute around congestion and arrive on time. Enjoy FREE Lifetime Map Updates With FREE lifetime map updates, you always have the most up-to-date maps, POIs and navigation information available at your fingertips. Map updates are available for download up to 4 times a year with no subscription or update fees and no expiration dates. Know the Lane Before It’s Too Late Now there’s no more guessing which lane you need to be in to make an upcoming turn. Available in select metropolitan areas, photoReal junction view makes unfamiliar intersections and exits easy to navigate. When you approach an exit or interchange, nüvi 3590LMT will enter split screen mode and show you a realistic depiction of junctions on your route, complete with road signs and arrows that indicate the proper lane for navigation. Bird’s Eye junction view also is included for a top-down look at upcoming complex interchanges. Go Beyond Navigation Point-to-point navigation is just the beginning. Share information and Live Services between nüvi 3590LMT and your compatible Android phone with Garmin Smartphone Link. nüvi 3590LMT also includes Garmin Digital 3D Traffic which delivers traffic updates as often as 30 seconds over the HD Radio system. That’s up to 10 times more often than other traffic receivers. With Garmin Digital 3D Traffic, you get all the advantages of our extensive Garmin Traffic avoidance system, plus 2 to 3 times more road coverage than our Garmin traffic offering over RDS. The built-in microSD™ card slot lets you store and use detailed cityXplorer™ maps or download custom voices and vehicles for free from the Garmin Garage™. It also comes with a powered mount that charges while you drive as well as dual-orientation functionality that lets you hold your nüvi vertically or horizontally for added convenience driving or walking. And for added convenience and safety, built-in Bluetooth® connectivity lets you make and take hands-free calls and texts. “Where Am I?” emergency locator provides your exact latitude and longitude coordinates, the nearest address and intersection, and the closest hospitals, police stations and more. And Enhanced Exit Services tells you what services you’re approaching on the highway. What's in the Box: nüvi 3590LMT Preloaded City Navigator® NT North America (U.S., Canada and Mexico) Lifetime maps and traffic (indicated by “LMT” after model number on the box) Digital 3D traffic receiver with vehicle power cable Quick release powered mount USB cable Quick start manual Model: GRM0092102
Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
6 of 11(55%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Garmin nuvi 3590LMT 5" Portable GPS
Review 1 for Garmin nuvi 3590LMT 5" Portable GPS
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Portland OR
Date:July 1, 2012

Not ready for prime time

Model Number: Garmin nuvi 3590LMT
"Purchased unit to replace a Nuvi 765T which had lost its blue tooth capability. New unit has terrible blue tooth reception. New glass screen face has wonderful clarity but unacceptable reflectivity. Was hoping the powered mount with built in speaker would produce more volume and clearer sounds but this is not the case. Purchased a Nuvi 2460LMT from Costco which works just fine. The 3590 is going back!"
10 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin nuvi 3590LMT 5" Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:July 7, 2012

Best of the best

Pros: great unit
Cons: none
Model Number: Garmin Nuvi 3590 LMT
"I have owned Garmin, Tomtom's, Magellans and others in the last 10 years. This GPS was rated Editors choice by several magazines and once you see the gorgeous screen and the excellent guidance you will see why. Wow, what a great unit. The traffic while not perfect is very good and fast. The maps are accurate, the screen is the best on any PND. Adding your own POI's is great and easy. The voice is loud and accurate. The GPS signal is acquired rapidly and it even works indoors. The 3d maps in the mountains and in downtown are great. The re-calculating is fast (within 5 seconds). What a joy to use. Once you take this unit for a test drive it will be hard to let it go. The Bluetooth works great with my iphone. Garmin lets you use your android phone to connect to some extra services via the Bluetooth."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin nuvi 3590LMT 5" Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San RAmon,CA
Date:July 8, 2012

Great gps

Pros: voice command, graphics, design, 30 sec traffic updates by navigon
Model Number: 3590 LMT
"Same unit as 3490 just 5" screen.Good graphics,amazing "voice command". Would not pay too much attention to one of the reviews regarding "bad" Bluetooth feature.First most new cars have built in BT,so many BT speakerphone and headsets on market.
I did not hove any "glare issues",just test it for yourself.It is worth trying it out.
"
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin nuvi 3590LMT 5" Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:July 27, 2012

Great Mobile GPS

Pros: love the size of screen., volumn is good on the voice directions
Cons: none
Model Number: nuvi 3590 LMT
"Traveled to Gatlinburg TN this past weekend. The GPS found every place that was keyed in by address or name of business. The voice command could use some help. Maybe it does not understand Alabama southern lingo. One must choose the voice command activation phrase carefully, as it activates easily when talking to other people in the vehicle. The default phrase "voice command" seems to work very well without any changes. I checked for updates when I received the unit, and the unit was up to date. No updates were required. Overall the unit works great."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin nuvi 3590LMT 5" Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:October 14, 2012

Best GPS I've Ever Owned

Pros: puts you on the spot as to where you're
Model Number: Garmin nuvi 3590LMT 5"
"I've owned 3 GPS units and of the 3 this one is outstanding"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin nuvi 3590LMT 5" Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington state
Date:March 14, 2013

I Love it

"This is a great product. Garmin is the best. It gets the maps recalculated fast.
I love the 3D landmarks and terrain. The traffic feature is great also. I just can't say enough about this product. Everything works wonderful.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin nuvi 3590LMT 5" Portable GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:July 26, 2013

Nice Try

Pros: guidance was great. traffic feature exceptional
Cons: died within 18 hours of 1st use
Model Number: 3595LMT
"After 5 years of great use, my Nuvi 780 was stolen from my car. While the theft was just wrong, I was excited to try the new upgraded Garmin GPS. I chose the top-of-the-line unit because Garmin always makes great stuff.
I got the unit on Monday, downloaed the upgrades and charged the unit Monday night and eagerly used it for the first time Tuesdy morning on the commute into work. The mapping and graphics were great. The voice activation was awsome.
Tuesday evening I was eager to use the traffic features. It would not turn on. It was dead. It was great when it worked. The software is exceptional. But the hardware died after the first use. It didn't even last 18 hours.
Costco's return policy is great. I dropped it off at the closest store for a full refund. Now, I'm struggling with the decision of whether to trust Garmin and try another unit? Very disappointed in the drop of quality from the great 5 year experience with the Nuvi 780 to the <18 hrs on the Nuvi 3595LMT."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin nuvi 3590LMT 5" Portable GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sonoma, CA
Date:August 26, 2013

GARMIN 3590 SCREEN GLARE SANK IT

Pros: a nice unit very pretty., the glass touchscreen works well scrolling., has a lot of nice features., voice command worked well.
Cons: cannot see the screen w polarized sunglasses, the glass screen itself is too reflective
Model Number: Garmin #3590
"I'm usually not usually a naysayer, but I didn't like the Garmin 3590. ... I couldn't SEE the screen. Kind of important. Driving during daylight hours with polarized clip on sunglasses made the screen dark blue. Plus, the glass screen, while nifty, reflects like a mirror, especially if the sun is shining right on you and your clothing (as in the morning). The matte "plastic" screen of most Garmins (the 2595 for example) does a MUCH better job. There was no comparison: the 2595 won, hands down. It's very similar to the 3590. I wanted to like the 3590, but it's not much use if you can't see the screen. (I had brightness to 100%.) I'm sure at night it's a different deal. There are few features on the 3590 that the 2595 doesn't have, but they are relatively minor: being able to put in the speed limit on an unmarked road). I did like the new Garmin program of the 3590 (R3 or something); it gives a different view, a bit longer view that was nice. For example, leaving my house/neighborhood, I could see the bigger picture of where I was headed, not nose to the grindstone. The 3590 has a green background (like grass and terrain); that was attractive and different, but in the end, so what? It wasn't faster, it didn't load quicker. Bottom line: I couldn't see the screen and in a side by side comparison (3590 vs 2595) I put the 3590 away and stopped using it. The speaker was not superior, no big deal. I have a mild hearing loss; I can hear the Garmin speakers OK, even in a convertible (with volume up). The Voice Command is really nice. It works well. But you can find it on other Garmins (2595). You can tell the Garmin to do and find stuff without having to fiddle with screens and screens. I think its safer to have this feature. I really planned to keep the 3590, but have no doubts about taking it back. Perhaps, if you don't drive with sunglasses, especially polarized glasses, it may work fine for you, but you still have to deal with the highly reflective glass screen. Take your smart phone out in the sunlight and try to see the screen (think Macbook or iPhones with the Glossy screen.)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin nuvi 3590LMT 5" Portable GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:green valley, az
Date:August 29, 2013

Very Disappointing

Pros: looked good on paper
Cons: bad quality control
Model Number: Garmin nuvi 3590 LMT
"The unit looked really good on paper, but it was sent with an auto charger that DID NOT FIT the unit. We had to return it to the local Costco for a refund. They were also amazed that the cable was not of use."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin nuvi 3590LMT 5" Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2013

Needs updates when purchased

Pros: nice size
Cons: none yet
Model Number: nuvi 3590LMT
"Still need to use it more, Maps, locations are out of date. Had store at a location that had moved 3 or 4 years ago. So I wonder why I need to get map/location updates on a "NEW" Garmin."
Review 11 for Garmin nuvi 3590LMT 5" Portable GPS
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Miami FL
Date:September 28, 2013

Can't search by postal code Model: nuvi 3590

""Can't search by postal code (Zip code)
Model Number: nuvi 3590
"Very hard to fine an address if you don't know the name of the city.
This makes the old models much better. Garmin took out the best feature they have
"