Customer Reviews for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. The DC40 Animal is lightweight, powerful and easy to maneuver. It has the latest Ball™ technology, with a streamlined machine profile for easy steering into difficult places. The cleaner head self-adjusts automatically to maintain optimal contact with all floor types retaining high suction at the cleaner head.  Includes a Mini turbine head to clean pet hair and stubborn dirt from upholstery, stairs and the car. Features: Includes mini turbine head and combination crevice/brush tool Captures More Dirt Than Any Other Cyclone - Dyson cyclone technology captures more dirt and microscopic dust than any other.  With no loss of suction. Radial Root Cyclone™ Technology - Airflows remodeled to maximize suction power. Self-Adjusting Cleaner Head - Cleaner head self-adjusts for optimal contact - even on hard floors.  No fiddly dials to adjust or bending down required. Dyson Ball™ Technology - Turns on a dime.  With more components housed inside the ball for easier access to awkward space. Lightweight and Durable - Only 14.6 lbs. Engineered materials are selected for their strength and durability. Captures Allergens, Expels Cleaner Air - DC40 captures microscopic particles such as pollen, mold and bacteria. Specifications: Suction Power: 200 Amps: 11 Bin Capacity: 0.42 gallons Cleaning Path: 12.2 inches Hose and Wand Length: 15.3 ft. Cable Length: 24.7 ft. Max Reach: 40 ft. Premotor Filter: Lifetime (1 month washable) Postmotor Filter: Lifetime (1 month washable) Assembly required Dimensions: 41.9" H x 14.3 W x 12.2" D Weight: 14.6 lbs. 5 Years Warranty Parts and Labor Model: DC40 / 22913-01
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
(out of 44 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
14
29 of 44(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Review 1 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:February 20, 2013

What happened to the quality??

Pros: lightweight
Cons: hose doesn't stretch, hose stick is too thick to fit into small crevices, feels flimsy, plastic falls apart, wheels don't turn
"Loved my old Dyson. It just stopped working and so I replaced it with this DC40. Within 3 months, I returned 4 (FOUR) of the exact same models back. Costco was nice enough to let me return so many times. Thank you Costco!! So anyway, the first one smelled like something was burning and made weird noises. 2nd one scratched my hardwood floors and made weird noises as well. I was literally dragging the vacuum and scratching my floors. 3rd one, the suction wasn't working and I was dragging it on the floor instead of pushing it on the wheels. 4th one scratched my hardwood floors, the suction was horrible, plastic handle was falling apart and I cut my finger on the broken plastic part, and I forgot to mention the worthless hose on all 4. The hose won't stretch correctly and instead it tips the vacuum over. The hose stick end is too large and won't fit in tiny spaces where the spiders like to live. What happened to Dyson?? Not sure if I should try this vacuum one more time or go with another."
Review 2 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:DC Metro
Date:March 4, 2013

Generates more dirt than it picks up

Pros: lightweight, attachment tool storage on machine is clever.
Cons: extremely weak suction; cleans very poorly, very limited capacity for dirt, awkward messy removal of dirt, flimsy and poorly balanced, cord too short, cord gets in way
Model Number: DC 40
"The Dyson DC 40 is lightweight and seems at first to be maneuverable, at least around corners. It is downhill from there. The wheel clicking mechanism is awkward and it is difficult to keep the handle upright. As a result, the machine tips over unless it is held. The power switch is badly located and is not ergonomically logical. We have had this machine for two weeks and the on-off switch is already not working properly. The cord is too short so that each it must be unplugged and plugged in again constantly in the process of cleaning - even one room. The cord management placement is counterintuitive, and it is hard to keep the cord, short as it is, under control during cleaning. The parts click and fall over themselves. Most of all, this does a very poor job of cleaning carpet with too little suction, leaving obvious debris even with repeated passes. It is hard and awkward to handle on steps. It was overpacked and hard to get out of box. But I am glad I kept the box, because it will be returned to the store in it. Tomorrow."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2012

Don't Get "Sucked" into the Hype!!!!!

"I got sucked into the advertising hype of this product and totally regret it, hopefully you won't too. Terrible product, ball makes it awkward to maneuver and can't get under furniture, upright latch doesn't always catch resulting in it flopping back damaging anything in it’s path ~ walls, furniture, my foot, etc. While using onboard tools vacuum can easily tip over. Thought it was defective and had it serviced by Dyson and they said nothing is wrong -- so what they're saying is this is normal?? Then, it started driving crooked - like a grocery cart w/ bad wheel - and in for repair AGAIN and not even one year old. The repair man frowned when I walked in complaining about ANOTHER Dyson in his shop, he said his backroom is full of Dysons ~ all styles & fancy colors, I was surprised and just thought I got a lemon but he opened the door and showed me probably 20-30 Dysons in for repair and maybe 10 other vacuums of misc. brands. Anyways, my repair is the result of a broken PLASTIC piece ~ yes plastic because that's all it's made of. And one more VERY IMPORTANT note to mention: I tried to post a review on Dyson’s website - not nearly this informative and they won’t post it, so don’t rely on their site for info because you are not getting the whole truth!"
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:July 18, 2012

too much suction- poor support options

Pros: great suction. light weight convient tools
Cons: too much suction, won't move on carpet with 1/2 pile, lack of ability to control height.
Model Number: DC40 Animal
"I purchase the DC40 for my wife who has arthritis and not much strength. I figured the lighter weight, great mobility and convenient tools would be easier for her to use than our 30 year old Kirby. I got it out of the box and she tried to use it and it had so much suction that it stuck to the carpet. I could barely move it. It is suppose to be self adjusting but it seems like it is alway stuck on the setting for hard floors and doesn't switch to carpet mode. I called Dyson support to see if there is a way to adjust the height and was told no it self adjusts. Their suggestion was to buy a different model, 25, which they don't even show on their website. Fat chance that I'm going to risk buying a different model if the one their site recommends for my situation doesn't work. The vacuum will be going back to Costco since it is of no value to us. Being able to turn on a dime isn't of much use if you can't move further than the dime."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:June 30, 2012

Great vacuum but with some issues

Pros: great suctions, easy to operate, quiet, hose and tools on board
Cons: short cord, cord port placement
Model Number: Dyson DC40
"I must say, I love my new Dyson DC40. I keep an extremely clean home, however, after running the Dyson DC40 over the carpet in a couple bedrooms, WOW, what a surprise to see what it picked up! My carpet is about 4 years old and does not get much foot traffic and I normally vacuum every other day. I expected to see some debris in the cannister but not quite as much as was there. The vacuum did a great job, was extremely easy to manuever and operate and, unlike some, I didn't have a bit of trouble with the hose. A couple of concerns I have, all of which involve the cord... the instructions state to wind the cord counter clockwise, however, the port the cord comes out of is in a downward position. Pulling the cord up in order to wind counter clockwise seems to put the cord in an akward position. The cord is also very short for my liking. We have a large master bedroom and I have to vacuum half of the room and then move the plug in order to reach the other side of the room. It is somewhat of a pain in the backside to have to keep plugging and unplugging numerous times as I vacuum the house. Also, concerning the cord, it is attached to the vacuum near to or even a bit lower than the center (vertically) of the unit. I have found that unless I keep the cord wrapped in my hand which is on the handle of the vacuum that I will step on the cord (it just doesn't get out of the way). We also have stone and hardwood floors in our home and the Dyson works great on those surfaces."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Glendale, Arizona
Date:November 26, 2012

Dyson Animal DC41-Somewhat satisfied

Model Number: DC41 Animal (Purple)
"Purchased the DC41 Animal and was amazed with the suction and vacuuming ability. NOT at all happy with the service received from Dyson for an overheating problem. Had it 2 months and it quit working several times after 45 minutes or so. Cleaned the filters as instructed after several calls to customer service. The 2 very rude ladies that answered the phone insisted that the filters had to be cleaned every three months. Having had it only 2 months, and vacuuming only 4 times, they both insisted the filters need cleaning. So I cleaned them as directed. Walla, same thing happened again. Another call to customer service and they directed me to a local repair shop authorized to work on Dysons. They too cleaned the filter on the "ball" and it still quits after 45 minutes. So, Dyson is sending another "ball" filter, which retails for $51.99 !!!!!, but they are doing it under warranty. They should for a $600. vacuum!!! It is still in the shop, 3 weeks now, waiting on the filter to be shipped by Dyson. I am also very dubious about the plastic parts in very used areas, such as the red plastic release for the cannister to be removed and cleaned. Time will tell. Had I had the opportunity to return it for a refund, I would have gladly, and shopped for something similar in price but better built."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:July 14, 2012

Dyson DC40 Animal

"I purchased this on sale for four-hundred dollars... It's not a good value if you pay more.
My older vacuum is an LG LuV300. It does a good job of cleaning the carpets, but at 21 pounds, it is very heavy for me to move around.
Hence, I purchased the lighter, 14.6 pound DC40 Animal. Not only is it easier to use, it also does a very good job of picking up dog and cat hair. My LG is very good at picking up dust, but not as good with pet hair.
Hopefully all the plastic parts (which make it much lighter) will last a while, as long as I'm not too rough with it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rocky Point, NY
Date:September 10, 2012

Love this Machine!!

"Actually had a Dyson - this model, but older. When it finally went, I decided I didn't want to spend the money and bought the Oreck instead. The Oreck worked really well, but the attachments are all separate, plus you have to continually switch out the bags & filters. Soooo, needless to say, back to the Dyson! Quite frankly, the machine looks fairly cheap -- all plastic; however, it works great, is easy to maneuver and weighs a lot less than my old Dyson. I guess sometimes you really do get what you pay for!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cypress, CA
Date:January 8, 2013

DC 40 Animal

Pros: light weight, maneuvers easily, excellent edge pick-up
Cons: a bit pricy
Model Number: DC 40 Animal
"I tend to read other people’s reviews of products before I make a purchase. I read all of the reviews on this site; some were glowing, some not so much. I don’t rely solely on reviews; after all, the only thing that’s common is the product itself. Of the negative reviews most complained about the length of the (1) cord, (2) canister fills-up too fast, (3) too much suction, (4) light weight (plastic), (5) noisy.
Initially I wasn’t going to write my review until after I used mine for a couple of months or so in an effort to provide feedback perhaps more helpful. Because all households differ my review may or may not be helpful but here goes. My new Dyson DC 40 Animal is replacing a Hoover Wind Tunnel. (1) Standing side-by-side with cords extended the Dyson cord is 10” shorter than the Hoover. With Dyson’s cord looped through the handle and Hoover’s draped over the furniture attachment holder just under the handle (this is how I use the vacuum) the Dyson cord is now 10” longer than the Hoover. This is due to the Hoover cord attaching at the base and the Dyson midway between the base and top of the handle. My floors consist of Berber carpet in the living room, dining room, hallway, and 3 bedrooms and 8’ by 11’ low pile area rug over ceramic tile in the family room. (2) As with some other folks I ran the Dyson over already Hoover’d carpets but unlike them, the amount of dirt/lint/hair picked-up was very little. For my situation, 2 people, 1 short hair Chihuahua, carpets vacuumed daily, I don’t foresee emptying the canister any more frequently than I did with the Hoover; which was about every 2 to 3 weeks. (3) The only thing I’ve noticed relative to suction (and it may be more a matter of the automatic floor height adjuster) is that the vacuum pushes a bit “heavier” on a low pile (similar to Berber) 30” by 50” throw rug laying on the Berber carpet next to a door leading out to the garage. Otherwise vacuuming the rest of the carpets is pretty much effortless. My main reason for purchasing the Dyson was for the “ball” roller. My Hoover wanted to steer to the left which made it difficult to maneuver around furniture. The ball makes navigating really easy and its design allows it to get further under furniture than the Hoover. Dyson’s edge pick-up is heads-n-shoulders above the Hoover! (4) It is definitely light weight and I see this as a positive rather than negative. How well the plastic components hold up remain to be seen. I’m pretty careful where plastic construction is concerned. However careful I may be, though, I am a little dubious of the self latching handle. I once had a Dirt Devil with a self latching handle that failed and it’s a real pain when the handle won’t stay up by itself. (5) As far as sound goes this Dyson and my previous Hoover sound just about the same. I see sound as being different from ear-to-ear....
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:November 27, 2012

Very Flimsy...Shame On Dyson!!

Pros: light weight
Cons: very flimsy plastic, hard to get parts to go together, small debris canister compared to other dysons, roller wheels are brittle plastic
Model Number: DC40
"We have owned an original Dyson Animal model for 10 years and love the quality of the build and the intuitive design features. So imagine our surprise when we decided to buy a new model and we found it to be made out of very thin plastic with design features that do not show a user-friendly design. We thought the lighter weight model would still be well made but this one is NOT. Also, they shrank the debris canister to about half the size of our older model. If you have a big house and dogs like we do - you'll be stopping frequently to empty the canister. No wonder they had to include a special tool to unpack the debris from this small canister. We are still in disbelief that Dyson put their name on this thing. It's going back to Costco ASAP."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:January 13, 2013

Great if you have mostly carpet

Pros: great suction, easy to maneuver, easy to empty, looks great, great attachments, easy to operate, lightweight
Cons: very stiff hose, small dust bin, gets hot fast, wheels don't seem very sturdy
"I have always wanted a Dyson and when our Oreck recently died after 6 years, I broke down and bought one. Costco's pricing saved me about $150 from what this model would have theoretically cost, even though it was a Costco exclusive combination. Although assembly was somewhat confusing, once put together, the DC40 worked great. I did a test where I vacuumed a rug with my old Kirby that I rarely use, but still works good, then went over the area with the DC40. i couldn't believe how much dog hair was still in the carpet that the Dyson picked up. I went around my whole house with the Dyson and the suction really makes a difference. Dysons really clean like no other vacuum. I have since gone over many rugs multiple times, and each time, more and more hair and dirt come up. Our Labrador Retriever is no match for the DC40. Where this vacuum disappoints in my house is on the wood floors. I ordered the Articulating Hard Floor tool to vacuum the wood floor, but the hose is so stiff on this vacuum that the whole unti ends up rolling on the floors, even though I would place it on the rug to prevent scratching. Since most of the house is wood floors with area rugs, this vacuum is really the best design for this specific arrangement, and I will be returning it and buying the DC39 canister vacuum instead, which will make cleaning the wood floors much easier. However, I think this is a great little vacuum and if your home is mostly carpeted or tiled, this machine will work great. The active base plate really works great and cleaned our tile kitchen very well as it keeps the cleaner head in contact with the floor on all surfaces. Also, I will miss the ball as it is a fun way to vacuum. If you have pets that shed a lot like mine, then you will find yourself emptying the bin rather frequently as it is rather small. One last note is that the vacuum motor enclosure (the ball) does get rather warm, but I doubt it would get hot enough to stop the machine from working. Overall a great, lightweight, and powerful vacuum for homes with mostly carpeted floors and tile. Dysons are really the best vacuums you can get!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Gatos, Ca.
Date:June 22, 2012

Great vacuum, better than DC33

Pros: thorough cleaning, easy disposal and light
Cons: no retractable cord
Model Number: DC-40
"I originally bought the DC33 to replace our conventional bag vacuum. Within 20 min the roller bar on the front broke. The unit was a pain on stairs and tight corners.
Gave a second try for the DC-40 which find all sorts of dirt previously unreachable. We still would like a retractable cord but it otherwise seems to be very well built.
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central, North Carolina
Date:March 19, 2013

I HAD TO GIVE IT 5 STARS!

Pros: easy to use, easy to dump the bin, no more expensive vacuum cleaner bags, does a great job!
Cons: i could not find any.
Model Number: Dyson DC40 Animal
"After reading the negative reviews of this vacuum, I was more than a little skeptical that it was actually the machine that it is advertised to be.
So before we bought it we did a couple of things. We went to a local "Big Box" store that had several popular vacuum brands on the floor and tested it against its competitor. We ran it on the floor, no power of course, to see how it handled and did the same with its biggest competitor's vacuum.
We checked the bins and how easy they were to remove and dump. The competitors vacuum, did not work as smoothly as the Dyson. We had to literally pull the bottom down with our hand. It would not open by itself as it is supposed to. All in all, in our test, the Dyson out performed it's competitor.
But the thing that may have influenced us more was the fact that our son has a Dyson that he has had for several years. He told us that it was the best vacuum that he had ever had. But he also told us that it had began to lose power after a while and until he figured out (as the directions say) that you have to clean the filters regularly, and by doing so his 4 or 5 year old Dyson performs as good today as the day he bought it. Good enough for me.
We got it home from the local Costco store and put it together in about 10 minutes. I found absolutely NOTHING flimsy or toy like in its construction. Once it is totally assembled it is as sturdy as any of the other vacuums I have owned over the years, and possibly better.
Our family includes 3 dogs and 4 cats, so a powerful suction was paramount in our decision making process. We spent the afternoon cleaning furniture, carpets, hardwood, air cleaner filters, etc. and was dumbfounded at the amount of dirt and hair this vacuum picked up from things that were just vacuumed yesterday. A testimony that my $800 Oreck was not cleaning the way I thought it was.
The head of the Dyson 40 may be just a little smaller than some other larger upright vacuums, but the actual cleaning brush area is larger than my Oreck or my canister beater bar. And it is a great size for getting in, around and under things.
It did an excellent job along the toe kicks of my kitchen cabinets, built in bookcases and furniture. Something my Oreck or Kenmore would not do without using the crevice tool. I love the fact that with a push of a button I can go from carpet to hardwood, with no change in performance.
The hand held tools for upholstery and pet hair did a wonderful job of removing hair and debris on my furniture cushions and pillows. We used the small brush attachment to clean the air filter of our air cleaner, and you would not believe the dirt that it pulled out of the filter, saving us a nasty wash job in the bathtub.
The hose is a little tight, but I did not find that a problem. Actually I think it is better to be more contained than constantly tripping over a vacuum hose that you are trying to use, which I have done.
The amount of dirt and hair that came out of a house that I thought was clean dumbfounded me. I will tell you that as we started a new project, we would empty the bin so that we could see what was actually coming out of the project we were working on. And we wound up cleaning the whole house, although it had just been done.
The weight and maneuverability of this vacuum is great as far as I am concerned. It is light enough to handle easily (14 pounds) and easily maneuvers around all my furniture. The cord is as long as the cord on my upright Oreck, so I have no issues with the power cord. No it does not have a mechanical rewind for the cord, but neither does my Oreck. It is also much quieter than my other vacuums, so I am not sure how this vacuum scared someone's children.
And I especially like the fact that emptying the unit is as easy as pushing a button, walking to the trash can, and replacing the bin on the unit... no more expensive vacuum cleaner bags to buy.
I have tried to determine why I SHOULD NOT give this unit a 5 star rating. As yet I cannot. Is it pricey? Compared to what? No I don't think it is for the quality that you get.
Is it easy to use - absolutely! The attachments are easy to change, they are easy to get to. No fighting a canister lid to get them out. Easily returned to where they came from.
Is maintenance difficult, no more than cleaning a filter monthly, which I much prefer to buying expensive vacuum bags and constantly having to struggle the nasty full things out of the vacuum cleaner.
So my assessment of this unit... IS A 5 STAR. Should my opinion change in the coming months, I will update this review."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:February 12, 2013

I agree with Hairydog

Pros: nice colors
Cons: too pricey for nothing
Model Number: Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
"I read the reviews and thought I'd pay more for a 'better' vacuum. It is weak, and flimsy. The suction is weak. I could not clean the edges either. Feels like a toy and works like a toy. Stands upright via a clicking action so if you don't click properly or apply a slight pull it will fall to the floor. Cord is not retractable."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:fort myers, fl
Date:October 1, 2012

Incredible Vacuum

Pros: 5 year warrantee, costco store guarantee
Model Number: DN1USDDB3671A
"If I could be in love with a vacuum it would be the Dyson Animal 40. It's simple to use, easy to empty and lightweight. I have 3 cats and a dog and the amount of hair it picks up is amazing. I'm sorry I didn't purchase a Dyson sooner. . . I always went for the less expensive brands and they wouldn't last more than a year or two.You definately get what you pay for."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ocean Park, WA
Date:July 12, 2012

Very Dissappointed

Pros: good suction
Cons: poor parts design
Model Number: DC40
"The first Dyson DC 40 had the rubber seal around the carpet sweeper break the first week. The second DC 40 had a very small plastic piece break that prevented the canister from locking in place. Good suction but I expected it to last longer than 2 weeks. The second one went back and I got an Electrolux - Great machine!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kirkland, WA
Date:July 17, 2012

And you thought your carpets were clean...

Pros: easy assembly, great suction, mini turbine head works good on stairs, light weight, easy to navigate in tight spaces and corners, no bags; washable filter, no belts to replace
Cons: power cord length, price
Model Number: DC40 Animal
"This Costco special model appears to be a DC40 with the Animal Mini-Turbine from the Dyson DC41. The true DC41 Animal has a slightly bit more suction. I had recently vacuumed with what I thought was my good Wind Tunnel. After I ran the DC40 Animal over the carpets, I was shocked how much dirt and cat hair came up from my "clean" carpets. The flexibility to turn tight corners and the slightly smaller head of this unit compared to my older vacuum made getting beside the beds easier. It's relatively compact, quiet (for a vacuum), and lightweight enough that it's easy to lug up the stairs. The unit assembles easily (if you can follow pictograms, it's a snap -- literally). Yeah, it's a pricey vacuum cleaner, but all of my friends kept singing its praises. I now know why."
Review 18 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:January 30, 2013

Save your Money, Folks!

Pros: no pros to brag about here.
Cons: everything about this vacuum., what more can i say?
Model Number: DC40
"My Dyson just arrived from Costco.com; and I couldn't wait to try it out. We needed 2 people to put it together, the pieces wouldn't click and snap as shown in the photos. After trying it out on both carpet and tile, I discovered it doesn't move the nap of my carpet whatsoever. Our footprints remained in tact, and the wheels left little dents in the carpet the beater bar wouldn't even remove because there was no suction. It picked up a little dust and debris from the ceramic tile but the static had built up to the point the entire outside of the machine was dustier than the inside. I removed the canister and the contents immediately dumped out all over the place. There was a pile on the floor 2 inches away from the vacuum. When I reattached the canister, I noticed there was a wide gap in the rectangular connector piece where the canister connects to the hose in the back. That doesn't even seal tight, so no wonder the machine was all dusty on the outside when I finished. It spewed all the dirt it picked up back into the air and all over the vacuum itself. I immediately contacted Dyson because there is something seriously wrong with this product. For the price, and the poor quality of the materials, I'll stick to my Bissell and Shark products."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2013

maybe i got an expensive lemon?

Pros: relatively light weight, bagless
Cons: does not suck up dirt from edges, does not remove hair from carpets
Model Number: dyson dc40 animal
"Such good reviews. My experience was negative. If I pay 3 times more for a vacuum, I expect it to work better and last longer than my cheapo vacuum. I've had my $120 kenmore for over 10 years. I had this one for less than 6 months. first, it got plugged up and lost all suction--I fixed it. For something that is made for animal hair--I've never had to spend so much time removing hair from the powerhead brush. It was just a hairy mess. Then, it just stopped sucking up hair from my less than 200 square foot room of carpet. So disappointed. Maybe I just got a bad dyson? In which case, poor quality control? also it's not good at sucking dirt from wall edges."
Review 20 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2012

Excellent Vacuum

Pros: strong suction, light weight, great cornering, auto height adjustment that works
"I have had this vacuum for a couple of months now and have had zero problems with it. It has suction like no other vacuum I have owned/used. I am still amazed at what comes out of my carpet. The automatic height is amazing, I can vacuum from carpet to tile and nothing, and I mean nothing, blows around on the tile, it just gets sucked up! The vacuum is very light, the ball makes cornering a dream and its low profile enough to vacuum under many pieces of furniture. Emptying the bin is a dustless joy now! Also, it is quiet and puts out little heat, though the speed of the brush makes the carpet warm! This thing makes me want to vacuum just to see what comes up in the bin each time."
1 2 3 next>>