Customer Reviews for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill

This item is offered on costco.com with delivery service included in the price. The item may also be available at your local warehouse at a non-delivered price. The Vision Grills Kamado Classic replicates wood oven cooking and provides flexibility to sear, grill and smoke meats and vegetables as well as bake pizzas and bread. The Vision Grills Kamado will take your grilling experience to a new level delivering restaurant quality flavors and moisture. Experience the flavor of Kamado style charcoal cooking. The grill is constructed of high grade ceramic for precise temperature control, and delivers 596 square inches of cooking space with 2-tiered stainless steel flip grates. Includes 2-solid surface drop down shelves, stainless steel calibrated top vent, 4-wheeled cart with locking casters for mobility, and a heavy duty vinyl cover. The Vision Grills Kamado Classic Series is delivered fully assembled and only requires assembly of the stainless steel cart to begin enjoying the Kamado experience. Charcoal Ceramic Grill   Includes heavy duty vinyl cover   596 sq. in. cooking surface on 2-tier 304 stainless steel flip cooking grates   Thick ceramic construction creates a convection heat environment for even cooking and reduces charcoal usage   Thick ceramic wall construction reduces heat transfer and eliminates risk of burns from exterior   Dual lid lift assist springs   Heat Thermometer   Stainless Steel Top Vent   2-solid surface drop down urethaned pine shelves   Wheels with locking system   Superior construction   NSF listed   Dimensions: 47.25” H x 23.5” W x 27.5” D   Weight: 198 lbs Model: VGKSS-CC2
Average Customer Rating:
4.511 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
(out of 47 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
45 of 47(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Review 1 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:April 2, 2014

Great buy!

"All the benefits of a Green Egg at a mere fraction of the price. Grill on!!!!"
Review 2 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tehachapi,Ca
Date:April 1, 2014

Poor quality

Pros: noe
Cons: cheap quality
"Cheap Porcelain, creaks and chips to easy.Returned it same day and bought the Big Green Egg no comparison in quality."
Review 3 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:February 5, 2014

Outstanding Grill

Pros: grill/smoke/sear/wok/pizza oven all perfect
Cons: weighs a freaking ton
Model Number: Classic
"I was looking into a Kamado Grill for some time but they were all WAY too expensive. The usual suspects, BGE, Primo etc were all well over $1000.
I saw this at a Costco and honestly it looked every bit as good as the BGE I was looking at that cost $1100+. In fact after looking into it further it was actually BETTER than the BGE.
The Vision has better hinges, better nest and the ceramic is thicker.
So I see absolutely zero advantage to paying double for a BGE.
So I bought this one in March of 2012.
I paid I think it was $536.00
I prefer the model that Costco sells the "Classic" for one thing its cheaper and another is that I don't want some giant box in the front to slide an electric starter that I would never use.
I use a Weed Torch to light mine with which is WAY superior to any other method, takes approx 30 seconds to light, close lid and adjust vents. If you are going to smoke then open bottom to number 1 at most and top the same and it will come up and stay right at 225-250 degrees and stay right there for at least 12+ hours without having to touch it.
You are ready to smoke in under 2 minutes.
To roast/bake (350-375) open up both top and bottom all the way for about 2 minutes then shut them down to about 2-3 on bottom and 1-2 on top and it will level out and stay right there and you are ready to throw your chicken or whatever on the grill in 3-4 minutes.
To sear a steak, you Weed torch it for 30-45 seconds, close lid open up both top and bottom all the way and in 6-7 minutes. the time it takes you to go into the kitchen and get the steaks ready, if you are using good quality real hard wood lump charcoal you are ready to throw those steaks on a 800 degree flame in 6-8 minutes tops, so hot that you literally have to use long tongs and a glove. It takes that long for a dang Gas Grill to get up to temp properly.
I smoked the best Prime Rib I have ever eaten on this grill, was so tender that I literally did not have to use a knife.
I have smoked whole Pork Butts for 12 hours without having to touch the grill at all, just set it at 6am and walk away until its dinner time, the temp will stay within 5 degrees all day long.
Buy a Pizza/Lava stone so that you can have indirect heat.
Need to clean it out after each full fire box full of charcoal burns, which totally depends on what you are cooking.
To clean you have to take everything out and then lift up the little plate at the bottom which will have all the ashes on it and just toss the ashes. I use a small whisk and tiny dust pan made for tents to finish sweeping it clean. Put it back together and your good to go.
This grill is awesome.
By FAR the best Kamado Grill on the market especially for the price.
As far as Vision goes, the grill I bought the fire box which is a separate ceramic section that comes out which the charcoal sits in, it cracked the very first time I used it. So I emailed the company with a picture of the crack, explained that it happened on first use and the heat never went above 375.
Within 5 minutes I had a response from the CEO which stated they were sending a replacement firebox in the mail that day, which they in fact did.
Free of charge. So can't beat that for customer service.
I am still using the original cracked fire box today over 2 years later, the replacement is still in its shipping box waiting. but the original never got any worse and works just fine.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2013

Fantastic Grill! High Quality! Great Results!

Model Number: VGKSS-CC2
"I shopped around and looked at a number of grills (Big Green Egg etc.) and I kept circling back to this Vision model which is less than half the price of the BGE! I now have it for almost two months and use it every weekend and sometimes during the week. I have done a lot of smoking at low temperatures including chickens, turkey , ribs and brisket and it has been terrific! I have also grilled at high temperatures for fish and steaks and again, Fantastic. The grill is constructed of very high quality materials. It is easy to adjust the temperatures for whatever type of use you need and the food tastes unbelievable. Some reviews state that it was hard to put together, but I found it to be very easily assembled. I used it an hour after I put it together! I highly recommend this grill and hope you enjoy it as much as I have! This weekend we are smoking 10 pounds of ribs and a brisket for our Holiday get together with friends!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pompano Beach Fl
Date:October 16, 2013

best barbecue ever

"make food taste great. all food moist and tender also smoked fish and made great fish dip"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:October 3, 2013

Smoke 'em if you got 'em

"Hands down, this grill has been fantastic. I usually don't leave reviews, but I feel like the company built a solid product that two years later keeps me excited to use, and recommending to others."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winston Salem, NC
Date:August 16, 2013

Say goodbye to all your fancy stainless toys

Pros: uses surprisingly little fuel
Cons: sucker is heavy invite some friends over for a, beer and "surprise" them by allowing them to, assist you in getting it in.
"I was curious about these grills as I have spent MANY dollars on the big fancy stainless toys. This one just completely blows them out of the game.... I understand that this "technology" is 2 or 3000 years old. They definitely got the kinks worked out. It's by far the best grill I have ever had. Bar none. The food is incredible to say the least...."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2013

NOW, I'M A BELIEVER

Pros: quality price flavor
Cons: none
"I HAVE A WEBER SUMMIT GAS GRILL AND WAS THE ENVY OF THE NEIGHBORHOOD. BOY-O-BOY EVERYONE LOVED MY WEBER. LET ME TELL YOU, THIS GRILL GIVES ME FLAVORS THAT THE WEBER JUST CANNOT DO. I DON'T GRILL ON THE GAS GRILL NEARLY AS MUCH ANY MORE. THIS GRILL IS A DIFFERENT EXPERIENCE ALTOGETHER."
Review 9 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:August 4, 2013

Wish Costco sold 'C' series instead of 'B' series

Pros: solid build, quality materials, nice fit and finish, excellent packaging, easy assembly and set up
Cons: no ash tray, no opening to insert electric charcoal starter, no diffuser plate
Model Number: VGKSS-CC2
"Just as the other reviewers said, this product makes fantastic BBQ's. The smoke flavor and the quality of the finished product are incredible. It is unfortunate however, that Costco chose to sell the entry level model 'B' instead of the much nicer model 'C'. Model 'C' features an ash tray and an opening for an electric charcoal starter, both located on the front. This makes cleanup and starting a lot easier and I wish they had offered that. The unit also does not come with a heat diffuser plate - a necessity for indirect cooking- so I had to find a place to order it. Other than that, I am very happy with my Vision Classic and I would highly recommend it, especially to those used to grilling on a gas grill. Once you try the Vision, you will never go back!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2013

Buy this one, not the big green egg

Pros: versatility, less expensive than bge but with all the features
Cons: it's heavy. have a friend help you assemble.
"Very versatile grill. Have smoked chickens, ribs and whole fish. Forget getting a tuscan oven...you can bake pizzas with this grill."
Review 11 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:July 28, 2013

Incredible grill - even better price.

Pros: can't beat the price accurate temp holds heat.
Cons: not quite perfect fit and finish
Model Number: Vision Grills Classic Kamado B
"I just bought mine at my local Costco and it was on clearance Costco style - paid just $400. new in box.
My first brisket is almost ready to pull - can't wait.
Very accurate thermometer, did a 3 way comparison: Grill Termometer, Maverick Remote & Therma Pen within one degree of each other at @ 200F
That all for know - I want to eat my brisket:)"
Review 12 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:July 26, 2013

Awesome grill/smoker

Pros: extremely efficient, makes great bbq, accurate temps., easy control with just a little practice
Cons: had to seal the bottom vent with a bit of high tem
Model Number: VGKSS-CC2
"This thing lives up tp the htype from the reviews. I love it. It handles low and slow for the best pulled pork ever to high heat for pizzas. Grills amazingly juicy burgers and chicken breasts. Everything just tastes great out of this thing. Good customer service when you cantact them."
Review 13 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bangor, ME
Date:July 20, 2013

Best grill ever.

Pros: way cheaper than bge with none of the cons
Cons: that i don't have 2 more.
Model Number: Classic
"I saw this item at costco last year. It has always been my dream to have a kamado. My wife and I were moving from the northwest to new england (where there is a severe lack of costcos unfortunately) and didn't buy it since we would have to add "one more thing" to the load. Anyhow after we were settled in, we had Costco.com ship us one. Unfortunately the first one showed up with a shattered dome. True to form, Costco shipped a new one, no questions asked, and arranged for the broken one to be picked up. I have been cooking on this for a year now, and absolutely love it. You can't go wrong with the quality, easy assembly and short learning curve of cooking with wood!"
Review 14 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toledo, Ohio
Date:June 30, 2013

Best Kamado For the Money - Hands down !

Pros: customer service, construction quality, value
Cons: none
Model Number: Vision Grill Classic
"Before venturing in to the world of Kamado cooking, I researched all of the big brands. After grilling with this VG for about 10 months, I find it hard to believe any of the other brands could do a better job. Once you learn to control the temperature, pizza's, ribs, pork shoulders etc. all come out beautifully. I even prepared our family's Thanksgiving turkey in the Classic - best we've ever had ! Also, Vision Grills customer service is second to none. Unless you're really into the color green, I highly recommend this grill - half the price with all the features you'll ever need."
Review 15 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Monica, CA
Date:June 21, 2013

Very good grill, definitely worth it

Pros: large cooking area; easy to add wood
Cons: is good but not excellent at regulating temps
"I bought a Big Green Egg at Costco last year when BGEs briefly appeared in Costco warehouses. Costco only had mediums available, which are a bit small if you do a lot of cooking, but I definitely wanted the ceramic cooker experience, so I bought it anyhow. Then, when preparing for a big cookout the next day, I was moving the BGE, it fell, and shattered into many pieces. Had to buy this one at the last minute, and it has worked out tremendously. Much larger cooking area than the BGE, and the ribs, chicken, and turkey I've been smoking have been sensational. If you largely use it for smoking, it's probably easier with this grill to add chunks of wood than the BGE. The only reason I give it four stars is that it doesn't quite regulate the temperature as well as the BGE which did an amazing job of that. Still, this grill is very well made, and definitely worth the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Duluth, GA
Date:June 13, 2013

Excellent smoker, reasonable price

"Bought classic B-series at local COSTCO. The smoker is heavy, and I think it's thicker than Big Green Egg. It comes with a rack with four wheels, two of which are lockable, two grates, two drop-down shelves. You have to pay extra, like $500 more, for all the accessories if you buy a Big Green Egg. It's easy to control temperature. I have smoked ribs, grilled chicken legs and bratwursts so far, and it takes my cooking to a whole new level."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Figure 8 Island, NC
Date:June 11, 2013

Easy to assemble

Pros: takes up less room than my gas grill on my deck.
Cons: none
Model Number: Classic B
"I read some of the reviews before purchasing this grill. A concern was about difficulty of assembling the grill. I had it put together in 1/3 the time that I expected and am still wondering what kind of problems others might have had. All the hardware was there, including tools, all the holes aligned perfectly. One of the easiest chores that I have had. If there is a negative it's about the weight. I had to get a couple of guys to help me get it up on my deck but it is there to stay."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Columbia MD
Date:June 2, 2013

Excellent Grill

Pros: it compares favorable with any ceramic grill, it is a quality product
Cons: don't have any
"I have owned all types of grills and was somewhat satisfied with the features of most of them. I became interested in the Big Green Egg but I wasn't willing to spend what it takes to own one. I noticed the vision grill in Costco and after a lot of research, I decided to make a purchase. I have been using the grill extensively for more than 6 months and I can say that this is the best grill that I have ever owned. It is a quality product that is built to last. The grill is heavy but I was able to assemble it alone. I am considered by everyone that has eaten BBQ at my home to be a expert but the Vision grill took things up a notch. It is so much easier to get quality food without a lot of effort and constant checking for flareups and excessive temperature. I expect to be using this grill for a very long time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pine Grove, PA
Date:May 28, 2013

Awesome Charcoal Grill

Pros: grills & smokes; easy to care for simple to use, simple grilling instructions for vent settings, minimal assembly required - parts fit perfect!
Cons: have not found any
Model Number: Vision Kamado Classic B Series
"Never knew such a grill existed prior to seeing this at our local Costco. I was in search of a traditional charcoal grill. Seeing the Vision Kamado Grill was a little intimidating at first...but specifications, customer reviews, and Costco's awesome customer service prompted me to purchase. The cooking quality is unmatched by any traditional style grill. You have to experience the superior taste of food grilled to perfection. The meat is so moist and flavorful. Everyone at my house agrees - once you taste a meal prepared in the Vision Kamado Grill....you will never own another grill!"
Review 20 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sierra Foothills California
Date:May 28, 2013

A Good (but not great) Egg

Pros: many
Cons: just a few
Model Number: VGKSS-CC2
"I have been using this grill for about a year now and I BBQ and slow cook a lot. I have cooked on standard wood burning grills, side mounted fire box smokers, high end Gas Grills and pretty near everything else you can cook with outdoors. For ease of use and quality of the food, this is one good cooker.
There are a couple things I want to mention about the assembly process:
Heed the warnings about this being a heavy grill. Have two people available for lifting or make some other arrangements. I happen to have a scissor lift and a chain hoist in my garage which takes care of those issues.
Be patient with the base. Some of the bolt holes in mine did not align well. After loosening and tightening a few times I got it all together nice and straight and level. I did find that the cradle elements were about .5 inches too far apart to hold the egg as snugly as I would have liked. This was rectified by Vision sending me four pieces of felt to take up the space. I think it is important to fix this if the problem exists because the grill tended to rock in its cradle until the spaces were filled. Basically it seemed a bit tippy. Once it was all together and that problem was fixed, I would give the build quality a solid B.
Time to cook:
This thing is a pleasure to cook on. I use mesquite charcoal chunks for the most part or seasoned Madrone firewood when I want to go real hot. I start the fire going with a big hand held propane torch connected to a five gallon propane tank. This works fantastic but is probably not recommended by the manufacturer. You don’t need to get the chunks going real hot. Just get them burning a bit. Close the lid and open up the vents. When the temp reaches where you want to be, start shutting down the vents until it stabilizes. After a few uses you will learn where to set them and it gets real easy.
I cook whole chickens at around 300 F for three hours and ribs for four to five hours at about 275. Pork shoulder goes about 250 F for hours on end. Basically cook it until it falls apart. Unfortunately my wife no longer allows me to make pulled pork or ribs unless I am having a bunch of people over and I have to send all the leftovers away with the guests. I was gaining some weight with my experiments.
Easy chickens:
Get a two pack of Foster Farms whole chickens from Costco. Cut the backbones right out of the birds. Wash them and pat dry. Lay them out on a big cookie sheet. Take an injector (big hypodermic) and shoot Sweet Baby Ray’s (Costco) under the skin of the entire chicken. I like it hot so I add some Mexican hot sauce to the SBR. Spread them out cavity side down on the grill. Close it up and go take a nap for about 2.5 hours. If you want the skin side charred a little, flip the birds and cook at a higher temp for about 25 minutes. This chicken is tangy and juicy and just great.
Problems I have experienced are few. The felt seals cannot take extreme heat for very long. They are replaceable from Vision for about $15.00 plus shipping. My upper vent has to be heated before it will open now because of the built up grease, and one of the welds that fastens the tab handle to the vent is broken. Vision wants $35.00 plus shipping to replace the vent. That makes fifty dollars in parts plus twenty dollars shipping for what really are maintenance items for one year of cooking. That’s a bit steep in my opinion.
I am going to braze the tab myself then boil the grease out of the vent to try and salvage it. I replaced the felt seals with some material I got at a fireplace store. I hope it lasts batter. Vision should consider changing the upper vent design so it can be disassembled for cleaning and look for a serious insulating seal that can take extreme temperatures.
Bottom line is that I am pretty satisfied with this unit. Build quality could be better but is not bad. Customer service is OK.
Most importantly this cooker makes really great food. In my opinion it is a pretty good value"
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>