Customer Reviews for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. The DC40 Animal is lightweight, powerful and easy to maneuver. It has the latest Ball™ technology, with a streamlined machine profile for easy steering into difficult places. The cleaner head self-adjusts automatically to maintain optimal contact with all floor types retaining high suction at the cleaner head.  Includes a Mini turbine head to clean pet hair and stubborn dirt from upholstery, stairs and the car. Features: Includes mini turbine head and combination crevice/brush tool Captures More Dirt Than Any Other Cyclone - Dyson cyclone technology captures more dirt and microscopic dust than any other.  With no loss of suction. Radial Root Cyclone™ Technology - Airflows remodeled to maximize suction power. Self-Adjusting Cleaner Head - Cleaner head self-adjusts for optimal contact - even on hard floors.  No fiddly dials to adjust or bending down required. Dyson Ball™ Technology - Turns on a dime.  With more components housed inside the ball for easier access to awkward space. Lightweight and Durable - Only 14.6 lbs. Engineered materials are selected for their strength and durability. Captures Allergens, Expels Cleaner Air - DC40 captures microscopic particles such as pollen, mold and bacteria. Specifications: Suction Power: 200 Amps: 11 Bin Capacity: 0.42 gallons Cleaning Path: 12.2 inches Hose and Wand Length: 15.3 ft. Cable Length: 24.7 ft. Max Reach: 40 ft. Premotor Filter: Lifetime (1 month washable) Postmotor Filter: Lifetime (1 month washable) Assembly required Dimensions: 41.9" H x 14.3 W x 12.2" D Weight: 14.6 lbs. 5 Years Warranty Parts and Labor Model: DC40 / 22913-01
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
(out of 44 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
14
29 of 44(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Review 1 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central, North Carolina
Date:March 19, 2013

I HAD TO GIVE IT 5 STARS!

Pros: easy to use, easy to dump the bin, no more expensive vacuum cleaner bags, does a great job!
Cons: i could not find any.
Model Number: Dyson DC40 Animal
"After reading the negative reviews of this vacuum, I was more than a little skeptical that it was actually the machine that it is advertised to be.
So before we bought it we did a couple of things. We went to a local "Big Box" store that had several popular vacuum brands on the floor and tested it against its competitor. We ran it on the floor, no power of course, to see how it handled and did the same with its biggest competitor's vacuum.
We checked the bins and how easy they were to remove and dump. The competitors vacuum, did not work as smoothly as the Dyson. We had to literally pull the bottom down with our hand. It would not open by itself as it is supposed to. All in all, in our test, the Dyson out performed it's competitor.
But the thing that may have influenced us more was the fact that our son has a Dyson that he has had for several years. He told us that it was the best vacuum that he had ever had. But he also told us that it had began to lose power after a while and until he figured out (as the directions say) that you have to clean the filters regularly, and by doing so his 4 or 5 year old Dyson performs as good today as the day he bought it. Good enough for me.
We got it home from the local Costco store and put it together in about 10 minutes. I found absolutely NOTHING flimsy or toy like in its construction. Once it is totally assembled it is as sturdy as any of the other vacuums I have owned over the years, and possibly better.
Our family includes 3 dogs and 4 cats, so a powerful suction was paramount in our decision making process. We spent the afternoon cleaning furniture, carpets, hardwood, air cleaner filters, etc. and was dumbfounded at the amount of dirt and hair this vacuum picked up from things that were just vacuumed yesterday. A testimony that my $800 Oreck was not cleaning the way I thought it was.
The head of the Dyson 40 may be just a little smaller than some other larger upright vacuums, but the actual cleaning brush area is larger than my Oreck or my canister beater bar. And it is a great size for getting in, around and under things.
It did an excellent job along the toe kicks of my kitchen cabinets, built in bookcases and furniture. Something my Oreck or Kenmore would not do without using the crevice tool. I love the fact that with a push of a button I can go from carpet to hardwood, with no change in performance.
The hand held tools for upholstery and pet hair did a wonderful job of removing hair and debris on my furniture cushions and pillows. We used the small brush attachment to clean the air filter of our air cleaner, and you would not believe the dirt that it pulled out of the filter, saving us a nasty wash job in the bathtub.
The hose is a little tight, but I did not find that a problem. Actually I think it is better to be more contained than constantly tripping over a vacuum hose that you are trying to use, which I have done.
The amount of dirt and hair that came out of a house that I thought was clean dumbfounded me. I will tell you that as we started a new project, we would empty the bin so that we could see what was actually coming out of the project we were working on. And we wound up cleaning the whole house, although it had just been done.
The weight and maneuverability of this vacuum is great as far as I am concerned. It is light enough to handle easily (14 pounds) and easily maneuvers around all my furniture. The cord is as long as the cord on my upright Oreck, so I have no issues with the power cord. No it does not have a mechanical rewind for the cord, but neither does my Oreck. It is also much quieter than my other vacuums, so I am not sure how this vacuum scared someone's children.
And I especially like the fact that emptying the unit is as easy as pushing a button, walking to the trash can, and replacing the bin on the unit... no more expensive vacuum cleaner bags to buy.
I have tried to determine why I SHOULD NOT give this unit a 5 star rating. As yet I cannot. Is it pricey? Compared to what? No I don't think it is for the quality that you get.
Is it easy to use - absolutely! The attachments are easy to change, they are easy to get to. No fighting a canister lid to get them out. Easily returned to where they came from.
Is maintenance difficult, no more than cleaning a filter monthly, which I much prefer to buying expensive vacuum bags and constantly having to struggle the nasty full things out of the vacuum cleaner.
So my assessment of this unit... IS A 5 STAR. Should my opinion change in the coming months, I will update this review."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, Illinois
Date:March 8, 2013

It was excellent buy

Pros: the dyson dc40 is a "great durable vacuum."
Cons: dyson dc40 vac only comes in one standard color.
Model Number: DN1-US-DFA6031A
"The Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum Unit performs extremely well. After the delivery of the Dyson DC40 Vacuum the unit to my home it has been use on various carpet and sofa cleaning details. The performance of the Dyson Vacuum has been absolutely outstanding.
Without any doubt the unit handling is exactly as describe on your brochure. The light weight Dyson vacuum make it extremely easy to handle and maneuver around the house furniture.
The Dyson DC40 Vacuum is a great value for the price paid.
"
Review 3 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:March 8, 2013

DOESN'T SUCTION, cord too short, BAD quality!

Pros: none!
Cons: doesn't suction very cheap plastic very expensive
"DO NOT BUY! I am shocked how bad this vac is! I had a Dyson for 8 years and it died. Got this one, and it doesn't suction! It wasn't even picking up small, light things from the wood floor or carpet. The cord is way too short, the vac is cheap, thin plastic, and the "head" is not wide enough. Very POOR QUALITY!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Issaquah
Date:March 6, 2013

Had similar experience as Phinismom review.....

Pros: easy to manuver
Cons: dirt can doesn't hold much & power cord is short &, easy to tip over hose not flexible & hard to use
Model Number: DC-40
"Designed to look cool, but that's about it. Not worth the money."
Review 5 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:DC Metro
Date:March 4, 2013

Generates more dirt than it picks up

Pros: lightweight, attachment tool storage on machine is clever.
Cons: extremely weak suction; cleans very poorly, very limited capacity for dirt, awkward messy removal of dirt, flimsy and poorly balanced, cord too short, cord gets in way
Model Number: DC 40
"The Dyson DC 40 is lightweight and seems at first to be maneuverable, at least around corners. It is downhill from there. The wheel clicking mechanism is awkward and it is difficult to keep the handle upright. As a result, the machine tips over unless it is held. The power switch is badly located and is not ergonomically logical. We have had this machine for two weeks and the on-off switch is already not working properly. The cord is too short so that each it must be unplugged and plugged in again constantly in the process of cleaning - even one room. The cord management placement is counterintuitive, and it is hard to keep the cord, short as it is, under control during cleaning. The parts click and fall over themselves. Most of all, this does a very poor job of cleaning carpet with too little suction, leaving obvious debris even with repeated passes. It is hard and awkward to handle on steps. It was overpacked and hard to get out of box. But I am glad I kept the box, because it will be returned to the store in it. Tomorrow."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bend, OR.
Date:February 21, 2013

Don't be a sucker

"Totally bought into the hype about this vacuum and for the life of me cannot figure out what is so great about it. Would pick up pet hair ok but that was about it. Wouldn't pick up small beads, fuzz, etc. Left my carpet matted and progressively worse/more worn looking. The hose is poorly designed and impossible to use as needed. Returned. So glad I bought it at Costco. Got the Shark Pro, WAY BETTER! Save yourself some cash and don't buy this silly over rated machine!"
Review 7 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:February 20, 2013

What happened to the quality??

Pros: lightweight
Cons: hose doesn't stretch, hose stick is too thick to fit into small crevices, feels flimsy, plastic falls apart, wheels don't turn
"Loved my old Dyson. It just stopped working and so I replaced it with this DC40. Within 3 months, I returned 4 (FOUR) of the exact same models back. Costco was nice enough to let me return so many times. Thank you Costco!! So anyway, the first one smelled like something was burning and made weird noises. 2nd one scratched my hardwood floors and made weird noises as well. I was literally dragging the vacuum and scratching my floors. 3rd one, the suction wasn't working and I was dragging it on the floor instead of pushing it on the wheels. 4th one scratched my hardwood floors, the suction was horrible, plastic handle was falling apart and I cut my finger on the broken plastic part, and I forgot to mention the worthless hose on all 4. The hose won't stretch correctly and instead it tips the vacuum over. The hose stick end is too large and won't fit in tiny spaces where the spiders like to live. What happened to Dyson?? Not sure if I should try this vacuum one more time or go with another."
Review 8 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:February 12, 2013

I agree with Hairydog

Pros: nice colors
Cons: too pricey for nothing
Model Number: Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
"I read the reviews and thought I'd pay more for a 'better' vacuum. It is weak, and flimsy. The suction is weak. I could not clean the edges either. Feels like a toy and works like a toy. Stands upright via a clicking action so if you don't click properly or apply a slight pull it will fall to the floor. Cord is not retractable."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2013

maybe i got an expensive lemon?

Pros: relatively light weight, bagless
Cons: does not suck up dirt from edges, does not remove hair from carpets
Model Number: dyson dc40 animal
"Such good reviews. My experience was negative. If I pay 3 times more for a vacuum, I expect it to work better and last longer than my cheapo vacuum. I've had my $120 kenmore for over 10 years. I had this one for less than 6 months. first, it got plugged up and lost all suction--I fixed it. For something that is made for animal hair--I've never had to spend so much time removing hair from the powerhead brush. It was just a hairy mess. Then, it just stopped sucking up hair from my less than 200 square foot room of carpet. So disappointed. Maybe I just got a bad dyson? In which case, poor quality control? also it's not good at sucking dirt from wall edges."
Review 10 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2013

I love this vacuum

Pros: pickes up anamal hair nicely
Cons: small collection bin
Model Number: DC40
"I love this vacuum. It replaces a Dyson that I have had for 10 years. I have 3 dogs and 3 cats. I vacuum at least 4 times a week. This vacuum picks everything up. Soo nice I hope to have this vacuum for another 10 years. Dyson really backs its' product with excellent support."
Review 11 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:January 30, 2013

Save your Money, Folks!

Pros: no pros to brag about here.
Cons: everything about this vacuum., what more can i say?
Model Number: DC40
"My Dyson just arrived from Costco.com; and I couldn't wait to try it out. We needed 2 people to put it together, the pieces wouldn't click and snap as shown in the photos. After trying it out on both carpet and tile, I discovered it doesn't move the nap of my carpet whatsoever. Our footprints remained in tact, and the wheels left little dents in the carpet the beater bar wouldn't even remove because there was no suction. It picked up a little dust and debris from the ceramic tile but the static had built up to the point the entire outside of the machine was dustier than the inside. I removed the canister and the contents immediately dumped out all over the place. There was a pile on the floor 2 inches away from the vacuum. When I reattached the canister, I noticed there was a wide gap in the rectangular connector piece where the canister connects to the hose in the back. That doesn't even seal tight, so no wonder the machine was all dusty on the outside when I finished. It spewed all the dirt it picked up back into the air and all over the vacuum itself. I immediately contacted Dyson because there is something seriously wrong with this product. For the price, and the poor quality of the materials, I'll stick to my Bissell and Shark products."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:January 13, 2013

Great if you have mostly carpet

Pros: great suction, easy to maneuver, easy to empty, looks great, great attachments, easy to operate, lightweight
Cons: very stiff hose, small dust bin, gets hot fast, wheels don't seem very sturdy
"I have always wanted a Dyson and when our Oreck recently died after 6 years, I broke down and bought one. Costco's pricing saved me about $150 from what this model would have theoretically cost, even though it was a Costco exclusive combination. Although assembly was somewhat confusing, once put together, the DC40 worked great. I did a test where I vacuumed a rug with my old Kirby that I rarely use, but still works good, then went over the area with the DC40. i couldn't believe how much dog hair was still in the carpet that the Dyson picked up. I went around my whole house with the Dyson and the suction really makes a difference. Dysons really clean like no other vacuum. I have since gone over many rugs multiple times, and each time, more and more hair and dirt come up. Our Labrador Retriever is no match for the DC40. Where this vacuum disappoints in my house is on the wood floors. I ordered the Articulating Hard Floor tool to vacuum the wood floor, but the hose is so stiff on this vacuum that the whole unti ends up rolling on the floors, even though I would place it on the rug to prevent scratching. Since most of the house is wood floors with area rugs, this vacuum is really the best design for this specific arrangement, and I will be returning it and buying the DC39 canister vacuum instead, which will make cleaning the wood floors much easier. However, I think this is a great little vacuum and if your home is mostly carpeted or tiled, this machine will work great. The active base plate really works great and cleaned our tile kitchen very well as it keeps the cleaner head in contact with the floor on all surfaces. Also, I will miss the ball as it is a fun way to vacuum. If you have pets that shed a lot like mine, then you will find yourself emptying the bin rather frequently as it is rather small. One last note is that the vacuum motor enclosure (the ball) does get rather warm, but I doubt it would get hot enough to stop the machine from working. Overall a great, lightweight, and powerful vacuum for homes with mostly carpeted floors and tile. Dysons are really the best vacuums you can get!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cypress, CA
Date:January 8, 2013

DC 40 Animal

Pros: light weight, maneuvers easily, excellent edge pick-up
Cons: a bit pricy
Model Number: DC 40 Animal
"I tend to read other people’s reviews of products before I make a purchase. I read all of the reviews on this site; some were glowing, some not so much. I don’t rely solely on reviews; after all, the only thing that’s common is the product itself. Of the negative reviews most complained about the length of the (1) cord, (2) canister fills-up too fast, (3) too much suction, (4) light weight (plastic), (5) noisy.
Initially I wasn’t going to write my review until after I used mine for a couple of months or so in an effort to provide feedback perhaps more helpful. Because all households differ my review may or may not be helpful but here goes. My new Dyson DC 40 Animal is replacing a Hoover Wind Tunnel. (1) Standing side-by-side with cords extended the Dyson cord is 10” shorter than the Hoover. With Dyson’s cord looped through the handle and Hoover’s draped over the furniture attachment holder just under the handle (this is how I use the vacuum) the Dyson cord is now 10” longer than the Hoover. This is due to the Hoover cord attaching at the base and the Dyson midway between the base and top of the handle. My floors consist of Berber carpet in the living room, dining room, hallway, and 3 bedrooms and 8’ by 11’ low pile area rug over ceramic tile in the family room. (2) As with some other folks I ran the Dyson over already Hoover’d carpets but unlike them, the amount of dirt/lint/hair picked-up was very little. For my situation, 2 people, 1 short hair Chihuahua, carpets vacuumed daily, I don’t foresee emptying the canister any more frequently than I did with the Hoover; which was about every 2 to 3 weeks. (3) The only thing I’ve noticed relative to suction (and it may be more a matter of the automatic floor height adjuster) is that the vacuum pushes a bit “heavier” on a low pile (similar to Berber) 30” by 50” throw rug laying on the Berber carpet next to a door leading out to the garage. Otherwise vacuuming the rest of the carpets is pretty much effortless. My main reason for purchasing the Dyson was for the “ball” roller. My Hoover wanted to steer to the left which made it difficult to maneuver around furniture. The ball makes navigating really easy and its design allows it to get further under furniture than the Hoover. Dyson’s edge pick-up is heads-n-shoulders above the Hoover! (4) It is definitely light weight and I see this as a positive rather than negative. How well the plastic components hold up remain to be seen. I’m pretty careful where plastic construction is concerned. However careful I may be, though, I am a little dubious of the self latching handle. I once had a Dirt Devil with a self latching handle that failed and it’s a real pain when the handle won’t stay up by itself. (5) As far as sound goes this Dyson and my previous Hoover sound just about the same. I see sound as being different from ear-to-ear....
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2012

Gone Thru Two of These - Will Get Different Brand

Pros: none
Cons: only works for a few weeks.
Model Number: DC40
"We've gone thru two of these - they work fine for a while, then start overheating and lose suction. The second one - which is going back today - lasted about a week. We will research a different brand - not buying Dyson again."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2012

Awful. Loud.

"I was so excited to get this. However, when I turned it on, it was so loud I had to cover my ears. Both of my children (4 and 6 year old boys) said it hurt their ears. I took it back and tried another one. Still screeching at this horrible decibel. I recently bought another model (DC 41) and love it."
Review 16 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Lauderdale
Date:December 5, 2012

Love it

Pros: its purple! love purple! kingdom purple!
"Love it so far! Handles reach high so I can clean the blinds, the ceiling fans, etc. Love the roller ball and great suction!"
Review 17 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:November 27, 2012

Very Flimsy...Shame On Dyson!!

Pros: light weight
Cons: very flimsy plastic, hard to get parts to go together, small debris canister compared to other dysons, roller wheels are brittle plastic
Model Number: DC40
"We have owned an original Dyson Animal model for 10 years and love the quality of the build and the intuitive design features. So imagine our surprise when we decided to buy a new model and we found it to be made out of very thin plastic with design features that do not show a user-friendly design. We thought the lighter weight model would still be well made but this one is NOT. Also, they shrank the debris canister to about half the size of our older model. If you have a big house and dogs like we do - you'll be stopping frequently to empty the canister. No wonder they had to include a special tool to unpack the debris from this small canister. We are still in disbelief that Dyson put their name on this thing. It's going back to Costco ASAP."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Glendale, Arizona
Date:November 26, 2012

Dyson Animal DC41-Somewhat satisfied

Model Number: DC41 Animal (Purple)
"Purchased the DC41 Animal and was amazed with the suction and vacuuming ability. NOT at all happy with the service received from Dyson for an overheating problem. Had it 2 months and it quit working several times after 45 minutes or so. Cleaned the filters as instructed after several calls to customer service. The 2 very rude ladies that answered the phone insisted that the filters had to be cleaned every three months. Having had it only 2 months, and vacuuming only 4 times, they both insisted the filters need cleaning. So I cleaned them as directed. Walla, same thing happened again. Another call to customer service and they directed me to a local repair shop authorized to work on Dysons. They too cleaned the filter on the "ball" and it still quits after 45 minutes. So, Dyson is sending another "ball" filter, which retails for $51.99 !!!!!, but they are doing it under warranty. They should for a $600. vacuum!!! It is still in the shop, 3 weeks now, waiting on the filter to be shipped by Dyson. I am also very dubious about the plastic parts in very used areas, such as the red plastic release for the cannister to be removed and cleaned. Time will tell. Had I had the opportunity to return it for a refund, I would have gladly, and shopped for something similar in price but better built."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Murfreesboro TN
Date:November 3, 2012

This thing sucks! In a great way!!!

Pros: great suction quiet compared to our old oreck.
Cons: intricate plastic parts hope they last.
Model Number: DC40 animal
"We were pleased and appalled. DC40 assembles easy, and really pulls the dirt, dust and imbedded pet hair out of what you thought were your semi clean carpets. Absolutely disgusted by what showed up in the chamber. Great purchase. Get over the thought of spending nearly $ 500 on a vacuum and pull the trigger, you won't regret."
Review 20 for Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Shoreline, WA
Date:October 6, 2012

Beat expectations!

Pros: powerful, cleans up pet hair quickly and efficiently, accessories are easily changed and usable
Model Number: DC40
"I was amazed at how well this vacuum worked. I have hard wood floors and area rugs. On my first run through the house I had to empty the canister for each rug, each room, and in my one fully carpeted room, I had to empty the canister 4 times! That just shows how useless my previous vacuum was. This dyson is absolutely amazing and worth the price. The cord is plenty long, I can vacuum my living room, kitchen and hallway without changing plugs. The attachments are easily accessible and you can change everything out quickly while you are vacuuming. Great product!"
1 2 3 next>>