Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Power Switch 100 SpaceSaver® Weights

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Gold's Gym Power Switch 100 SpaceSaver® Weights

Conveniently store 34 dumbbells in one space-saving adjustable dumbbell set. The variety of weights will fit all your strength training needs while the knurled handles provide a safe and stable grip.  The stand is also included. Convenient Weight Stand: Keeps Weights in Reach   Handy Weight Trays   Broad Stable Base Ergonomic Hand Grips: Curved to Better Fit Hand   Padded for More Comfort   Durable Commercial Design   Product Specifications: 100 Lbs. of Total Weight   Weight Trays with Storage Trays   10-50 Lbs. of Weight per Dumbbell   Comfortable Rubber Handgrips   Commercial Construction   Easy-to-Adjust Knobs   Assembly Required   Total Product Weight with Stand: 142 lbs Model: GGNSAW10006
Average Customer Rating:
2.143 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
(out of 7 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
2 of 7(29%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Power Switch 100 SpaceSaver® Weights
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Power Switch 100 SpaceSaver® Weights
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:June 27, 2012

Seemed Good, But No

Pros: price
Cons: bad design
"I received the shipment quickly in three separate boxes. Initially I thought they looked great, however as soon as I tried to adjust the amount of weight on the second dumbbell, I realized the adjustment mechanism was broken. The construction of this part of the set seem cheap and like it would be prone to breaking even if the set came in perfect condition. Taking this product back to the store."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Power Switch 100 SpaceSaver® Weights
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:November 28, 2013

Arrived Broken

Pros: good grip, decent price
Cons: cheap materials, poor weight changing mechanism
"After reading the other reviews i decided to give these a try since Costco has such a liberal return policy, it arrived quickly in 3 boxes and i started to put it all together which was very simple.
When i took the weights out i noticed a crack on the first one and the second was busted on one side. also the mechanism to change the weights is a sticky, not sure if that's because of it being cracked on the end but it seems cheaply made.
Honestly if it didn't arrive broken i think it would work well for my needs."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Power Switch 100 SpaceSaver® Weights
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2012

not a great alternative to standard dumbells

"I haven't had some of the problems that other reviewers have had, but I'm just not a fan of the overall design of these adjustable weights. I think they're a bit too long, and exercises involving both can be a bit clumsy because I tend to knock them into each other. One particular exercise I like to do involves lifting them from a seated position, starting with the weights under my thighs, and these are a bit too big for that."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Power Switch 100 SpaceSaver® Weights
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:VIRGINIA
Date:August 21, 2012

No Good

"I must have received the same set as the 1st reviewer. It seemed good until I put everything together and noticed the mechanism was broke. If it wasn't already broke, it would have in the near future. Poor design mixing plastic with metal. Costco needs to get rid of these and get something better built. Don't order it unless you want to go through the same experience. This is why I buy from Costco
(easy return policy).
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Power Switch 100 SpaceSaver® Weights
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:February 2, 2014

Broken Item Shipped

Pros: none
Cons: broen item
"The item was broken before I even got to use it. Two of the screws had fallen off in the box. I tried to put it back and screw it back on, but the screws just did not tighten. When I looked at the the two screws I could tell someone had tried tightening these since the thread was worn off."
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Power Switch 100 SpaceSaver® Weights
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:January 28, 2014

Broke on Arrival

Pros: none. unreliable junk.
Cons: cheap broken on arrival., returning will be a hassle
Model Number: GGNSAW10006
"The side pieces that hold the weights in place are made of plastic. And guess what? Plastic breaks! They arrived with one broken dumbbell. 3 boxes, time to put the stand together, and did not get to use them once.
Now, what do I do? Take it all apart and repackage it? Take the whole thing back to a store?
Costco should drop this product. What a giant inconvenience."
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Power Switch 100 SpaceSaver® Weights
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:January 2, 2014

Had mine for over 5 years

Pros: design is compact, easy to switch weights between reps, can have uneven settings at 17.5/22.5 pounds
Cons: handle grip causes palm pain during long sessions, sometimes select gets stuck, no ability to add more weights.
"I bought these dumbbells from Kirkland Costco store over 5 years ago.
I use these dumbbells in addition to my regular equipment to add variety so I don't get bored: like shoulder shrugs, flies, curls, bent rows, seated presses etc
The bulge in the handle does pose a problem when doing extended exercises. Normally, if exercise set is less than a minute there is no problem. After 2 minutes in bench flies, the handle bump pressing down on the palms create pain in the hands. Sometimes I just have to stop exercising (putting the weights down) due to the pain."