Customer Reviews for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill

This item is offered on costco.com with delivery service included in the price. The item may also be available at your local warehouse at a non-delivered price. The Vision Grills Kamado Classic replicates wood oven cooking and provides flexibility to sear, grill and smoke meats and vegetables as well as bake pizzas and bread. The Vision Grills Kamado will take your grilling experience to a new level delivering restaurant quality flavors and moisture. Experience the flavor of Kamado style charcoal cooking. The grill is constructed of high grade ceramic for precise temperature control, and delivers 596 square inches of cooking space with 2-tiered stainless steel flip grates. Includes 2-solid surface drop down shelves, stainless steel calibrated top vent, 4-wheeled cart with locking casters for mobility, and a heavy duty vinyl cover. The Vision Grills Kamado Classic Series is delivered fully assembled and only requires assembly of the stainless steel cart to begin enjoying the Kamado experience. Charcoal Ceramic Grill   Includes heavy duty vinyl cover   596 sq. in. cooking surface on 2-tier 304 stainless steel flip cooking grates   Thick ceramic construction creates a convection heat environment for even cooking and reduces charcoal usage   Thick ceramic wall construction reduces heat transfer and eliminates risk of burns from exterior   Dual lid lift assist springs   Heat Thermometer   Stainless Steel Top Vent   2-solid surface drop down urethaned pine shelves   Wheels with locking system   Superior construction   NSF listed   Dimensions: 47.25” H x 23.5” W x 27.5” D   Weight: 198 lbs Model: VGKSS-CC2
Average Customer Rating:
4.511 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
(out of 47 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
45 of 47(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Review 1 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2013

Fantastic Grill! High Quality! Great Results!

Model Number: VGKSS-CC2
"I shopped around and looked at a number of grills (Big Green Egg etc.) and I kept circling back to this Vision model which is less than half the price of the BGE! I now have it for almost two months and use it every weekend and sometimes during the week. I have done a lot of smoking at low temperatures including chickens, turkey , ribs and brisket and it has been terrific! I have also grilled at high temperatures for fish and steaks and again, Fantastic. The grill is constructed of very high quality materials. It is easy to adjust the temperatures for whatever type of use you need and the food tastes unbelievable. Some reviews state that it was hard to put together, but I found it to be very easily assembled. I used it an hour after I put it together! I highly recommend this grill and hope you enjoy it as much as I have! This weekend we are smoking 10 pounds of ribs and a brisket for our Holiday get together with friends!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Garland, tx
Date:July 6, 2012

Great Grill

Pros: quality, price, looks, great support from vision
Cons: gasket
"Great grill and you can't beat the price, especially if you can get it in store and save the shipping costs(which are included in price here online). The quality of the grill and the extras that come with this are great. One of the reviewers above state that the grill wasnt flush with the stand,i think he meant on the sides there is some wiggle and that is by design. The ceramic can expand with heat thus why there has to be some space to prevent cracking. He also mentioned that it seems like it might tip over when you open it which is true but the weight of the grill makes this nearly impossible. I would have given this a 5 if it wasnt for the gasket that can burn off if you do really high heat cooks 700+ as i did when i was making some pizzas. This is also a problem with other kamado grills. There is an aftermarket gasket you can find online that is worth the price if you are going to do any high heat cooks. I did e-mail vision and they sent out a replacement right away, no questions asked. Their support is top notch ."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:February 5, 2014

Outstanding Grill

Pros: grill/smoke/sear/wok/pizza oven all perfect
Cons: weighs a freaking ton
Model Number: Classic
"I was looking into a Kamado Grill for some time but they were all WAY too expensive. The usual suspects, BGE, Primo etc were all well over $1000.
I saw this at a Costco and honestly it looked every bit as good as the BGE I was looking at that cost $1100+. In fact after looking into it further it was actually BETTER than the BGE.
The Vision has better hinges, better nest and the ceramic is thicker.
So I see absolutely zero advantage to paying double for a BGE.
So I bought this one in March of 2012.
I paid I think it was $536.00
I prefer the model that Costco sells the "Classic" for one thing its cheaper and another is that I don't want some giant box in the front to slide an electric starter that I would never use.
I use a Weed Torch to light mine with which is WAY superior to any other method, takes approx 30 seconds to light, close lid and adjust vents. If you are going to smoke then open bottom to number 1 at most and top the same and it will come up and stay right at 225-250 degrees and stay right there for at least 12+ hours without having to touch it.
You are ready to smoke in under 2 minutes.
To roast/bake (350-375) open up both top and bottom all the way for about 2 minutes then shut them down to about 2-3 on bottom and 1-2 on top and it will level out and stay right there and you are ready to throw your chicken or whatever on the grill in 3-4 minutes.
To sear a steak, you Weed torch it for 30-45 seconds, close lid open up both top and bottom all the way and in 6-7 minutes. the time it takes you to go into the kitchen and get the steaks ready, if you are using good quality real hard wood lump charcoal you are ready to throw those steaks on a 800 degree flame in 6-8 minutes tops, so hot that you literally have to use long tongs and a glove. It takes that long for a dang Gas Grill to get up to temp properly.
I smoked the best Prime Rib I have ever eaten on this grill, was so tender that I literally did not have to use a knife.
I have smoked whole Pork Butts for 12 hours without having to touch the grill at all, just set it at 6am and walk away until its dinner time, the temp will stay within 5 degrees all day long.
Buy a Pizza/Lava stone so that you can have indirect heat.
Need to clean it out after each full fire box full of charcoal burns, which totally depends on what you are cooking.
To clean you have to take everything out and then lift up the little plate at the bottom which will have all the ashes on it and just toss the ashes. I use a small whisk and tiny dust pan made for tents to finish sweeping it clean. Put it back together and your good to go.
This grill is awesome.
By FAR the best Kamado Grill on the market especially for the price.
As far as Vision goes, the grill I bought the fire box which is a separate ceramic section that comes out which the charcoal sits in, it cracked the very first time I used it. So I emailed the company with a picture of the crack, explained that it happened on first use and the heat never went above 375.
Within 5 minutes I had a response from the CEO which stated they were sending a replacement firebox in the mail that day, which they in fact did.
Free of charge. So can't beat that for customer service.
I am still using the original cracked fire box today over 2 years later, the replacement is still in its shipping box waiting. but the original never got any worse and works just fine.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:April 2, 2014

Great buy!

"All the benefits of a Green Egg at a mere fraction of the price. Grill on!!!!"
Review 5 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tehachapi,Ca
Date:April 1, 2014

Poor quality

Pros: noe
Cons: cheap quality
"Cheap Porcelain, creaks and chips to easy.Returned it same day and bought the Big Green Egg no comparison in quality."
Review 6 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maple Grove, MN
Date:March 18, 2013

Goodbye gas grill

Pros: fantastic flavor of cooked foods, excellent temperature control
Cons: easy to overeat due to delicious tasting food
Model Number: As pictured
"Buy this grill! Two summers ago I purchased a new JennAir gas grill (from CostCo), as I had no desire to mess with a charcoal grill and I have owned gas grills for decades. Last summer, I purchased the Vision Grill (from CostCo) primarily because I wanted a decent smoker, and it could also be used as a charcoal grill if needed.
The short of it - I haven't touched my JennAir since (except to move it off the deck and onto the patio, where it is out of the way).
The flavor of EVERYTHING is just better and the food is juicier. I have cooked all kinds of beef and pork cuts, chicken, turkey, pizzas (you won't use an oven again), vegetables, etc...It has all been delicious - including a paella I made using it as well.
You can sear or cook low and slow (all day slow if you want). Temperature control is simple and very manageable. I bought the BGE platesetter and it works perfectly with the Vision Grill. You will want one so just get it as soon as you buy the grill.
Lump coal charcoal and smoking woods are readily available and affordable. You may never eat at a BBQ joint again when you can have this at home. Even my very picky eating wife (who questioned the purchase originally) is crazy about it.
DO NOT USE REGULAR CHARCOAL BRIQUETTES in this grill."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Date:June 27, 2012

Green with Envy

Pros: quality construction, easy set-up, accesories inlcuded, temp control, food food food
Cons: never heard of vision
"A grand for a stripped down Green Egg was too rich for a Grill. Then the Vision showed up at Costco. Very well equipped, great quality and the temperature management is excellent. Was able to get rid of my smoker and my charcoal grill, so now more room on deck. Smoking is easy because the unit holds low temperatures for up to 8 hours without adding more coal. Also great for grilling as you can push the temp up to 700 degrees. Lighting and re-use of unused charcoal is very easy. The family had a great time cooking pizza on it last week. I only worry about the warranty as this is a no-name brand,hence the 4 stars. But I trust Costco and am very happy so far."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Piedmont, NC
Date:July 31, 2012

So far very good

Pros: gets up to temp. quickly and holds it steady., finally have something that keeps high temp.
Cons: can't think of any right now
Model Number: VGKSS-CC2
"item arrived as expected. Very well packaged.
The set up was done relatively easy but it is very wise to be two to lift the grill on to the stand (the stand has industrial type roller coasters with two wheels lockable)'
Recently set this up and have now used it twice. First thing we tried was simple hamburgers. We were very pleased with the juicy great "charcoal taste", it's certainly different to what we get on our gas grill.
I'm totally amazed how great it is to get the temperature to hold steady. First time I kept the temperature between 450 - 500 F. second time I cranked it up to around 600 F no problems. I made T-bone steaks and it worked out very well.
This thing is going to give me bundles of good food.
I do recommend an electrical starter and good 'Charcoal lumps. I just had the el. starter in there for less than 10 minutes and it was ready to go (after a little time for settling the temperature).
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Monica, CA
Date:June 21, 2013

Very good grill, definitely worth it

Pros: large cooking area; easy to add wood
Cons: is good but not excellent at regulating temps
"I bought a Big Green Egg at Costco last year when BGEs briefly appeared in Costco warehouses. Costco only had mediums available, which are a bit small if you do a lot of cooking, but I definitely wanted the ceramic cooker experience, so I bought it anyhow. Then, when preparing for a big cookout the next day, I was moving the BGE, it fell, and shattered into many pieces. Had to buy this one at the last minute, and it has worked out tremendously. Much larger cooking area than the BGE, and the ribs, chicken, and turkey I've been smoking have been sensational. If you largely use it for smoking, it's probably easier with this grill to add chunks of wood than the BGE. The only reason I give it four stars is that it doesn't quite regulate the temperature as well as the BGE which did an amazing job of that. Still, this grill is very well made, and definitely worth the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:September 29, 2012

Great smoker

Pros: great for smoking, nice grids with two levels, temp gauge accurate
Cons: felt came loose after six months, wheel holders and legs began to corrode
Model Number: Classic
"Works great as smoker since it holds temp for hours. Typically I heat up to 350, then shut down vents to quarter inch opening. Holds temp around 180 to 200 for 6 plus hours, open up vents if u want hotter. Place meat on second rack with water pan under meat to keep moist and catch drippings.
I looked at metal smokers but found from others you had to babysit them to keep temp right. This you can set and forget--just come back 6 hours later to perfectly smoked meat.
I still use infrared gas grill for grilling steaks, hot dogs, and things I want cooked fast. This grill will do those things but take 3 times longer.
The wheels and part of legs have begun to corrode after a year. This unit is covered but bottom six inches is not so it is exposed to elements. Also unit is about 15 feet from salt water pool-- so it may been exposéd to salt. I would suggest putting some sealant/polish to protect wheels and legs since they are not stainless steel. Do this after assembly of cart but before you put in ceramic grill so you can get to all parts easily and not get sealant on grill.
Note the cover that comes with this unit wears in about a year and will stick to parts of grill in texas100 degree heat. Also it has metal clips to hook to legs which make it challenging to put on and take off. I replaced cover with xl large green egg grill cover which was perfect this summer and much better made.
This product is superior to green egg in that it gives more value for money on the shock absorber, better quality hardware, better stand, and shelves. Looks nicer as well."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:April 15, 2013

Great For The Price!

Pros: easy to control temps, great customer service from visions, looks great, value
Cons: none
Model Number: VGKSS-CC2
"This Visions Kamado VGKSS-CC2 is well worth the price. I've done several low and slow cooks for 9+ hours and haven't needed to add any additional charcoal or spend much time tending the grill. It's easy to master a controlled temp after a few uses. Visions customer services has been super. My grill came with a few minor chips and they sent out a repair kit the next day. The thermometer. while usable, had condensation trapped in the glass and again customer service took care of the issue within a couple of days. Just buy this...it's less than 1/2 the price of the name brand one that you are thinking of and does the same thing. It also looks nicer!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sierra Foothills California
Date:May 28, 2013

A Good (but not great) Egg

Pros: many
Cons: just a few
Model Number: VGKSS-CC2
"I have been using this grill for about a year now and I BBQ and slow cook a lot. I have cooked on standard wood burning grills, side mounted fire box smokers, high end Gas Grills and pretty near everything else you can cook with outdoors. For ease of use and quality of the food, this is one good cooker.
There are a couple things I want to mention about the assembly process:
Heed the warnings about this being a heavy grill. Have two people available for lifting or make some other arrangements. I happen to have a scissor lift and a chain hoist in my garage which takes care of those issues.
Be patient with the base. Some of the bolt holes in mine did not align well. After loosening and tightening a few times I got it all together nice and straight and level. I did find that the cradle elements were about .5 inches too far apart to hold the egg as snugly as I would have liked. This was rectified by Vision sending me four pieces of felt to take up the space. I think it is important to fix this if the problem exists because the grill tended to rock in its cradle until the spaces were filled. Basically it seemed a bit tippy. Once it was all together and that problem was fixed, I would give the build quality a solid B.
Time to cook:
This thing is a pleasure to cook on. I use mesquite charcoal chunks for the most part or seasoned Madrone firewood when I want to go real hot. I start the fire going with a big hand held propane torch connected to a five gallon propane tank. This works fantastic but is probably not recommended by the manufacturer. You don’t need to get the chunks going real hot. Just get them burning a bit. Close the lid and open up the vents. When the temp reaches where you want to be, start shutting down the vents until it stabilizes. After a few uses you will learn where to set them and it gets real easy.
I cook whole chickens at around 300 F for three hours and ribs for four to five hours at about 275. Pork shoulder goes about 250 F for hours on end. Basically cook it until it falls apart. Unfortunately my wife no longer allows me to make pulled pork or ribs unless I am having a bunch of people over and I have to send all the leftovers away with the guests. I was gaining some weight with my experiments.
Easy chickens:
Get a two pack of Foster Farms whole chickens from Costco. Cut the backbones right out of the birds. Wash them and pat dry. Lay them out on a big cookie sheet. Take an injector (big hypodermic) and shoot Sweet Baby Ray’s (Costco) under the skin of the entire chicken. I like it hot so I add some Mexican hot sauce to the SBR. Spread them out cavity side down on the grill. Close it up and go take a nap for about 2.5 hours. If you want the skin side charred a little, flip the birds and cook at a higher temp for about 25 minutes. This chicken is tangy and juicy and just great.
Problems I have experienced are few. The felt seals cannot take extreme heat for very long. They are replaceable from Vision for about $15.00 plus shipping. My upper vent has to be heated before it will open now because of the built up grease, and one of the welds that fastens the tab handle to the vent is broken. Vision wants $35.00 plus shipping to replace the vent. That makes fifty dollars in parts plus twenty dollars shipping for what really are maintenance items for one year of cooking. That’s a bit steep in my opinion.
I am going to braze the tab myself then boil the grease out of the vent to try and salvage it. I replaced the felt seals with some material I got at a fireplace store. I hope it lasts batter. Vision should consider changing the upper vent design so it can be disassembled for cleaning and look for a serious insulating seal that can take extreme temperatures.
Bottom line is that I am pretty satisfied with this unit. Build quality could be better but is not bad. Customer service is OK.
Most importantly this cooker makes really great food. In my opinion it is a pretty good value"
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:January 29, 2013

Just buy it

Pros: value component quality customer service
Cons: not a huge fan of the design of the double grill.
"Since there are multiple reviews extolling the virtues of the Kamado cooker aka. Big Green Egg (BGE) I'll focus my comments on the manufacturer and product. Had looked at BGE previously but could never get over the high cost and pull the trigger on one. Strolling through my local Costco when what do my wandering eyes behold but the Vision Kamado cooker. All the BGE goodness but without the high price. Consulted my brother - who owns 2 BGEs - and in his words...just buy it. With Costco backing it up, how could I go wrong? As others have mentioned, make sure you have assistance for setup because this thing is a beast...but that's as it should be since the ceramics and design are the key to this BBQ baby's versatility and goodness. I was very pleased with the included sideboards and stand (nest as Eggheads call it) both of which are additional cost for the BGE. Others have commented about the need for an indirect stone (platesetter) and cleaning rod. Yes, you'll need both but just as before, additional for the BGE too. I found the build quality to be comparable, if not superior to the BGE. I like the shock absorber on the lid as I know many have cracked ceramics from dropping the lid on a BGE.
Now for the Company. I noticed the included cover had a split seam. I emailed Vision on a Sunday. Lo and behold, they emailed me back on Sunday! I had a new cover, no charge, on Tuesday. Vision stands behind their product.
The only negative I can even find is I'm not a fan of the design of the double grill. Love the bottom grill with it's hinged section but the top grill needs to have supports on the outer edges of the grill to allow a pizza stone to be placed on the lower grill for indirect smoking. Change that design Vision and you may have made the perfect Kamado grill.
To sum it all up...Just buy it. You'll be glad you did."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Columbia MD
Date:June 2, 2013

Excellent Grill

Pros: it compares favorable with any ceramic grill, it is a quality product
Cons: don't have any
"I have owned all types of grills and was somewhat satisfied with the features of most of them. I became interested in the Big Green Egg but I wasn't willing to spend what it takes to own one. I noticed the vision grill in Costco and after a lot of research, I decided to make a purchase. I have been using the grill extensively for more than 6 months and I can say that this is the best grill that I have ever owned. It is a quality product that is built to last. The grill is heavy but I was able to assemble it alone. I am considered by everyone that has eaten BBQ at my home to be a expert but the Vision grill took things up a notch. It is so much easier to get quality food without a lot of effort and constant checking for flareups and excessive temperature. I expect to be using this grill for a very long time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:August 4, 2013

Wish Costco sold 'C' series instead of 'B' series

Pros: solid build, quality materials, nice fit and finish, excellent packaging, easy assembly and set up
Cons: no ash tray, no opening to insert electric charcoal starter, no diffuser plate
Model Number: VGKSS-CC2
"Just as the other reviewers said, this product makes fantastic BBQ's. The smoke flavor and the quality of the finished product are incredible. It is unfortunate however, that Costco chose to sell the entry level model 'B' instead of the much nicer model 'C'. Model 'C' features an ash tray and an opening for an electric charcoal starter, both located on the front. This makes cleanup and starting a lot easier and I wish they had offered that. The unit also does not come with a heat diffuser plate - a necessity for indirect cooking- so I had to find a place to order it. Other than that, I am very happy with my Vision Classic and I would highly recommend it, especially to those used to grilling on a gas grill. Once you try the Vision, you will never go back!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stillwater MN
Date:January 5, 2013

A Great Grill

Pros: holds temperature evenly., well built-solid construction., includes the nest and two grill racks., comes with some touch-up paint., great versatility in food (squash turkey etc), food tastes absolutely amazing., handle/lid spring are solid and well built, the wood shelves on sides are a definite plus, works like an amazing second oven
Cons: heavy., handles like a semi., putting the nest together can be a challenge, need to get an indirect lava stone
"In a moment of sheer weakness, my wife let me purchase this grill in August 2012. We had it delivered which adds to the cost, but since we live a ways from the nearest Costco it seemed worthwhile. The grill arrived as advertised.
I agree with the other reviewers regarding the assembly of the "nest" that holds the grill together. I would recommend getting the bolts all in place first and then tightening them once they are all lined up. Even doing this it was a little challenge getting the last bolt in place. But, it was do-able and I didn't need to drill any new holes.
Over time I've become a purist about grilling-hardwood charcoal or wood. I just prefer the way the food tastes when its cooked. This grill is wonderful for this. The double rack (you can use the top rack or take it off easily if you want) allows to grill/smoke a lot of food. I've grilled several turkeys (largest was 27#); chickens, squash, etc. I haven't had any corrosion of the stand, but I sprayed it with a clear coat and wheel the grill out of the garage when I want to use it and wheel it back when I'm done. Living in MN I don't expect much to survive outside for very long.
The biggest drawback is this thing is like driving a semi: there aren't going to be any quick changes. It takes longer to get to a high temperature and longer to cool it down if it gets too hot (the ceramics inside hold the heat very well). Also, this is a heavy grill (close to 200#). Finally, I wish Costco or Vision sold an accessory kit just for the grill (the lava stone for indirect heating which is sort of a necessity for the large turkeys/using both racks while indirect grilling; also include a metal rod/poker to move the hot coals; finally some good welding/grilling gloves).
The positives: It is very easy to use and the food is amazing. The pizzas are to die for. We've thrown on some of the chicken pot pies-amazing. I'll put a chicken and some carrots on the grill before leaving to go somewhere and by the time we get home the chicken and vegetables are perfect. I wouldn't try leaving any other grill unattended for that long. Overall, for the long grilling items this grill is amazing. We couldn't be happier. This is the no-foolin' I'm committed to grilling grill. As someone wrote on their blog about this grill:" Grill on you crazy diamond."
P.S.: With these types of grill only "hardwood chunk charcoal is recommended." The reason for this is that briquettes often have caking agents added that turn white when the briquette is lit so people can see that the briquette is actually lit. The caking agent creates a white dust which, if a lot are used, can cause the air vents to be blocked during that firing (its the fine, light, white ash). Hardwood charcoal makes less ash so while you are using it less ash is falling in into the firebox (the innermost ceramic portion that holds the charcoal). I stocked up on the charcoal briquettes (labelled competition) that Costco usually sells in the summer because they don't have the caking agents."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tallahassee, FL
Date:March 18, 2013

Very good, but not excellent

Pros: holds temp. infuses good flavor easy cleanup
Cons: top vent could be better dual cooking grates
Model Number: VGKSS-CC2
"This is a very good product, but there are a few areas that can be improved. I'll start at the top of the grill and work down. The top vent control (regulator) allows for precise adjustments, but after using the product about three times the regulator seized and could not be adjusted due to residue accumulation from smoke and grease. In order to cure the problem I had to remove the regulator, soak it in warm water, and soft scrub it. I suspect that this will be an ongoing issue given the design.
The next area of concern is the dual cooking rack. The rack expands the available cooking surface but the top rack can only be secured to the bottom rack when the bottom rack is not resting in the grill. Also, when using the top and bottom rack simultaneously, the clearance between the two racks is probably about 5 to 6 inches, so this makes for some tricky maneuvering when trying to reach items on the bottom rear rack. The top rack does fold in half however and this is a nice feature. I cleaned the smoker after about the third use and with my shop vac, and clean up was very easy.
Other than the items mentioned above, I love my grill. I have smoked a turkey, smoked ribs, cooked steak, grilled chicken and salmon; all to perfection. The flavor profile of all of the items was phenomenal!
If you plan on cooking low and slow, you must purchase the pizza stone (sold separately).
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Morgan Hill, CA
Date:July 1, 2012

Good, but with flaws

Pros: the price, the way it cooks
Cons: workmanship could be improved
"Once you get past setup, you will enjoy this product, and it is a fair price for a Komado-style grill/smoker. Be warned however, that setup was problematic. The cross connectors that connect the stand had sloppy welding, which prevented one of the legs from sitting flush. That prevented the screw holes from lining up. I corrected it by filing down the welds and it fit fine.
Once setup was complete, I placed the grill on the stand. Surprisingly it did not sit flush, but had some play. I wonder if this is be design. Either way, when you lift the lid, it feels like the unit will topple over, even though it won't. Just an observation.
Apart from that, it's a good entry price for a Komado style grill, if you can overcome the workmanship issues."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Duluth, GA
Date:June 13, 2013

Excellent smoker, reasonable price

"Bought classic B-series at local COSTCO. The smoker is heavy, and I think it's thicker than Big Green Egg. It comes with a rack with four wheels, two of which are lockable, two grates, two drop-down shelves. You have to pay extra, like $500 more, for all the accessories if you buy a Big Green Egg. It's easy to control temperature. I have smoked ribs, grilled chicken legs and bratwursts so far, and it takes my cooking to a whole new level."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vision Grills Classic Kamado Charcoal Grill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pompano Beach Fl
Date:October 16, 2013

best barbecue ever

"make food taste great. all food moist and tender also smoked fish and made great fish dip"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>