Customer Reviews for Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807/F7

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807/F7

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. LCD Brilliance with HD picture performance. The perfect large screen LCD TV for any room. Wireless access to online entertainment from the latest like NetFlix, YouTube, Vudu, Pandora, Facebook, Twitter, HuluPlus, and more. Connect your PC or MAC wirelessly to explore unlimited internet using Philips Wireless MediaConnect With Philips Wireless MediaConnect share your videos and pictures from your laptop on the TV wirelessly. Once installed on your laptop operation is quick and easy. With a click of your mouse you share the whole of your laptop screen with the TV. Use the familiar mediaplayer in your laptop, or browse webpages via your favorite web browser. No more worries about file types, if your PC can play it, your TV will show it. For your own enjoyment, and great fun to share with others.   Features: Screen Size: 50" Class   Diagonal Viewable: 49.6”   Resolution: 1080p   Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 4,000:1   Refresh rate: 60Hz   Response Time: 8ms   Viewable Angle: 176 degrees  (horizontal / vertical)   Power Consumption: 238W   Advanced Picture Setting: Back light control, customized picture calibration    Touch Sensor Buttons   ENERGY STAR Qualified 4.2    Weight: 47.62 lbs (w/ stand), 44.53 lbs (w/ out stand)   Dimensions (WxHxD): 46.3" x 30.31" x 10.63" (w/ stand), 46.3" x 28.11" x 4.53" (w/ out stand)   Audio: Built-in Speakers: 2   Equalizer: 5-bands   Output power (RMS): 2 x 10W   Sound Enhancement: Incredible Surround   Sound System: SRS TruSurround HD, Dolby Digital (AC-3), Stereo, SAP Inputs / Outputs: AV 1: CVBS in, Shared audio L/R in   AV 2: YPbPr, Shared audio L/R in   HDMI x3 With EasyLink: HDMI, Analog audio L/R in   Audio Output - Digital: Coaxial (cinch)   Other connections: Headphone out, PC-In VGA, Ethernet, Shared audio L/R in   USB: USB   EasyLink (HDMI-CEC): One touch play, Power status, System info (menu language), System audio control, System standby Includes: Table top stand   Quick start guide   User Manual   Registration card   Remote Control   Batteries for remote control   Cable Management   USB Wireless LAN Adapter   Power Cord Model:11762131
Average Customer Rating:
3.364 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
6 of 11(55%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807/F7
Review 1 for Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807/F7
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Royal Palm Beach, FL
Date:December 5, 2012

Good image, bad tuner

Pros: internet connectivity, built-in wifi
Cons: tv tuner image quality
"I bought this since the price was good, the specs we excellent, and although it is not a smart TV it offers some advanced features and apps like netflix, youtube, etc...
If you feed the signal through one of the components or HDMI inputs the image quality is good. The problem comes when you try to use the TV Tuner. Using the tuner, the image is extremely blurry. I heard people had problems with AT&T, but since I have DishNetwork I thought the experience would be different.
Again, if you plan to connect it to your TV Box via a hi-def input, then you should have no problems.
I returned mine to Cosco"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807/F7
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 30, 2012

Ok for the price

Pros: good price, overall good tv if you have a stero to plug into., big screen
Cons: low quality sound
"The picture is good for an LCD but the sound is very low. I had the volume all the way up and could not hear the tv from about 10'. I returned it and got a Vizio, much better sound, $100 more but well worth it."
Review 3 for Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807/F7
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Azusa, CA
Date:October 31, 2012

GREAT buy and BEST price!

Pros: best buy for the price paid, easy set up, wireless and internet ready
Cons: no audio out, net tv functions a bit slow
Model Number: Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807/F7
"I've got this TV since August (3 months already) and it's been working great! It took 10-15 minutes to setup out of the box: easy auto channel search, easy connection with the wireless router, and easy to set up with my Blue Ray player.
Picture quality is also great. Before I bought this, I researched a lot too and went to many stores to compare the picture quality with other similar (and more expensive) models and this one beats most of them.
A couple of not so great areas are probably, like every reviewers commenting on, the audio out connection. TV speakers are great and more than enough for every day watching but may be a little lacking if you want to do a movie party. Anyhow, I've connected my home theater system with my Blue Ray player, so I'm fine with this issue.
Second caveat, which is not big deal, is the Net TV is quite slow. This is my first wireless ready TV, so I cannot compare with others. It might be like this with other Net TV as well? I won't know... Since it's very minor issue, I still give this TV a full 5 star review!
In summary, a great buy if you're on a budget. Also, I've had another Philips TV for 10+ years and it's still working great! My stereo system is also Philips!"
Review 4 for Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807/F7
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:October 12, 2012

Does not work with Att Uverse

Pros: nice picture
Cons: can't connect with hdmi cable.
Model Number: Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807
"I just recently purchased this TV and although the picture quality is great it will not work with At&t Uverse. You can not connect the TV using a HDMI cable. I did a google search and found that many people have had this problem."
Review 5 for Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807/F7
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:U S A
Date:October 6, 2012

Poor TV

Pros: 0
Model Number: 52pfl7403d/f7
"Please DO NOT buy this product.
I bought this TV about 2 years ago and at first this TV shut off by itself every 2-3 second and turned back on about 2-3 times per day.
About one year ago, screen started to develop these strange horizontal bubble-like line. As the months passed, the lines on the screen have worsened. I called Phillips' customer service but they would not return my calls. I will never buy another Phillips product again. Very very poor product and customer service."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807/F7
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Date:September 28, 2012

Good Purchase

Pros: great picture and sound.
Cons: initial set-up was difficult.
"Purchased this TV for a second bedroom because it has Wifi. Now all our TV's stream Netflix! It is wall-mounted and is not as "smart" as some other TV's we have purchased from Costco in the past, but for the price it is worth the aggravation."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807/F7
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kent, WA
Date:September 22, 2012

Outstanding!

Pros: too many list., outstanding value for the price!
Cons: sound from stock speakers not great.
Model Number: 50PFL3807
"I just bought this TV yesterday. This is the first TV I have purchased in 12 years (the last, also being from Costco).
I had been looking a a large screen TV for awhile, and when I saw this, for the price, I decided to do some research on it. The average review from multiple sites, is about 4.5 out of 5, with the only complaint being about AT&T Uvesrse (I have no idea what that is, so I didn't care).
Another issue was, connecting to your home LAN network, and the Philips MediaConnect. I had no problems with either, and it took maybe 10 minutes to connect both, and it was easy as pie (so easy, a 5th grader could do it).
I have ALWAYS connected my PC to my TV for moveis, music, and gaming. I always had a mess of cables, and Y cables because of it, not to mention needing a vid card with TV out. The wireless MediaConnect, is AWESOME. None of that mess, I LOVE IT!
The picture is great, and I love all the options, very configurable.
My only issue, is that the sound from the TV speakers is not that great. I of course will be hooking up my external sound system to it, so it is not an issue, but, if you are buying this with no external audio system, you may not be happy with the sound.
Also, all the internet connectivity that it comes with is OUTSTANDING. Netflix, Vudu, Hulu, YouTube, Pandora, Facebook..... amazing. All the other TV's I looked at with all those options were a lot more. Amazing value.
I do not think anybody that is working on a budget, will be disappointed with this TV.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807/F7
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:September 7, 2012

Great Value - Great TV

Pros: great picture, great sound, easy to set up wireless access
"I was a bit sceptical about this TV at this price. I have never been let down by Costco so I took a punt and so glad I did. This is a great TV, full of powerful features. It is a perfect size for any room, has a crystal clear picture and I just love it.
You just can't beat the value. I have already recommended this to other friends and family and would recommend it to anyone!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807/F7
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clemmons, NC
Date:August 14, 2012

Sensational Value

Pros: easy to hook to the internet, great picture, easy to understand setup menu
Cons: would like an audio out connection
Model Number: 55PFL7705DV
"Spectacular entertainment device! We have had the 55" version of this TV for several months now and it has exceeded all our expectations. We have it hooked to Dish Network and an attic antenna. It is also hooked wirelessly to our Clear/TP-Link home network, an HP notebook and an HP Pavilion desktop and a wii game unit. It all works and was easy to set up. The picture is the best I have ever seen. It is great to show YouTube videos from the laptop so everyone in the room can see them at the same time. We also can run whatever is on the TV screen to the desktop. A couple of caveats: there is no audio out connector. The internal speakers are OK for normal viewing, but we like to use our surround system when watching movies. Fortunately we can run the sound from the DVD or Dish box into the surround receiver and that works fine. Also, Dish network does not broadcast our local channels in HD. Even though it is broadcast in HD and says HD on the screen, it is not HD. If something is on a local channel (like the NFL) and we want to see it in HD we use the attic antenna. This TV is remarkable in that it hooks to everything we have."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807/F7
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:July 30, 2012

Compatibility problem with AT&T Uverse

Pros: direct connection with netflix
Cons: cannot get hd with uverse
"We also had a problem connecting this tv with Uverse. Although we were finally able to get it connected, we cannot get HD. I think his would be a great TV if you do not have Uverse. We will be returning this tv to Costco."
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips 50" 1080p LCD HDTV 50PFL3807/F7
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:July 18, 2012

Do not buy if you have ATT Uverse

"We tried for 3 hours to connect our TV and it wouldn't work. no signal. Finally the support team at phillips told us they have connectivity issues with Uverse boxes and this TV. They are sending us a new box to see if that resolves it, but I am not hopeful this will even work. It seems like a nice TV, and a nice price, but it's not worth all the hassle."
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.