Customer Reviews for VIZIO 42" 1080p Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV E420VSE

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 42" 1080p Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV E420VSE

Model: E420VSE This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. VIZIO’s 42” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV features Razor LED and 1080p Full HD resolution for brilliant color and contrast in a razor thin design. This sleek HDTV also features ambient light sensing technology for a perfectly-balanced picture that’s never washed out or too bright and SRS StudioSound HD™ audio for advanced virtual surround sound. It also has three HDMI® ports for the best connection to a Blu-ray™ Player, laptop or game console, and meets ENERGY STAR® 5.3 guidelines making it kinder to the environment and your wallet. Features: Screen Size: 42”   Backlight Type: E-LED   Resolution: 1080p   Colors: 8 Bits    Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 200,000:1   Refresh rate: 60Hz   Response Time: 8ms   Viewable Angle: 176 degree (horizontal / vertical)   Wall Mount Compatibility: 400mm x 300mm   Ambient Light Sensor   Weight: 40.3 lbs. (w/ stand), 33.1 lbs. (w/ out stand)   Dimensions (WxHxD): 38.7" x 25.0" x 8.8" (w/ stand); 38.73" x 23.5" x 2.4" (w/ out stand)   ENERGY STAR Qualified    Audio:   SRS TruSurround™   SRS TruVolume ™   SRS StudioSound™   Channels / Speaker Output: 2 x 10w Inputs Rear:   HDMI: 3   Component: 1   Composite: 1   Stereo Audio: 1   RF Antenna: 1 Inputs Side:   USB 2.0: 1 Outputs:   Optical Digital Audio Out (SPDIF): 1   Analog Audio Out: 1 Multimedia:   Photo (JPEG)
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
(out of 10 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
6 of 10(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 42" 1080p Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV E420VSE
Review 1 for VIZIO 42" 1080p Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV E420VSE
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:October 23, 2012

Thin, Inexpensive, Good Picture

Pros: picture quality, price
"After being disappointed by the latest "smart" tv's I bought this one to hook up to a HTPC. I couldn't find a review anywhere of this thing so I took a chance since Costco has a great 90 day return policy. I have an older 42" Vizio circa 2006 and the picture quality on this is a lot better. I wanted an edge lit LED to wall mount and this was the best in the price range. No issues so far. Speakers sound average."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO 42" 1080p Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV E420VSE
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:October 26, 2012

Excellent Bang for the Buck

Pros: led. great picture quality for a great price.
Model Number: E420VSE
"I want to see positive reviews before making a major purchase but couldn't find any reviews for this model. It had a good picture at the warehouse so I decided to give it a try.
It has a number of picture quality presets and I decided to try baseball for the World Series. I cranked up the sharpness and the picture quality is great for everything."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO 42" 1080p Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV E420VSE
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2012
"Only have had it installed for a week. So far very pleased. Wonderful value."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO 42" 1080p Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV E420VSE
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Des Moines Iowa
Date:November 13, 2012

Good set for the money.

Pros: simple remote.
"Easy to use remote control. Not so many buttons as my other vizio. Good value but not top of the line."
Review 5 for VIZIO 42" 1080p Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV E420VSE
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2012

Going back

Pros: nice picture & sound
Cons: unit broken after 3 weeks!
"Had this set for 3 weeks then it went completely kaput. Darn thing won't turn on. Back to Costco it goes!
Too bad because it had a nice picture & sound. Hopefully our set was just a lemon & we won't have issues with the exchanged one.
"
Review 6 for VIZIO 42" 1080p Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV E420VSE
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2012

Bad idea

Pros: outlived the warranty by a month
Cons: terrible audio problems, no support from vizio
Model Number: e371va
"Great picture but from beginning we had audio problems. After just over 2 years no sound at all. Unable to find any support from Vizio for repair. Perfect TV if you are into silent films or frustration. Should have listened to all the negative reviews about the sound. They were true."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 42" 1080p Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV E420VSE
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:November 26, 2012

Vizio E420VSE

Pros: picture is nice
Cons: remotes are weak
"Returned first set. V. rep. said Bad remote. 2nd rep. said "backlight" not working. 2 unit purchased I'm struggling with sound.constant drop in volume after scene change or picture to commercial. sound needs about 5 seconds to return to set volume number. Using the cable remote to shut/turn on set does not work. I have to use the V. remote to get full shut off. This shuts off the backlight. Back to tech. support!"
Review 8 for VIZIO 42" 1080p Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV E420VSE
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Midwest
Date:December 13, 2012

Average TV

Pros: good picture. fancier frame than most in price, range.
Cons: base is flimsy. hdmi conections are hard to see, when connecting cables.
Model Number: E420VSE
"Picture and sound are OK. Had to give up and LG after 6 years. Bought this after hearing about the VIZIO quality. Average as expected. Obviously didn't buy the best. The 6 year old LG better."
Review 9 for VIZIO 42" 1080p Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV E420VSE
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sonoma, Ca.
Date:December 19, 2012

Great TV

Pros: picture...price
Cons: audio
Model Number: E420VSE
"The 1080p picture on this unit is great!
Sound is just fair. I have heard that many
of the components in Vizio TV's are
made by LG
"
Review 10 for VIZIO 42" 1080p Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV E420VSE
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:January 5, 2013

First Vizio Great -- Second Vizio Lacking Features

Pros: nice picture - see review for exceptions
Cons: tv guide program shortfall, does not show the next hours program
Model Number: E429VSE
"Our first Vizio HDTV we purchased from Costco about 5 years ago is GREAT and still working great.
Vizio appears to have quietly cut some corners in this second television purchase.
They have severely limited the programing menu that appears when you press the Guide or Menu button on the remote. This is the programing the TV station transmits out describing their current and up-coming programing schedule. This set only shows the current running program name and a short description, not the next hour’s program or any other program after, just the current running program. I am already looking at that program; I can already see what’s playing. Our 5 year old Vizio shows the current running program and the next up-coming program continuing out to more than 24 hours on some stations. It’s a free service that the TV stations are required to transmit by law. The only problem is Vizio has apparently opted to limit the software programing that comes in their set. Called Vizio support, they have no solution nor are they particularly concerned. I made a second call to Vizio support, just in case the first gentleman did not fully grasp the problem. The support lady today had to check and came back with the same answers. I was hoping they would have a memory flash to fix the short coming, after all these things are really only a computer with a big screen. Today I also asked if any of their current sets showed more than the current program schedule running, she did not have the answer but checked and the answer was none do.
This is something you can’t test for in the store because they are on a closed TV system and understandably too the remotes are locked up so they won’t walk away. Who would think about the manufacturer eliminating a few lines of programing code for such a wonderful missing free feature that you can use for the life of the TV set?
Second the channel number that pops up when you change channels is also very small in type. So small it’s difficult to read. Makes you wonder why they could not find room on a 42 inch screen for a momentary display of a larger readable channel number.
Third problem this TV shows reflections on the screen of lights in the room.
Forth concern is even the limited program schedule is very small type and very hard to read.
Thought about moving this TV to the bedroom, a little big for the room but the remote does not have an easily reachable sleep timer. You have to work down through and into the menu a couple of levels.
The picture is good if the lights don’t happen to be reflecting in the screen.
The yellow tag showing power usage for a year is really low. That’s good
Sad to say but I will be returning this set. It would have been a keeper, if the programing schedule menu had not been so limited."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.