Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker

Coffee lovers will find all their favorite features in this extra-large capacity coffeemaker. Flavor is a matter of taste, so Cuisinart now offers both regular strength and bold settings. And since temperature is important too, we’ve included an adjustable heater plate that keeps coffee at the temperature selected. With a built-in 60-second memory in case the power goes out, and full programmability, this is a coffeemaker that’s easy to love. Features: Regular and Bold flavor strength settings Fully automatic with 24-hour programmability Adjustable heater plate with high, medium and low temperature settings 1 to 4-cup setting Brew Pause™ feature lets you enjoy a cup of coffee before coffee has finished brewing Easy to view water window for easy filling 14-cup (5 ounces each) carafe with ergonomic handle Dripless spout and knuckle guard 60-second reset “remembers” where it was in the brewing process Adjustable auto-shutoff - 0-4 hours Gold tone filter Charcoal water filter Self-clean UL Approved Dimensions: 7.75" L x 9" W x 14" H Weight: 9 lbs. Limited 3-year warranty
Average Customer Rating:
2.823 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
(out of 51 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
12
1 star
15
20 of 51(39%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Review 1 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:May 6, 2015

Not worth the $$$

Pros: looks good
Cons: started to malfunction after year one
Model Number: Brew Central 14 Cup Programmable Coffee Maker
" It was a good coffee maker while it lasted and got little over two years of life from this coffee maker. In my opinion, it was not worth the price! After functioning well for one year, the features started to either malfunction or eventually stop working in the same order as listed below.
- Timer
- Adjustable Heater Plate
- Water Level Indicator
- Brew Strength
- Brew Pause
- On/Off knob
This is my first coffee maker from Cuisinart and definitely not happy with the experience. I will not recommend this product if you are looking for it to last, especially paying north of $50.00 after using a warehouse coupon!
"
Review 2 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:texas
Date:April 28, 2015

get extended warranty

Pros: made good coffee
Cons: poor reliability
Model Number: 2600 series Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
" It made good coffee while it lasted, but like many others have reported it starting acting up at 2 years (timer goes first, then may or not make coffee on manual settings) and the process of returning it via Cuisinart cots you $10 plus shipping. used to be a good brand "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2015

Short Lived

Cons: short life
" I have actually bought two of these machines from Costco over the past 5 years. Both died suddenly after 2 years.I am very disappointed and still grieving. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:February 23, 2015

Good for 2 Years, Then Dead

Pros: good tasting coffee, permanent filter, good carafe
Cons: short life
Model Number: CBC5200PC
" I bought this model because my coworker had an older model that stood up well. This one worked great as well for 2 years, then first turned off the heater without notification (which you notice when you put that cold coffee in your mouth), then failed to pull all the water through. Very disappointing for a relatively expensive coffee maker. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 5, 2015

Only 5 stars because 6 stars wasn't an option

Pros: lasted almost 11 years
Cons: only lasted 11 years
Model Number: CBC-00PC2
" I purchased an almost identical Cuisinart unit 10 years and 8 months ago. Turned the knob to start it this morning and nothing happened. Have used it every day, except when on vacation of course, for a long, long, time and it has always made the very best coffee in the world. Very happy to have found the same, slightly updated model still available. Ordered it an hour ago. "
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orlando, Florida
Date:January 24, 2015

Too expensive to break so soon

Pros: makes a good cup of coffee
Cons: not made to last
" I expected this product to last longer than 2 years. The feature that keeps your coffee warm after brewing just stopped working. It's only worthy of the trash now. Just too expensive to be a throw away appliance after such a short amount of time. "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Alameda, CA
Date:January 3, 2015

worked until it didnt

Pros: easy to use programmable functions
Cons: if not placed properly can back up in the machine
" I guess it would get 3 stars for before it stopped working. I love the timer function, the coffee tastes great, etc. However the placement of the carafe can be very finicky, and we've had the experience of everything looking like it's just so, but the water backing up in the cone (not releasing into the pot) and making a mess. It's too easy to have that happen, and jiggling the coffee pot to fix it doesn't expose any great flaw to our original set up, ie as I said before everything would appear in place but it still backs up.
However, today it simply stopped working. No heat, not brewing. It's not an old machine, we'll have to return it. Shouldn't have happened we take good care of our products.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Island, New York
Date:January 3, 2015

Not what we expected!

Pros: nice design.
Cons: smell - plastic
Model Number: CBC-5200pc
" We purchased this recently and tried to brew coffee but a plastic smell continued to brew in the coffee as well as the product itself. We will return this very soon. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brick, NJ
Date:December 14, 2014

I thought it was the best purchase ever...NOT!

" Great in the beginning...but after a VERY short while it didn't finish the brewing cycle...another consumer wrote the about the same issue...turn it off, turn it back on...OMG who has time for that! Better to buy something cheap that you expect to die early...not this-Cuisinart is not the same quality it used to be! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sierra foothills California
Date:November 30, 2014

Just what we wanted

Pros: has all the features we wanted and it looks good.
" No matter what brand we buy, we end up replacing our coffee makers about every 2 years. I got this one because the temperature of the warming plate can be adjusted. This is the first coffee maker we've had that keeps the coffee hot. It is very easy to use and program. We think it is great. So glad I got it. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Newport Beach, CA
Date:November 29, 2014

looks good, but doesn't last long

Pros: worked good for a few years
Cons: i guess they don't make them like they used to...
" It worked good for 2-3 years and then malfunctioned. I'll try another product even though I recently ordered more charcoal filters. Ugh! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2014

Current Status Over Two Years

Pros: can fit hand in carafe to clean, clock stays accurate, was quiet brewing
Cons: not quiet brewing anymore - sounds broken, clock isn't backlit for this high of a price, lid might not open under normal kitchen cabinets
" Owned two years and use it daily. The carafe's glass is very strong, I've bumped it against things that would've normally broken a different brand's glass, plus the opening at the top can fit your whole hand in to clean it. The timer has stayed accurate, unlike some that slowly get off track. The heater stays on for at least an hour after brewing (possibly two), but recently the machine has been brewing at a lower temp so I set my auto-brew 30 minutes early so the carafe heater can get the coffee up to temp. The machine is also starting to make clunking sounds as it brews, like a car with a broken transmission. The lid is long, so if you have standard kitchen cabinets you'll likely not be able to open the lid to pour water in it… you'll have to pull the unit out from underneath.
Based on the noises it's making and other reviews here, I suspect that Cuisinart designs this to not last more than a year or two. I'll possibly buy it again when finally dies, simply because I'll have an extra carafe and possibly warming plate. Having a carafe that I can fit my hand in to clean is important to me, so I find it odd that most coffee pots aren't designed like this. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Harrisburg, PA
Date:November 17, 2014

Failed after a year.

Pros: large capacity
Cons: displayis not lit cannot see to program very well, failed after a short time.
" Unit not working after about a year. It will not finish the brew cycle all the time. Tried cleaning, it worked fine for one day and still won't finish the brew cycle. I can turn it off and back on and it will then finish. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:September 4, 2014

Better than some...

Pros: easy to use/program, quiet brew cycle, adjustable warming plate temperature, gold-tone filter, quiet alarm
Cons: bad venting control panel bathed in steam, long cover, clock/lcd display not bakclit, relatively low brewing temp for some
Model Number: 5200 PC
" I purchased this product a little over a week ago at the warehouse and it works fine. There are several things about this model that need to be considered before buying it. Although it's promoted by the manufacturer as a 14 "cup" machine, it is important to note that the term "cup" refers to a ' 5 oz. serving only (a demitasse). A full cup of liquid is 8oz. and a standard sized mug (3.5"W X 4"H) holds around 1.25C of coffee. With this in mind, a full carafe will hold slightly under 9 mugs of coffee. The overall size of the machine is 15"H X 8"W with a cover 8"L, so you might need to pull the machine out from under the cabinet (to fill the unit) if cabinet height is an issue. It does have a small 0.5"vent on the back portion of the cover but it does not vent steam from the carafe itself. Sadly this design flaw causes the front control panel to be constantly enveloped/bathed in steam, which may lead to possible electronic issues over time. The machine is easy to program but the small LCD clock/panel is not backlit so it can be difficult to see in low light conditions. The machine is covered in brushed metal which is not fingerprint resistant and takes just a bit of elbow grease to keep tidy. The brewing process is quiet, and a 1/2 pot of coffee will finish in about 6 to 7 minutes; selecting the "bold" feature doesn't increase the total brewing time. When brewing has finished an alarm will sound which consists of 5 quiet beeps. The coffee maker has a warming plate with adjustable temperature levels of low, medium or high; the brew temperature can't be adjusted. I measured the temperature of the coffee immediately after the brew cycle was finished, and after 30 and 60 minutes, and found it to be 160-165 degrees for all times listed with the warming plate set to low. The unit does come with a very small packet of ground charcoal which may help to reduce the amount of chlorine and other impurities found in common tap water, but if one uses bottled water, the filter doesn't seem to be needed. Included with the machine is 1 gold-tone filter and several paper cone filters. The basic differences between the two are two-fold. Firstly, the gold-tone filter can leave a tiny amount of sediment in the carafe especially if one uses a finely ground coffee; the paper filter does not. And lastly, the paper filter can also absorb a tiny amount of the oils found in the beans, which for some, can lead to a slightly less flavorful brew. Even though I've had this machine just a short time, it seems to work just fine and I would recommend giving it a try. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:August 30, 2014

Do Not Buy - It won't last

Pros: none any more
Cons: warmer quit, auto timer quit on 2 of them, manual on-switch quit, they are junk
" Bought two of these. Bought the first one spring of 2012; the timer quit working in October 2013 - but only use it 6 months a year! Bought the second one for the lake in July 2012, because I liked the coffee in the first one and the timer (until it quit). The lake Cuisinart's pot warmer quit May 2014. Now it won't brew on "auto" or manual. Worthless. It was a lot of money for me to spend on a coffeemaker the first time, then again the second time and both quit working! Costco, you need to quit selling these coffeemakers - this product is no good. Oh, and don't bother calling Cuisinart about their so-called 3-year warranty. By the time you pay the shipping costs, you can buy a cheap pot that will probably last longer than the maybe 7 or 8 months I got out of these. Don't associate Cuisinart with quality, because it isn't. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA.
Date:August 17, 2014

Don't waste your money.

Pros: easy to program
Cons: see review
" We bought one of these in June. About a month later I opened the top to take out the filter and it looked like someone spread muddy coffee grounds all over the inside. It was completely clogged up and would not work, not even the clean cycle. I returned it with no problems, and got another one. Within a week the same thing happened, but this time I ran it through two cleaning cycles and it worked again. Within a week it had the same problem. Open the top and it looked like muddy coffee grounds all over the inside, the "shower head" everywhere. We know we did not spill any grounds into the reservoir or outside of the filter because we had only put the grounds in the basket/filter with them out of the coffee maker, and then put them in the machine and made sure so none spilled. My wife returned it and got a cheaper, and so far better working Mr. Coffee. I "
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 28, 2014

Pleased with purchase

Pros: price, design, consistency
Model Number: CBC 5200PC/DCC-2600
" I purchased this coffee maker after a Fridgidare model from Costco.com stopped working after 18 months due to water pump failure. I am very pleased with this coffee maker and it has been working well for the past 18 months I have owned it. It has all of the features I require, including a 1-4 cup setting, heat plate temp settings, and regular and bold brew option settings. I have found the machine to produce consistent and hot coffee. I purchased this machine with the Capresso conical burr grinder on Costco.com and love that as well. I have read that your grinder should cost more/be of higher quality than your coffee maker as that is what helps to differentiate a good from a great cup of coffee. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2014

Major Disapointment!

Pros: looks pretty
" I thought this was a great machine... until it just stopped. At 7 months after I bought it, with no warning, the heating element quit.
I am taking it back on Monday... and probably getting a Mr. Coffee!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon City, OR
Date:July 11, 2014

I love this product!

Pros: leak and spill proof easy no mess pouring
Cons: none as of yet
" I bought this a couple of months ago and could not be more pleased with it. I tried two thermal cuisinarts and they both leaked. This one pours spill proof, is easy to set and has self cleaning. No issues at all, after two thermal fails and an epic fail by Krups. So far so good. "
Review 20 for Cuisinart Brew Central® 14-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:June 17, 2014

~1 year lifetime

Pros: good when it works
Cons: only works for about a year
Model Number: CBC5200PC
" As is seen in a number of other reviews, this coffee maker works well for a while (about a year) and then just stops working. It is not the pump, because the cleaning cycle works just fine, and there are not clogs because I've cleaned it out with the recommended vinegar and water solution three times and everything goes through just fine. The problem in our case seems to be that the "on" button doesn't work when the machine is set to "brew". "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>