Customer Reviews for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum

Robotic vacuums are not to be used as a primary vacuum. They're meant as supplemental cleaning between regular vacuuming. Push a button, not a vacuum. Let Neato clean every inch of your floors, smartly seeing and avoiding furniture. It’s smart. The RPS, Room Positioning System, Neato’s laser-guided proprietary technology makes Neato as smart as – sometimes smarter than – a human housekeeper. It sees 360 degrees, maps out your room, and then methodically vacuums using its precise back-and-forth motion. It carefully cleans around furniture, obstacles and stairs. It’s powerful. Dust. Dirt. Pet hair. Bring it on. The high-performance vacuum inside your robot picks up all of your dirt, debris, and even tough pet hair and easily slides under sofas, tables, and beds. It works on all floor types -- carpet, rugs, hardwood, and tile. Just charge it up, press the Start button, and watch it work. Once it’s finished in one room, it will begin working in the next – or returns automatically to its base for recharging and then resumes cleaning where it left off. Schedule everyday cleaning with a few simple button presses and your house is always ready for guests, even when you’ve been out all day. Your Future Is Neat™ Added Value Accessories: 3 - replacement filters 6 - replacement brush blades 1 - replacement squeegee blade Includes: Neato XV-14 vacuum robot Charging base Power supply Boundary marker Filters – total of 4 User Guide Quick Start Card Features: Control Center: Simply program in your desired schedule.  It will clean daily, weekly or as often as you want. One-Button Operation: Just press the start button to begin or stop the cleaning process. Status Light: When the light is green it’s ready to go to work. If the light is amber, it may require additional charging or simple attention. Dirt Bin:  It’s easy to empty and clean. Home Charging Base: Store your robot at its base, so it will always be charged up and ready to clean. Boundary Markers: Keep your XV-14 cleaning only those areas you want it to clean. If you have lots of cables beneath your desk or a room you just don’t want the Neato XV-14 to clean, just put out the boundary markers, press start and the Neato will clean everywhere but those areas you designated as off-limits. Low profile allows cleaning under furniture. Always vacuums in straight lines. Cleans carefully around obstacles. Automatic doorway recognition assures that it completely cleans one room before moving on to the next. UL listed. Dimensions: 13” W x 12.5” L x 4” H Weight: 13 lbs. 1 year limited warranty. Designed in the USA, manufactured in China. For further product related questions, please contact Neato Robotics, Inc. Via email at customercare@neatorobotics.com Or call 1-877-296-3286 Model: XV-14
Average Customer Rating:
3.557 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
(out of 61 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
10
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
11
40 of 61(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Review 1 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 23, 2012

Neato - Lives Up To Its Name

Pros: strong suction, self navigates, super user friendly, good size dirt bin, easy to empty dirt bin, fits under beds and furniture, is cute...seriously cute, recharges itself after cleaning, resumes cleaning where it leftoff after recharging, excellent neato customer service
Cons: does not clean furniture or drapes, not recommended for vacuuming wet items
"Best decision I ever made was to buy the Neato vacuum...besides marrying my husband. I LOVE this vacuum! Anyone that is busy and often is doing 3 or 4 things at once...parents, I'm talking to you...need to have a Neato. The vacuum automatically knows where to go, navigates your house, around & under furniture, over carpets, tile, hardwood, rugs, and cleans everywhere never missing a spot. I've owned mine for 4 mos and it works great picking up cat fur, hair, dust, dirt, cereal, dried playdough, etc. It has awesome suction. The dirt bin is large enough and easy to clean. If Neato advertised on TV, they would sell millions of these. NEATO IS WAY BETTER than Romba (Romba just sweeps, Neato vacuums). I don't work for Neato or even know anyone that does, but Neato is one of the best little machines in my life. Buy it and see for yourself."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naples, FL
Date:May 24, 2012

Completely Unbelievable

Pros: works, cleans well, very smart, low maintenance
Cons: none
Model Number: XV-14
"I've been a gadget, IT guy for the past 20 years. This Neato Robot has to be the coolest, and best product I have ever bought. When I first bought it, I figured it would work just "ok" and we would still have to vacuum quite a bit. NO WAY! I have a 2800 SF home, and this robot works hard everyday of its electronic life. I am a very busy professional, and this little guy has given me more time to enjoy life. DO NOT hesitate to make the purchase. It is worth double the asking price. ENJOY!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Barrington, IL
Date:June 1, 2012

Awesome

Model Number: XV-14
"This is an incredible product. I am totally addicted to watching is do it's work. I am an engineer and can appreciate the amount of design and innovation that went into this product as it is very smart in how it navigates your home. It is now a member of the family - we call it BUZZ..... BUZZ is not afraid to clean in areas that our vacuum will not go - like under beds and in the back corners of the closet.... The only CON I can see is that it does not pick up consistently along walls and baseboards. Could hug the wall / baseboards a little closer. Possibly a software upgrade could address this in the future."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington DC
Date:June 5, 2012

Robotic is not a green product

Pros: good to use
Cons: wast a lot of energy by charging it all the time, battery broken down quickly
"I owned two Robotics in the past. One was broken down just over a year. The second one had battery problem, which need to be replaced in a year.
I was told that this Robotic Vacuum has to be charged 24 hours a day and 7 days a week without stopping. Because I only vacuum my floor once a week and it took 5 hours for the machine to complete the job, it doesn't make sense to charge it continuously everyday and minutes and everyday. In addition, how much energy the vacuum consums is not indicated by its manual. I assume that we have to spend a lot of money in energy bills for one day use of the vacuum. That is a wast of energy. I hope the company should participate in today's GREEN compagin to resign the vacuum machine to make it green, save energy for consumers and for the society.
"
2 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NE California
Date:June 5, 2012

Not a Rumba

Model Number: Neeto
"I have 3 Roomba's but was in need of an additional machine and decided to try this new one. Compared to the Rumba, it is VERY noisy, far less able to maneuver around and under chairs and other furniture and not as efficient, It's square front severely limits it's ability to access many areas. I will be returning it and ordering a Rumba."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:June 7, 2012

Neato XV-14

Pros: fast and low maintenance
Model Number: Neato XV-14
"After struggling for four years with several Roomba 550’s (not spelled 'Rumba') I am happy to report that this Neato XV-14 is far superior to my past Roomba 550's. The brush deck of the Roomba has a tendency to fail if animal hair gets into the gear box – and I have replaced six brush decks over the years.
Each time the Roomba 550 vacuumed it HAD to be cleaned - empty the bin, remove the side brush to remove animal hair, remove brush and beater from the brush deck and remove animal hair from the brush, the beater, the brush and beater ends as well as under brush bushings and every month or two, disassemble brush deck to remove animal hair from gear box.
The Neato just needs the bin dumped. I keep checking the beater bar and it’s just fine. Low maintenance is very appreciated.
As for doing the job of vacuuming: It's great. It really does a good job of mapping the room and vacuuming everywhere. No more incessant loud banging into the legs of my furniture. It's quite delicate, and quicker than the Roomba.
I have to admit that the Neato does NOT have a side brush, so there will be an occasional need to maintain the very edge of a room - score one for the Roomba. Overall, though, it truly is a set and forget vacuum.
We had to close off one bathroom to the Roomba as it occasionally would get stuck on the base of the toilet in this particular bathroom (it's a 1911 toilet that actually WORKS and, as such, has a odd base - 101 years old and still working perfectly). The Neato just does not run into anything as its sensors are far superior and never has issues with this toilet.
The Roomba also would get caught in a corner of our kitchen - between the refrigerator door and the range, we always moved a football sized rock (used as a door stop) into this corner to prevent the Roomba from getting stuck here. Again, the Neato has no issues in this area. No more moving a 30 pound rock every time we vacuum.
The Neato handles the short tassels of one 5’ x 8’ rug on our main level just fine. Upstairs we have a 8’ x 10’ Persian rug with 3" tassels and the Neato gets stuck on these tassels - we just fold them under and the Neato rides right over the rug edge. The Roomba did not have a problem with tassels.
I am 100% happy with this vacuum, especially the ease of maintenance.
Thank you Costco for offering the Neato XV-14 to your membership!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:June 20, 2012

Neato is well named

Pros: works well, scheduled cleaning
Cons: doesn't transition flooring well, gets lost on occasion
"I've had Neato for about a month now and truly love it. I don't know how I ever managed with vacuuming just once a week. It manages remarkably well around furniture, even between dining room chairs! My only mild complaint is that it doesn't do well transitioning from hardwoods up onto rugs. It seems to deposit a bit of hair/fuzz on the rug edge, and as the days go by this starts to build up. (however I do have 2 dogs who are shedding like mad currently) Mostly it drops little wads of fuzz on the edge, which are easily picked up. So occassionally I have to bust out the actual vacuum to touch up the edges. But altogether, its fantastic to come home to a freshly vacuumed house each day. And not just the house, but under furniture and in closets etc is such a treat! It does occasionally glitch out for no apparently reason and say its unable to navigate, but again, this is hardly a deal breaker, especially since I have it set to clean daily. I just put it back on its charger and let it try again the next day. The amount of dirt in the bin each day is shocking. It does have to be emptied each day, but only because its doing such a great job and picking up so much. As one reviewer mentioned, it does have to be on its charger at all times, if it loses its charge completely, it's clock will clear out, and will not clean on its schedule until you reset the clock. The minor complaints are the reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars. If you have one floor type, or not very thick rugs, I'd give this a 5 star rating. Overall, considering the amount of dog hair in my house, I think it does a fantastic job, and was worth every cent."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 21, 2012

Good so far

"I own a Roomba as well but was not happy with having to clean the brushes out after every run. Long hair will wrap around the brushes. I was looking for a vacuum that required less maintenance. This one is not perfect but it does seem to require less "hands on" cleaning than the Roomba. The cleaning algorithm is better than the Roomba as well which means you will end up with a cleaner floor most times. As mentioned, edges around the room won't be as clean as the Roomba. All in all, a nice addition to our cleaning tools."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:June 22, 2012

Good little vacuum

Pros: gets house clean
Cons: cost, a bit temperamental and sometimes gets stuck
Model Number: XV-14
"Unit was louder than I expected. At first I wasn't sold on this little guy and almost returned it, but I figured I'd give it a couple of weeks before making a rushed return. Glad I did because now I'm a believer. We recently replaced all our carpet with hardwood to help improve our interior air quality. We have a small dog who seems to like to bring the outside inside, so we have to sweep daily. Now I just set up the timer and have this gem do it for us! You will want to clean out the dust trap daily as it really picks up a lot of stuff throughout the day.
When starting, this guy maps out the entire room then proceeds to clean the perimeter before starting on it's back and forth pattern. It does one room at a time then moves on to the next available area. I'm amazed by it's accuracy in covering the entire 1st floor of the house (usually on one charge) and it is able to return to the charging base when done or if it needs juice.
It does not do well with small throw rugs. Keeps getting stuck as it pushes rather than goes over them. Our solution was to tape the rugs down with those floor skid pads. This seems to have done the trick and works more often than naught.
I like knowing the house will get clean whether we're home or not. Seems to be a sturdy little robot, but glad to have Costco back it in case we ever run into a problem as it's not inexpensive."
Review 10 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Royal Oak, MI
Date:June 22, 2012

Awesome for New Mom with 3 Dogs

Pros: fast, entertaining, good for lazy people
Cons: not as thorough in the corners, kind of loud (but not as loud as my dyson), needs to be emptied more often (problem for lazy)
"I have three little dogs that have their own doggy door, so in addition to getting fur all over our wood floors, they bring in lots of other "treats" - sticks and leaves that they shred to mulch in my living room. In our effort to keep our floors clean now that we have a new baby, we kept promising ourselves we would vacuum nightly. Yeah, never happened. So, we splurged and bought this thing and it rocks. Our floors look great. It doesn't replace real vacuuming, which you'll still want to do occasionally (mostly around edges, under furniture that's too low for the neato to get under, etc.)."
Review 11 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:June 25, 2012

Out performed all expectations

Pros: easy to use, clean floors, less dust in the air
Cons: you may have to raise your couch height.
Model Number: XV-14
"I've wanted one of these for a long while. I couldn't be happier with the performance and reliability of this machine. We have used it for over two weeks and it has performed flawlessly. We have all hardwood floors and it has cat hairballs and dust by at least 90%. Huge time saver.
Keep in mind that it trains you to not keep stuff on the floor that might cause the machine to get stuck (e.g. clothes)."
Review 12 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:June 27, 2012

Smart Vac. !!!

Pros: smart small and easy to use
Cons: loud and small dust container.
Model Number: XV-14
"I bought the Neato Robotics™ XV-14 3 weeks ago. it works great and smart as well.
we just set it and let it work, never miss a spot. if you want to enjoy this vacuum, you must read the entire manual, there is a lot to it than just normal cleaning.
"
Review 13 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Graham, WA
Date:June 27, 2012

Rosie the Robot

Model Number: Neato Robotics™ XV-14
"Very entertaining to watch her negotiate the legs of the dining table & chairs. She cleans under the beds and leaves unique vacuum marks in the carpets when she turns in a circle!
She can't finish the house on one charge, but she goes back, on her own, to the charging station after about an hour & a half, then goes back to where she left off and finishes the house in about 30-40 minutes. AWESOME!
Most of my 1500 sf home is linoleum or laminate floors, with area or throw rugs plus carpeting in the bedrooms. She has a problem sometimes with rugs that move or fold over when she's vacuuming, or slanted legs she can get on top of and get stuck. She got stuck on the legs of my George Foreman Grill and a large fan and went to sleep. I had to move them. Secure your cords and cables.
Watch yours for the first few times to see if there are areas where it might get hung up. It will ask you to clear it's path & empty it's dust bin. Mine has SERIOUSLY reduced the dust accumulation on furniture and helped with my allergies! One of the better choices I've ever made!"
Review 14 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 27, 2012

Wonderful!

Model Number: The Neato robot XV-14
"my only regret? I did not purchase this earlier.....I LOVE this robot!"
Review 15 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:July 6, 2012

Will Change Your Life!

Pros: ability to get around chairs, floors are clean, as fun for the kids as a new pet
Cons: noisy
Model Number: XV-14
"I violated the first law of anniversary gifts -- never buy your wife a gift that requires a plug or battery -- when I ordered this automatic vacuum. Eyebrows were raised, and we both were highly skeptical that it would work.
When Neato took off after his (the kids have decided he's a boy) first charge, I couldn't believe that I was watching a robot what was designed well enough to navigate around chairs, rugs, shoes, etc., across hardwood and carpet, that could avoid staircases, and also actually clean the floor. Skip hiring a maid, this vacuum works as well as anything a human can do (except for super tight spaces and staircases).
We used to vacuum once every week or two, usually when the crumbs from kids crunched under my feet. Now we put Neato to work as we walk out the door for an errand, and when we come back the floors are done. The battery lasts roughly for three large rooms. Neato's biggest fan is now my wife, who may be turning into a habitual vacuumer - she now runs him every two to three days.
If you have kids or pets and would like to feel like your life is just a little bit civilized, Neato is the closest thing in real life I have met to Harry Potter's House Elf."
Review 16 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kailua-kona, Hawaii
Date:July 13, 2012

Whatta Great Discovery!! (So long, dog hair!)

Pros: solid appliance
Cons: a bit expensive...but cheaper than a housekeeper!
Model Number: XV-14
"I did not know that this product existed before i saw it here on the Costco website!
I had originally planned to buy a Roomba to deal with the constant shedding from my dog. Right after I vacuumed the hair began to collect and vacuuming every other day was necessary. If I didn't vacuum for three days it was gross. If I got busy and didn't vacuum for 4 days or more it was disgusting and I hoped no one would stop by unexpectedly. My house is now vacuumed daily without fail and the difference is amazing.
My Neato is scheduled to begin vacuuming the house an hour before I get home. I did expect it to pick up the dog hair but I honestly did not expect it to do such a great job on dust and any other particles that blew in through the windows. It is a true vacuum with great suction. The dust container is full of dog hair daily and any fine dust that has blown in. The result is that my house is cleaner in general - not just the floors - as all of the gunk is vacuumed up daily. It's really nice to come home, see shiny floors and not have anything stick to my bare feet!
The construction of the Neato is excellent...it's a solid appliance. The beater bar never clogs with hair but it will stop itself in its tracks and signal you to unclog its' brush if if something (in my case usually a sock or the cord from my bathrobe) wraps around the beater bar. Pull it out and it resumes cleaning from that spot.
It doesn't randomly sweep around the room...it vacuums in very methodical patterns, around the legs of tables and chairs, under the sofa, around the waste basket and then back and forth around the center of the room in slightly overlapping rows so it doesn't miss a spot.
It goes from my hardwood floors onto area rugs (with high pile!) and vacuums those as well. If it can't get onto the rug, it backs up and hits it from another angle to jump up onto to it. Really great software programing to do that!
It's noisy like a vacuum accompanied by a flapping noise and the sound of the wheels. The flapping noise comes from the beater bar which has 4 or 5 thin silicone flaps (they resemble very thin windshield wiper blades) instead of brushes. I suppose these clean hardwood surfaces better than brushes.
This is a purchase you won't regret. Get it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hood River, Oregon
Date:July 17, 2012

Great purchase!!!

Pros: works great!
Cons: kinda loud
Model Number: PN945-0032
"I love this machine! "Joyce" (named after my former cleaning lady) is a huge help! We have dark hardwood floors which show EVERYTHING, and with two kids and a puppy, "Joyce" is a lifesaver. Be prepared for prep time before you run her, though. I have to move things out of the way, like my barstools, because she runs up on them and gets stuck. Also, she doesn't do well with the piano legs, so I have to barricade the piano off before I run her. Just a warning that she is pretty loud. Still, all things considered, she does a great job and I would recommend this product."
Review 18 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:July 22, 2012

No more pet hair

Pros: clean floors
Cons: not great on deep pile carpet.
"I have been wanting a Roomba for a few years, but was always skeptical and fearful it would be come a cat/dog toy. I saw Costco sold a Roomba model and when I called to see if our warehouse had it, they said they were phasing out the Roomba for this guy. I read reviews here and other sites and decided to give it a try.
This thing is awesome. My husband named him "Roger" (I preferred Hymie, but whatever). It can handle most of our downstairs in one charge. He fills his dust bin in that time frame with pet hair and other stuff that used to float around the house in tumbleweeds.
Roger handles wood floors, tile, short pile rugs with ease. He hops over the transitions too. He struggles a bit on our really deep pile carpet, but there's only one room of that on our first floor.
The dog ignores it, the cat seems irritated that we've brought home yet another pet, but no one has tried to ride Roger yet. If so, you'll see the movie on Utube."
Review 19 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Texas
Date:July 25, 2012

What I've been waiting for

Pros: easy to use, efficient, amazing
Cons: doesn't empty it's own dust bin?
Model Number: XV-14
"I am thrilled with my Neato vacuum! I've had it for about 2 weeks now. I am amazed at the amount of dirt it picks up every time it runs. I have it set up to clean the whole house Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. It cleans for about an hour and a quarter, then goes back to the base and charges, goes out and picks up where it left off, then back to the base for another charge, then back where it left off. The square footage of the house is 2651sf and we have an open floor plan - no halls. We have lots of stuff and this thing outperforms my husband's regular vacuuming. My allergies have improved. So nice to have a freshly vacuumed house!"
Review 20 for Neato Robotics™ XV-14 Robotic All-Floor Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:July 30, 2012

My new cleaning lady

Cons: you need to pick up wires and it is noisey
Model Number: XV-14
"I highly recommend this vacuum. It is wonderful for getting under beds. Surprised to see how much dirt it picks up. Just love it."
1 2 3 4 next>>