Customer Reviews for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV E552VLE

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV E552VLE

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price.         VIZIO’s 55” Class LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps® puts the best of the web right on your TV screen, giving you instant access to VUDU™, Netflix™, Hulu Plus™, Pandora®, Facebook™, Twitter® and more. With built-in WiFi for easy set-up, this HDTV also boasts 1080p Full HD and 120Hz refresh rate for a superior picture at an amazing value. Its ambient light sensing technology ensures a perfectly-balanced picture that’s never washed out or too bright. SRS StudioSound HD™ supplies advanced virtual surround sound, while four DMI® ports accommodate your home theater setup, Blu-ray® Player and cable or satellite TV to deliver a full cinematic experience. It also meets ENERGY STAR® 5.3 guidelines making this stylish HDTV a smart choice for the environment and your wallet. Features: Costco extends manufacture warranty to 2 years   Screen Size: 55" Class (55.64" diagonal)   Resolution: 1920 x 1080   Refresh Rate: 120Hz   Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 100,000:1   Response Time: 5ms   Ambient Light sensor   Smooth Motion   Viewable Angle (HxV): 178° x 178°   ENERGY STAR Qualified    Wall Mount Compatibility: 200mm x 400mm   Weight: 76 lbs (w/ stand), 66 lbs (w/ out stand)   Dimensions (WxHxD): 52.1" x 34.4" x 13.2" (w/ stand), 52.1" x 32.6" x 4.9" (w/ out stand)   Audio: Speakers: Built-in 15W x 2 Speakers   SRS TruSurround HD™    SRS TruVolume™   SRS StudioSound™   Inputs/ Outputs: HDMI with HDCP x4   Component x1   Composite Video x1   Computer RGB x1   RF Connector for Internal Tuner x1   Enternet x1   SPDIF Digital Optical x1   Analog Audio Out x1 USB 2.0 x 2 (MP3 & JPEG) Model: E552VLE
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 of 9(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV E552VLE
Review 1 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV E552VLE
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:August 18, 2012

Terrible Vizio customer support

Pros: 2 thumbs up for costco customer service, costco really does care about their customers
Cons: vizio has the worst customer service ever, vizio doesn't stand behind their products
"I used to be a big Vizio fan - we had 3 of their LCD TVs - two 42" and one 55" all purchased from Costco. However we started having problems with the 55" where the sound would crackle and then the TV would reboot. After a couple of weeks of over the phone troubleshooting Vizio sent us a firmware update that solved the rebooting issue but the sound would still just go away. After replacing the cable box and the HDMI cables we finally got an appointment scheduled for a Vizio technician to come out and look at the TV. Less than 24 hours after we made the appointment Vizio called to cancel and told us that our cable box was not compatible with their TV. Vizio couldn't answer the question of how the cable box was compatible 99% of the time but not the other 1% when we had the volume issue. Fortunately, Costco came through BIG TIME and took care of us. We were allowed to return the defective Vizio for a store credit with which we purchased a Panisonic and guess what? - we haven't had a volume issue since."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV E552VLE
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brandon Florida
Date:June 25, 2012

Vizio 55

Model Number: M55osl
"This product is amazing easy set up great looking and an increditble picture quality.
I have been shopping for a new TV for several months however the price vrs features was a battle until I found this model
between the warranty priceand overall value
just can not go wrong. I'm very glad I waited.
"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV E552VLE
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chino, CA
Date:January 30, 2013

VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV E552VLE

Pros: works great in direct/ indirect light - non, reflective. 4 hdmi inputs. wi-fi.
Cons: remote control is kinda lame.
Model Number: E552VLE
"Wow! What a great buy! This feature packed set was the perfect addition to our family room. I was hesitant at first due to the low price. With the Costco guarantee, who could go wrong? Love the 4 HDMI inputs and the wi-fi. The sun enters the family room in an awkward way and I shopped for the best set that reflects the least amount of light. This was just what the doctor ordered. Oh yeah, Black Ops and MW3 look sweet on here too. No issues!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV E552VLE
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:February 15, 2013

flourescent backlight makes buzzing noise

Pros: good picture quality, inexpensive for a tv of this size
Cons: poor sound quality, backlight makes buzzing noise
Model Number: E552VLE
"The picture quality on this TV is fine; I like the Netflix app, when you're watching a series it automatically plays the next episode (my Roku doesn't). However, the speakers sound like tin cans mounted in a cardboard box, you will need a sound bar or other external sound system.
During dark scenes or when the screen goes dark between scenes or commercials, the backlight automatically dims and makes a noticeable buzzing sound. If I turn the backlight setting way up, I can eliminate this noise, but it bothers me that a brand new TV has this problem.
I think I'm going to take it back to Costco and get one that has an LED backlight.
This is the second Vizio I have owned, the other is a 37" I bought about 4 years ago. I have no complaints about it whatsoever."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV E552VLE
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Beaverton OR
Date:January 3, 2013

Great TV for the price

Pros: can't beat the price (warehouse is less), great picture
Cons: very thick
Model Number: E552VLE
"I am very pleased with this TV. I returned a defective Vizio 50" LCD model replacing it with this 55". This TV is considerably thicker than the 50" E502AR.
The smart TV apps are a little clunky in user interface compared to Samsung and LG. There is no web browser. I had the Netflix app crash once while watching a movie and the TV rebooted. The performance of the streaming apps is pretty good.
The picture is beautiful and the sound does very well also. I had to disable the 120Hz smoothing while watching movies and TV - it seems too much like a soap opera with it on. I prefer it enabled for sports and action movies and disabled completely for other viewing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV E552VLE
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:January 26, 2013

Great Picture

Pros: picture, easy set up, blue ray picture
Cons: some ghosting with 720p channels
Model Number: E552VLE
"Compared this tv to every one in costco and after some research decided i'd give it a try. The box it comes in won't fit all the way in the short bed of a truck. Because its not an LED its very heavy, your going to need two people to get it out of the box. Once out of the box, it attaches to its stand with 6 small screws that are included as well as a small wrench. Again, youll need two people to do this. It has 4 hdmi outputs so you can connect your cable, a blue ray, and two other components. As far as set up, it was quick an easy. There is no QWERTY on the remote so if you are going to set up your wireless network its going to take a few minutes but no big deal. The 1080 picture was awesome right out of the box and the sound is adequate. One issue i have is when watching HD movies on TV there does appear to be some ghosting. Those channels only broadcast in 720p and those same movies shown on the blue ray are flawless. Watched the beginning of the Senior Bowl and the picture looked great. One thing i did have to do was mess with the vertical and horizontal settings to eliminate a white line along the edges of the picture, but that has more to do with the channel than the tv. I followed the calibration recommendations on television info and tweak tv. Over all im pleased so far. The ghosting with the 720p channels had me second guessing but the blue ray picture saved me a trip back. I think this tv's going to make the 30 day trial period."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV E552VLE
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2013

Great for the price

Pros: price, picture, value
Cons: sound, useless apps, too many menus
"Great TV for the price. Set up was easy, picture is fantastic. I'd give it 5 stars, but the sound is horrible, the instructions for the stand did not match the TV and although easy to navigate, there are just way too many menus for adjustments. I thought the apps were a nice feature, but in actuality I find them pretty useless."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV E552VLE
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Great Falls VA
Date:September 7, 2012

Excellent Picture and Sound

Pros: picture quality, sound quality, plug and play
Cons: not a one
Model Number: E552VLE
"We bought this TV in the Spring for a large sunroom/kitchen. The Matte screen really helped keep the glare down and the HD and surround is awesome for a set in this price range. We do a lot of on demand and streaming Netflix and the picture is always stable. Our bedroom 5 yo 61" Panasonic LIFI died for a second time and we're replacing with another one of these."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO 55" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV E552VLE
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:May 4, 2013

Great affordable TV

Pros: great picture and sound, netflix streaming, built in wifi, nice small remote, usb input, great connection flexibility
Cons: slow startup, won't play avi files from usb
"This is a great TV for the price. The picture looks great and the sound from it is good as well. I usually have to have extra speakers hooked up to the TV but with this one I didn't hook them up, it is already loud enough. Picture is good, and the wifi works great for streaming Netflix. I have a 64gb USB drive I leave plugged into the back with a ton of movies on it and they play perfectly as long as they are mp4 and not AVI.
My only complaint is like other reviews say it takes about 30-40 seconds to turn on so it's a little slow but for the price I can deal with that.
"