Customer Reviews for FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical

Bring commercial-grade quality home with the FreeMotion® 510 Rear Drive Elliptical. Compatible with iFit Live™ Technology, this elliptical delivers workouts Powered by Google Maps™, training with Jillian Michaels and tracking for your fitness goals. A Power Intensity™ Ramp offers inclines up to 30° with the simple touch of a button so you can target your glutes, quads and calves for customized results. And, with an 18 – 20” adjustable stride, you can sculpt and tone different muscles for more defined results. Packed with superior features, the FreeMotion® 510 Rear Drive Elliptical gives you a club-quality workout from the comfort of home. iFit Live™ Technology Compatible* Take advantage of superior technology with iFit Live™ Technology. Powered by Google Maps™, this technology allows you to work out on any course in the world! You choose the route, and the elliptical automatically adjusts the resistance and incline to match the intensity of the terrain! Plus, lose weight with America’s Toughest Trainer—Jillian Michaels! The ultimate motivation, Jillian’s voice coaches you through your unique weight-loss program to help you burn calories, slim down and reach your goals! And, track your nutrition, weight goals, event training and other information at iFit.com. Your workout results from any map, Jillian Michaels or manual workout are automatically uploaded in real time to your personal profile. With iFit Live™ Technology, you’ll get the workout program you need for maximum results.   *Requires iFit Live™ wireless adapter. Wireless adapter sold separately. Google and Google Maps are registered trademarks of Google, Inc. Power Intensity™ Ramp Get customized results—change the incline of your stride with the touch of a button. Isolate your glutes with a 10° incline, your quads with a 20° incline or your calves with a 30° incline. You’ll get the body you want fast! 18 – 20” Adjustable Stride Sculpt and tone your lower body by changing the way your muscles work. With each stride adjustment, you’ll target different muscle groups for more defined results (stride adjusts by changing power ramp angle). Oversized, Adjustable Pedals with Cushioning Quickly adjust your toe-to-heel angle to target different muscle groups! Each adjustment tones and sculpts your lower body for more defined results! 30 Workout Apps Enjoy health club-quality training at home with 30 built-in workout apps. Designed by a Certified Personal Trainer, each app has a preset speed, time, distance and resistance so all you have to do is press start! You’ll target your quads, calves and core for maximum calorie burn and increased performance.   1-Step™ Resistance Controls Transform your workouts into progressive training with 20 digital resistance levels. A quick adjustment adds intensity to your workout for faster results! Plus, each adjustment is smooth and natural with SMR™ Silent Magnetic Resistance. Compatible Music Port for iPod®* Stay motivated to lose weight with your favorite music! Plug your iPod® or MP3 player into the Intermix Acoustics™ 2.0 Sound System and enjoy incredible sound through the built-in 2” speakers. *iPod is a trademark of Apple, Inc., registered in the US and other countries. iPod® not included. Dual-Grip Heart Rate Monitor   Forever change the way you work out with heart rate training! Two hand-grip heart rate sensors are conveniently built-in to the elliptical’s handlebars so you stay in the right training zone for maximum results. CoolAire™ Workout Fan Keep cool during your workout with a sophisticated fan built right into the console. Just like the AC in your car, this fan allows you to quickly adjust the settings so you stay comfortable and refreshed. 5” Backlit Display Sleek, stylish, sophisticated—this easy-to-read display tracks your speed, time, distance and calories burned so you stay on top of your workout. RaceTrack™ Display Watch your progress on this quarter-mile, track-style display. Shaped like a racecourse, this feature will help you visualize your progress as if you were running on the track.     Soft-Touch Upper-Body Workout Arms Accelerate your weight loss with this total-body, low-impact workout. Upper-body workout arms engage your arms and core as well as your lower body for greater calorie burn, increased muscle tone and unmatched results. Inertia-Enhanced Flywheel Enjoy a more comfortable workout with the benefits of our inertia-enhanced flywheel. Designed for smoother performance, a faster gear ratio and effective weight placement deliver a more natural striding experience. Commercial-Gauge Solid-Steel Construction Built to take on your toughest workouts, this elliptical was made with commercial-gauge solid steel. Plus, it’s undergone rigorous testing to deliver incredible quality. SpaceSaver® Design Maximize your space with the patented SpaceSaver® Design. Quickly fold the base and pedals up and out of the way. Water Bottle Holder Stay hydrated throughout your workout by keeping your water bottle close. This convenient water bottle holder is built-in to the elliptical for easy access. Transport Wheels Adapted for home use, the commercial-quality 510 Rear Drive Elliptical moves easily from room to room with convenient, built-in transport wheels. 325 lb. Weight Capacity Accommodating up to 325 lbs., this commercial-grade elliptical is built for strength and durability.    Warranty The 510 Rear Drive Elliptical is backed by a Lifetime Frame Warranty and a 1-Year Parts & Labor Warranty. Additional Information Product Weight: 225 lbs   Assembled footprint: 81”x26” (LxW)   110v Plug in required Model:SFEL16011
Average Customer Rating:
2.583 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
(out of 12 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
6
5 of 12(42%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical
Review 1 for FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:White Salmon, WA
Date:December 29, 2012

Beware,... and very low-resistance

Pros: has great features but if it's not working :(
Cons: assembly hassle, super slow shipping, having to return it :( what a pain
Model Number: Freemotion 510
"This elliptical is replacing a Nordictrac my wife and I wore out (also a Costco buy 6yrs. ago) and replacement parts were prohibitively expensive.
General: This Freemotion appears well made on the surface and has great features (that's where the 2 stars came from). BUT,... the 2-hour+ assembly time (I'm a mechanically capable guy), was a pain, as was getting it into a basement, very awkward and difficult.
Shipping: It was ridiculous and took almost 4 weeks to arrive and a frustrating amount of hassle to track it down and coordinate arrival with a non-residential shipper (JB Hunt).
Performance: IF it worked it might be a great and worthy replacement of the Nordictrac commercial 1300 we're replacing (i think I liked the NT better anyway). But this Freemotion was nearly exactly as named with barely 20% of the resistance available on the NT). I expect a workout on these things. I had to call the Tech Help with the manufacturer and the only adjustment to check on these is the belt tension, it was totally fine. The motor systems on these are preset/non-adjustable. I had a hard time getting sweat going, waaayyy too easy. The tech admitted "yep these do have lighter resistance" and, I believe we got a lemon as well.
Quality: This thing was a bit suspect. The welds were pretty messy, and the alignment of arms and spacing a little off. I had a clunking noise on the left side arm that I could not resolve.
Outcome: I'm taking it back today (12/29/2012). How much fun is repacking an elliptical? You know the answer. Way too many faults here too swallow. 2-stars might be too generous. If it worked as it was expected, it's a 4. The NT we have that's out of commission is a 5, love that thing."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Marietta, GA
Date:May 9, 2013

Quality and service issues

Pros: none
Cons: i don't know any as it never worked.
Model Number: e510
"I am not sure why my first review did not get published. Maybe because it was too long as I told details about my experience.
4 months after I bought it, I finally went through the pain to take it apart, pack it back to the box and return it.
In the 4 months, I experienced the following:
- Long hold time on service calls to the service company.
- Spending my own time to open up the machine to find that I got a rusty flywheel and broken piece about the control insertion in the wheel.
- Weeks of wait for replacement parts to be shipped as they were on back order.
- 3 technician visits, had to take time off from work.
- Trouble of taking the machine apart and put it back into the box.
I have to say that Costco is great. I did not have to deal with the service company after first 3 or so phone calls and emails to them. I call Costco.com service number and they took over the communication. I was offered the options to return or fix the machine and I chose to fix it at the time. After all the services and troubles, I decided to return it and Costco.com had no problem on authorizing the return."
Review 3 for FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2013

A frustrating ordeal

Pros: costco allowed me to return the product
Cons: overall a poorly constructed piece of equipment
Model Number: Freemotion 510
"Initially I was fairly happy with the machine, altough I could never get the right pedal to quit squeeking no matter what I tried. After a few months I found it necessary to disassemble the machine and, using a solvent, clean the dried crusted grease off and replace it with a lithium grease.
Finally bearings started wearing and the flywheel started clunking. I contacted the manufacturer and they sent some replacement parts and a contract service rep who did nothing. At this juncture I was talked into buying a extended warranty since the 1 year mark was approaching. In all I recieved 4-5 shipments of various parts, talked with the companies own repair person (from Utah) on 3 occasions. My machine was never fixed. After almost 3 months since contacting the manufacturer it was returned to Costco. The $150 for the extended warranty was a loss, the manufacturer refused to refund this. Secondly, the manufacturer asked me to return the sent spare parts at my expense. In summary, if you plan on actually using this piece of equipment, don't buy it.
"
Review 4 for FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Date:December 18, 2012

Beware of FreeMotion Repair issues

Cons: unrepairable at any reasonable cost
Model Number: 310R recumbent bicycle
"This is a comment about dealing with FreeMotion on repair issues on out of warranty products. Basically they have designed and priced their repair policies to make it impossible to fix their products at any affordable price. I have recently tried to get a FreeMotion recumbent bicycle repaired out of warranty, and the cost of replacing something as basic as the electronic controller costs more than the original price of the complete unit. So I am faced with sending to the dump a major piece of exercise equipment because of ridiculous repair policies and costs. A reasonable expectation when one purchases something is that if when an item breaks one can get it repaired for reasonable costs, especially for a product not designed to be disposable like 100 lb. exercise equipment. FreeMotion defies this expectation. FreeMotion also refuses to provide access to any tech support personnel who might help debug a problem, and refuses to make available any service manuals, guaranteeing that it is virtually impossible to repair their products."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Irving, Tx
Date:August 19, 2012

Excellent value for the price

Pros: great price, very sturdy, stunning display, handle grips/heart monitor help a lot
Cons: initial foot rest squeak
Model Number: 510
"Nicely labeled nuts/bolts made assembly easier. Smooth/quiet operation. Purchased @ warehouse at the start of 2012.
I had a squeak coming from the foot rest that I could not figure out. Tried reseating, cleaning, lubing, until I put it on setting #3 then the noise went away. Have not changed the setting since then. I would not hesitate purchasing this unit again.
This unit replaced a worn out Nordictrack CXT 910. I still haven't bought the ICON workout cartridge that allows the unit to get a wifi connection and allow you to do Google maps workouts. (When and if I do I will post another review.)
I would give this a 4.5 star review, but there is no 'half-star' option.
"
20 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:East Lansing, Michigan
Date:April 6, 2013

Save your bucks

Pros: low cost
Cons: wobbly and unstable even after pro adjustment, needs $100/yr subscription to be accurate
Model Number: 510e
"Don't believe for a minute that you are getting commercial grade. I literally wore out my previous elliptical and have used at least ten others in hotels and fitness centers, and can tell you this is not even close to that level of quality. It wobbles and generally feels unstable -- even after professional adjustment. The company doesn't and won't give you a listing of the 20 programs and how to use them for specific results. The programs seem set to give accurate results only for those who weigh around 250lbs. To get accurate, useful info requires a $100/yr subscription."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lees Summit, MO
Date:January 5, 2013

Good value for the money

Pros: solid design for the price, smooth motion, quiet so far
Cons: solo assembly is difficult, missing one small cosmetic part, rather large and difficult to move
Model Number: SFEL16011
"Machine arrived quickly and safely. Assembly was a pain, but mainly because I did it myself. An extra set of hands would have been helpful. The process itself really wasn't that bad. I've used it a handful of time so far and have no complaints. I haven't noticed any unusual rattles or squeaks so far. The incline and resistance ranges are enough to provide any level of workout you could ask for. The structure seems very stable. I'm 6'2" and 225lbs. I seem to fit comfortably on this machine. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this product to a friend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:May 7, 2013

Waste of money

"Poor quality, poor equipment. Always making some noise when you use it. Sounds as if it was going to break from underneath you. Bought this piece twice, and both times it was terrible. First time we bought this, my husband put it together.. and it was making noises... We returned it... bought it again and had it professionally installed, and it was making terrible noises as if it was to break. Don't waste your money and energy on this."
Review 9 for FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:January 30, 2013

Missing parts and serial number!

Pros: it works well, space saving, easy to build
Cons: missing parts, features need additional purchases, serial number missing!!!!!!!!!!!, too heavy to move
Model Number: SFEL16011
"FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical ...
so where to begin... it is missing two parts.. IT DOESNT HAVE THE SERIAL NUMBER!!... the button to press to pull down the wheel gets stuck and need something hard to press it... lifting the pedals while folding up gets stuck... needs wifi adapter (sold separately) to use ifit live or google maps .... It is extremely difficult to move alone...
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tukwilla, WA
Date:December 13, 2012

Excellent Elliptical

Pros: quite, sturdy, feels solid, good quality materials
Cons: serial number was difficult to find
Model Number: FreeMotion® 510 SpaceSaver® Elliptical
"The elliptical showed up at my doorsteps on time. Putting it together was relatively easy (required help of my friend). Overall, the elliptical is quite, very sturdy - good quality built. The serial number of the unit, however, is located on the shipping box, not on the frame as specified in the manual."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2013

Love it!

Pros: great price and great product
"I have had this eliptical for 1 1/2 years and cannot say enough about it. It works great, gives a great workout, and I have had no troubles at all."
Review 12 for FreeMotion® 510 Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:December 1, 2012

Best purchase

Model Number: Free-Motion 510
"Easy to assemble, looks great. No squeaks or noises when using."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.