Customer Reviews for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™

The country’s number one residential spotless water system can now be yours! Enjoy what others have been enjoying and raving about for years. WASH, RINSE AND WALK AWAY! Never before has a Spotless Water System been produced that gives you the peace of mind like the CR Spotless DIC-20 system does. Hard water spots can destroy your vehicle’s finish. With a CR Spotless DIC-20  Spotless Water System™, you can let your car, boat, RV, house windows, etc., air dry with no worries that hard water spots will appear. Say good-bye to towel drying and the scratches that towels and chamois can cause. Even use it between washes for a quick “dust off” to keep your investments looking Spotless all the time. De-ionized water is perfect for washing and SPOT-FREE rinsing of your: Cars / trucks   RVs   Motorcycles   Boats   Golf cars   House windows   Patio furniture   Decks Includes: DIC-20 with in-line TDS meter   (2) 20” cartridges filled with de-ionizing resin   4’ inlet hose (attaches to hose bib)   Nozzle (7 pattern garden sprayer)   Roll of Teflon plumber’s tape   Housing wrench   Quick start guide/warranty card   Bonus: (2) sets quick connects   Bonus: (2) bags of resin (R2-20) Features: A water de-ionization system, not a water softener   Removes all minerals and dissolved solids from the water   Battery operated, in-line TDS meter to monitor the water quality in and out of the system   Ergonomically designed cart with a padded handle   Easy to refill resin or replace cartridges when needed   Seven pattern garden hose nozzle with FLAT setting   4’ inlet hose to attach to hose spigot Benefits: Produces 100% pure, mineral-free de-ionized water   Pure water evaporates without leaving any spots behind   Know when it’s time to change or refill the cartridges before spots appear   Take it anywhere… easily rolls and maneuvers with one hand   No need to send it back for regeneration   Flat spray pattern restricts water flow and increases pressure   Everything is supplied even the hoses! System Requirements: Standard garden hose bib   Need to restrict water flow to 4 gallons per minute or less with supplied nozzle on FLAT pattern or optional pressure washer Model:DIC-20
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
(out of 63 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
56 of 63(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Review 1 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ft. Collins, Colorado
Date:December 28, 2011

Barely worthwhile, for hard to reach windows

Pros: good if you're too lazy to blow off your vehicle., has wheels to assist moving around. ha!
Cons: burdensome expensive spots impractical., you're hooked for their costly resins.
Model Number: 180790, CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System
"I don't know about the others that are blown away by this unit, but after washing a car then rinsing, if any of the vehicle dries, or has any residual soap in crevices, this WILL leave spots after the second, "ionized" rinse. That leaves out any SUVs as there's no way to rinse off the entire vehicle before this happens and then utilize the unit as an additional rinse; especially as you can only push through 2.5 GPM.
After I wash a vehicle then rinse thoroughly, I use an electric yard blower to remove 99% of the water, much as an automatic car wash does. This blows out water and any residual soap stuck in corners and crevices, preventing dirt accumulation and rust. This follows with a clean cloth for any residual water remaining. By far, this is the best, and touchless way to dry your car, SUV, or motorcycle, and prevent spotting. It’s easier too, and essentially free, sans a little electricity. Even better for motorcycles which have all kinds of nooks and crannies.
With this unit, you can only rinse off the vehicle after first "rinsing it off" with regular water. That means this is only good for someone too lazy to wipe their vehicle dry with a soft cloth after blow drying. The unit works like a "wetting agent," helps water flow off. Mind you, I said HELPS! You'll still have many areas that will take a long time to dry depending on your geographical area/climate, but you WILL have spots.
I debated, but finally decided I'll keep mine, but not for use with any vehicles. My only use for it will be to rinse windows that I can barely reach with a long extension wand and window sponge. Usually, these windows are too hard to reach with the squeegee portion with any downward force, so this unit will function to wash off the window cleaner, and air dry with a better sheen than a plain water rinse. At best, an improvement for this purpose.
BTW, as someone else pointed out, when 1st removing spent cartridges, the plastic tool broke. They wanted to charge me for another. As others pointed out, if these cartridges are not tightened securely, your "ionized" water will squirt out at these "O" ring fittings, basically washing your money and "ionized water" down the drain. Good idea, but not practical in real use, especially for large vehicles. Of course dragging this thing out each time, switching hoses, allowing canisters to fill slowly as instructed, etc., is more extra work than the blowing method I described. For the money, I'd give it a "0" star rating if that was an option. Think it over. Try your blower, then thank me.
"
10 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 12, 2011

AWESOME Product ! ! ! -- Works FANTASTIC ! ! !

Pros: excellent product and excellent customer service, built very well
Cons: resin refills are a bit pricey
Model Number: DIC-20
"I've had my CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System approximately 2 years now and I can't praise it enough. It's fantastic!! And the windows look like they were put in the dishwasher and had Jet Dry used on them....never saw windows that clean and spotless...they sparkle!! Incredible machine! And the Customer Service is just as incredible as the machine...it's excellent!! Had a small issue, called Chuck at CR Spotless, and he was great!! Wonderful person and very helpful. Sure, the resin refills are a bit pricey, but if you develop a good wash system it's not an issue. I use it only for the rinse and then do not touch the car. I let it air dry in the garage and it comes out perfect...and I'm picky when it comes to cleaning my cars...they have to be perfect or I do them again until they are. I live in San Diego and I tested our water. 499 TDS!!! Can you believe it's so high!? Even with that I get 100 gallons (plus or minus 8%) per resin load and use only 6.5 - 7 gallons washing a full size SUV. My sports car needs about 3 - 3.5 gallons. Do the math. That's quite a few car washes for every resin load and that's here in San Diego where the water is probably as bad as it gets. Just think if you lived where the TDS was down around 50 TDS or so how many washes you'd get. Bottom line, this is an EXCELLENT PRODUCT backed up by EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE. If you're thinking of getting a De-Ionizing Water System you’ll be glad you chose the CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System. Stop by the Poway Costco sometime. Maybe you'll see one of my Porsche Motor Cars in the parking lot and then you'll be able to see for yourself just how great this system works."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson AZ
Date:September 16, 2011

THIS CR SPOTLESS DE-IONIZER CAR WASHER IS AWESOME

Pros: not enough space to list all the pros
Cons: newer version doesn't monitor tds input
Model Number: CR-20
"I was uncomfortable about makeing a $400 purchase (with tax) for for cleaning my new BMW Z4 but after a year of debating and dealing with water spots I FINALLY decided to splurge and order it.
I found a used on on Craigslist but the shipping made it not much less than new.
I can't believe I waited so long to buy this thing.
I never write reviews but this thing is so amazing that I had to voice my thoughts.
I live in Tucson and sometimes my cars OAT gets close to 120deg and keeping spots off the car is impossible,
I used this for the first time the other night and I will never wash the car without it.
It's a different version though than what I've seen online. This TDS meter does not monitor input which I wish it did so I could see what my water level is at to gauge how long the resin would last.
I guess i can take out the cartridges and run it to see.
Anyways, I filled up a bucket with car soap and the DI water, gave the car a quick rinse and then washed and rinsed with the DI and was scared to leave it to dry but I did. Came back later and not a single spot.
It would be cool if the TDS meter also read GHP just to see how much your using. I guess I could put one inline.
IF YOU ARE ON THE FENCE OF SPENDING $400 TO KEEP YOUR CAR CLEAN, GET OFF IT AND GO BUY IT. YOU'LL BE 100% SATISFIED AND IF NOT IT'S COSTCO, JUST RETURN IT."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BIRMINGHAM, AL
Date:September 16, 2011

Works Great and Worth Every Penny

Pros: easy to use portable works great time saving
Cons: none
Model Number: CR SPOTLESS DE-IONIZING SPOTLESS WATER DIC-20
"After reading the reviews and agonizing over spending that much money, I took a chance and purchased it. I own a limousine service in Birmingham, Al and washing and drying a black stretch limo is quite a chore...especially in the heat and with all the mineral deposits in our public water. It use to take me 2.5 hours just to wash and dry it because of the water spots and the fact that it would dry so fast in 90 degree heat. I found myself going back over areas because it dried so fast leaving streaks and spots. It now only takes an hour to wash it. I can confidently tell you that after washing and rinsing with regular tap water and then going back over the entire car and rinsing our new 2011 jet black limo with this product, we never put a water blade or dry towel on it.... after 30 minutes I nervously went back to see the results...I was amazed, no water spots, not even on the chrome! I have used this product a total of 4 times and each time the results are perfect. It has saved me time and wear on the paint....not to mention saving me from back breaking work! Without a doubt, it's the BEST purchase I've made for my business. Very simple to use and is mounted on a wheeled caddy for easy portability. SUPER PRODUCT!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bountiful, Utah
Date:January 1, 2013

Works OK, But COSTLY refills

Pros: seems to eliminate most but not all water spots.
Cons: short life of a very expensive refill., cheap (as in leaky chinese junk) spray nozzle.
"Purchased this last summer to wash my black and gold 38ft motor home with. I have to admit it eliminates most of the water spotting. I only used it for the final rinse, and then very sparingly. I know our culinary water in the Salt Lake city area isn't the best, but after just seven rinses the meter was reading 20, which means time to replace the resin. I really was excepting to get a few more rinses out of a resin refill. Another issues I have with it is the very cheap (as in Junk) sprayer nozzle they supply with it and instruct you to use only that nozzle so you restrict the the water flow to the proper GPM. Surely for what this unit costs you deserve a better spray nozzle. I inquired on the company website if there was a another alternative sprayer I could purchase, this was over three months ago, they never replied. Says allot for their customer service doesn't it. Anyway when you consider the short life of the expensive refills, plus the hassle of dragging the unit out and putting it away each time, I think I was better off just using my old squeeze and towels. Unless you are a real lazy car buff that has a lot of money to throw away on refills, I can't recommend this."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Bruno, CA
Date:November 20, 2008

Best Purchase I Ever Made

Pros: works beyond expectations
Cons: none
"I live on the Coast of California where I have three main issues. First, I have extremely hard water; in fact it is classified as the hardest in the United States. So I would get water spots that are very difficult to remove. Second, my driveway is below a set of power lines where my neighbors birds like to sit and drop stuff on my cars. Third, living on the coast brings marine salt layer.
Before the Spotless I had to wash one section of the car and quickly towel dry it or it would spot up my paint and windows with thick ridged spots. It was real difficult situation and basically I didn't wash my vehicles as much as I should have. Now I can just hose down the car without worries of any spots.
If some birds leave me a present I can just hose it off before I leave for work.
If the fog brings the salt, I just hose the salt off and go. I never have to dry my car since I bought the Spotless.
I use it on the windows of the house. It works great of just cleaning the glass on the cars if I don't have time to clean the entire car.
Can't beat the Costco deal. Just buy it. I highly recommend it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Sierras, California
Date:November 9, 2008

Easily the best detailing product I own

"I purchased one of these units from a specialty shop (and paid somewhat more than the Costco price!) -- I'm a true-believer now -- It works as advertised. I have a black high performance sedan (the first black car I've owned.) I like to keep my vehicles looking nice and really fretted about trying to just keep the car clean, let alone looking nice. In short, this Spotless filtration unit makes it easy. I use standard tap water for the actual cleaning and rinse with the Spotless system. As the other reviewer states, even the glass is *perfect* (with NO MANUAL DRYING!) I *do* take the time to blow off the excess moisture with shop air (we have a lot of pine pollen in the area, so if you can get the droplets off, they won't get contaminated with airborne pollutants). In any case, I cannot recommend this product enough -- It's one of those things that "just works.""
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2008

Best Car Wash Product on the Market

"I live in Scottsdale, AZ where the water is as bad as it gets. Once the water dried on your car or windows, you had the chore of trying to get the waterspots off. I refuse to go to the local carwashes, because they don't clean your car like I do my own.
I have tried all kinds of products that claim you can wash your car or windows waterspot free, but none of them really worked until I found CR Spotless system. I was hesitant at first due to the price, but coming from Costco, I realized that if it didn't perform as claimed, I could just simply return it to Costco with no questions asked.
The CR Spotless system will give you a waterspot free wash without the need to dry your car, even in full sun. This system really works and I would recommend anyone who has hard water to try this, it does what it claims to do."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gold Canyon, AZ
Date:April 21, 2013

Spot Free Wash at Home, Easy to use!

Pros: perfect spot free dry
Cons: cost and size. (but its a necessary evil)
Model Number: DIC-20
"Simply amazing! I live in Phoenix Arizona and am supplied with city water where the hardness of the water is greater than 20 (extremely hard water), and the PPM exceed 800. Without using this unit I would wash as fast as I could and then, promptly dry the car by hand but the end result was always dreadfully disappointing. USING THIS CR SPOTLESS DIC-20 system IS AMAZING! NO SPOTS! NO FUSS? Simple to use, highly effective! YOU SIMPLY CANT GET A BETTER CLEAN water! (You still have to scrub the vehicle... but at least you dont have to worry about drying issues, spots and contaminates! ) I also use the unit inline with the costco 2.5gal/min pressure washer and the two work together flawlessly!! A+++ unit! Thank you Spotless! And Thank you COSTCO for carrying this unit online!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:February 1, 2011

Very impressed!

Pros: works perfectly, excellent build quality
Cons: replacement resin is somewhat expensive
Model Number: DIC-20
"I finally came to the realization that I was destroying my car (my baby) with these automatic car washes. I spent a ton of money getting all of the scratches and swirles removed from the paint.
Then I switched modes completely. I bought myself a two bucket wash system with grit guard, proper microfiber wash mitts, quality soap, and this CR Spotless rinse system. Now it takes me no time to safely and pefectly wash and dry my car.
I was amazed the first time I tried it, just washed and sprayed it off with this system, and she dried absolutely perfect. Not a spot anywhere! Also, no additional potential for swirls when drying the car. This is the first "miracle" product that I've ever used that worked exactly as described. I'm hooked!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:May 17, 2011

Great product, but...

Model Number: DIC-20
"This is a great product, its a huge time saver, and it does what it says it does, spotless car washes... but, The description can be a little misleading, for one, it did not come with a 50' garden hose or quick connects like it says it does. It did come with the extra resin refills tho. Also, there has been a upgrade to the system and you can no longer monitor the PPM water IN quality. You can only monitor the PPM water OUT quality. You used to be able to see the IN and OUT water quality, and the description says you can, but the description is outdated.
Just remember that you want to use the CR spotless water for a final rinse only, specially in real hard water areas, because otherwise, you will go through resin rather quickly."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:February 6, 2013

Good performance but too expensive

Pros: truly spotless on new resin, well designed overall
Cons: resin too expensive, resin messy to replace
Model Number: DIC-20C
"Like most of the reviews, I agree 100% that this product works very well at rinsing without spots; the bigger the vehicle the more time this will save e.g. compact car vs. Motorhome.
BUT in AZ I got 4 rinses each on a Honda S2000 and an Acura TSX wagon - not huge cars - and then I had to replace the resin. Rinsing using spent resin leaves more spots than regular water. The resin is VERY expensive and a pain in the butt to replace (not 5 mins as it says in the manual).
So, I just returned mine to the store last night. The cost of the resin and the hassle involved with the whole thing, is not worth it when I can just dry the cars by hand, but as I said, the larger the vehicle the less important those negatives will be."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Near Modesto, CA
Date:July 23, 2012

It Really Works

Pros: spotless results, saves time
Cons: pricey initial cost
Model Number: DIC-20
"I live in the CA central valley. Lots of dust/dirt all summer. Van is too large for the car wash so its me, a pressure washer and a ladder. This method saves me a lot of time and $s. It ends up spot free even it our hot direct sun. If you have a water softener, test to see if your softened water or your raw water has less TDS. Using the source with a lower reading may result in your resin lasting longer. If you don't have a hand held meter, use the one that comes with the CR. Just pull the resin cartridges, reinstall the blue canisters without the cartridges and hook up to each source and see which has the lower TDS reading. A bit cumbersome but it works."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mobile Al
Date:October 25, 2011

Real Time Saver/ Paint Saver

Pros: real time saver....saves the paint finish
Model Number: DIC-20
"I recently purchased and received my CR Spotless water system. After washing my vehicle first( just in case something went wrong) I then washed my wifes New vehicle with the CR spotless water system.
We both think the finished wash job turned out GREAT and Spotless.....saving me alot of time to do other things.
I chose to only use the unit for the Final rinse....there by saving on the use of the resin.....
After the first use....I say I am very happy with my purchase and would recommend to others....Oh....after washing I just drove each vehicle around for a couple of miles to blow off the water......Spotless....even all the windows!!!!!!
"
Review 15 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:January 15, 2010

Perfect!!!!!

Pros: works great
Model Number: DIC-20
"I consider myself to be an obsessive car detailer and will settle for nothing less than a perfect shine. The CR Spotless delivers perfection. I use it on all three of my vehicles and have never seen a single spot. And believe me, I've looked!!
Using the CR Spotless instead of drying with a MF towel will eliminate those annoying swirls and scratching in your paint. Once you clay, polish and wax your car, the CR Spotless will enable you to maintain a swirl-free finish indefinitely. All that and you're done in half the time and half the work!!
If you are serious about the appearance of your cars, you MUST buy a CR Spotless."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2011

Worth the Price

Pros: car dries with no water spots, towels & leaf blowers are a thing of the past, keeps harmful minerals and deposits off car, resin appears to last a long time between refills, easy to setup, easy to use
Cons: expensive but worth the price, components are heavy so initial setup is a workout
"This product is an absolute must for any car enthusiast who details his/her own car. My car is jet black and I have always struggled with water spots, especially in the summer time when the water evaporates quickly after rinsing the car. Additionally, even the best american made micro fiber or cotton towels increase the risk of leaving swirls behind (especially on a dark car).
I used the CR Spotless system for the first time this weekend and was absolutely amazed. Not a single water spot anywhere on the car. No leaf blower, no towels--simply used the CR Spotless system for the final rinse and let the car dry in the sun."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:July 23, 2012

See A Beautiful Car Wash

Pros: works good even with well water
Model Number: CR Spotless
"I really love this product. Assembly was quick & easy. Really like the quick disconnects provided for attaching to hose & faucet. Leaves a beautiful spot-free wash even with our very hard well water. Nice sturdy cart makes setup & storage very easy. Built to last. Comes with one spare refill, I bought extra refills just to have on-hand. I believe the very large filter canisters will last a long time before refill is needed, but that will depend on how hard your water source is. If you wash your car or boat at home, this is a good item to have."
Review 18 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 11, 2012

A must have for car enthusiasts

Pros: easy to connect, extra box of resin, easy to assemble
Cons: none
Model Number: DIC-20
"If you are tired of water spots or drying your cars then this is for you. It doesn't even have to be cars but can be home/business windows, RV's or anything. This product was recommended to me by one of my customers who has a new Porsche Boxter Spyder. I ordered it from Costco, hooked it up (by the way, it came with everything including quick disconnects, stainless hook-up hose and nozzle) and away I went washing one of my 4 Black cars. I just rinsed it off, let it dry and there were no signs of any water spots - amazing!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2009

Good filter

Pros: works as advertised, spot free drying, keep the pressure washer from clogging, allows me to use a yard blower to dry, don't have to rush washing car
Cons: resin is expensive, resin holding canister failed on top seam recently, time consuming to replace resin, resin beads on floor = very slippery floor
Model Number: 180790
"I bought this filter in January of this year and it has served me well. I live in the Fresno CA area (Easton to be exact) and I tend to only be able to get about 5-6 washes before I have to exchange the resin out. I have found that stopping down the water does help prolong use and I have this connected to a pressure washer. Our well water is exceptionally hard. Recently I had a resin container fail at the top seam where the white filter is attached, will find out how the warranty works soon."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for CR SPOTLESS De-Ionizing Spotless Water System™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 19, 2008

Awesome Results!

Pros: costco.com's package with delivery is unbeatable
"I have used this on my RV, my car, and my house windows and NO SPOTS! Right after I cleaned my house windows, a santa ana windstorm blew dust all over them. All I had to do was rinse them again with the Spotless Water System, and they looked like they had been professionally cleaned. It may be a little pricey, but it saves so much time and energy that it's well worth it. My neighbor saw me washing my car and now he wants one. I guess seeing is believing."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>