Customer Reviews for Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras

Model: QT548-841-5
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
11 of 13(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Review 1 for Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ocean County, NJ
Date:October 23, 2012

frustrating

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: difficult set-up for remote viewing
Model Number: QT548-841-5
"Support staff informed us that it was not compatible with explorer 9."
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:October 9, 2012

Lasted two weeks

Pros: price
Cons: got flakey and craped out.
Model Number: QT548-841-5
"Bummer, this unit worked good for two weeks and then got flakey two days ago and bit the dust today. Actually it comes on but reboots itself every 45 seconds.
Taking it back and try something else.
"
Review 3 for Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:November 4, 2012

Had to return the first one

Pros: not sure yet - the cameras look good though
Cons: didn't work - stuck at system initializing, q-see wanted me to pay to have it shipped to them
Model Number: QT548-841-5
"The DVR was stuck on System Initializing. After a few power cycles it would finally show the camera display screen. If any settings were changed it would freeze. Talked to tech support and they said to disconnect the hard drive and turn it on. It was still stuck at system initializing so they said it had a bad motherboard and I should pay to have it shipped to them so they could fix it. I've ordered a new one and am planning on taking this one back to Costco.
I think if it doesn't work right out of the box Qsee should pay to have it shipped to them and back to the customer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sierra Foothills, CA
Date:October 24, 2012

Tech Support Was Awesome

Pros: tech support was excellent., wish other company's support was as good.
Cons: can't think of any yet!
Model Number: QT548-841-5 and QT4516-859-1
"We have two Q-See systems which have to be sent through our router wirelessly. I had great difficulty doing this by myself.
I contacted support via email and after several communications, we proceeded with chat. Austin (tech guy) was very quick, concise and professional. Accessing our router remotely he was able to set up our port forwarding and troubleshoot other minor issues. Great Job!
"
Review 5 for Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:September 19, 2012

Some reviews here are for wrong item!

Pros: low cost, costco easy return if it dies, full d1 recording on all 8 channels at 30 fps, decent cameras for the price, easy to replace hd with larger one
Cons: 500 gb drive is too small for 8 d1 30fps channels
Model Number: QT548-841-5
"Please note this DVR is a QT548-841-5. The reviews posted here for the QC-448 has nothing to do with this DVR. They have nothing in common. The QC-448 was junk and I returned mine and got this one, the QT548-841-5. The QC-448 would kill my internet connect every time. So far this one does not have that problem.
The cameras are about average to above average compared to the other kits in the $500-1000 price range. However, they are not as good at night as the comeras with the Sony chip which do a better job at night. (The Sony chip cameras stay in color mode with less light before they switch to black and white.) But those cameras cost about $100 a piece. For $400 this appears to be a nice system. You can easily spend double this amount at a security store and end up with something with less features.
I pulled out the 500GB drive and replaced it with a 2TB drive that cost $100. If you use all 8 cameras at D1 and 30 frames per second the 500 GB HD will not hold too much video before it starts to record over the older videos.
The Q-See QT View remote viewing software refuses to work with my iPad. However, it works on my Android phone. I will be contacting tech support to see why on the iPad it will not work.
For now I give it 4 stars for good system at an excellent price."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waterford, MI
Date:November 2, 2012

Great camera system

Pros: good night vision easy to use
Cons: poor android app
Model Number: qt548
"Very nice system for the price. Cameras work very well in the dark. 600 lines of resolution make a big difference. Cables could be longer, had to order longer ones. Has a nice feature that lets you connect the unit to a second monitor that cycles video from all cameras. Lets you see it on a remote television. Had a bit of an issue getting my router to work with it but the problem was with my router. One bad thing to say: Android app is not good at all. crashes all the time. works ok on my htc evo but it is useless on my Motorola razer. I hope they fix the problems. Over all, I would recommend the system. easy to use, web access is good, cameras are very good for the price."
Review 7 for Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Inland empire, ca
Date:November 1, 2012

Best security system ever!

Pros: everything!
Cons: challenge technology wise but tech support are the
"My name is Catherine H and my husband and I bought a QSEE QT428 eight camera system from Costco in April 2012. The setup was easy; however, the only issue I had was with remote viewing (viewing through android, iPad etc while away). In September, I called technical support after finally getting around to setting it remotely but needed some help. A nice man by the man of John-Paul W was so nice, so helpful and cared that all of our concerns/questions were resolved. DO NOT believe those that have given negative reviews, setting up a monitoring system for your home/office can be frustrating but people like John-Paul W at QSEE will help you. He provided me with prompt service and was very patient considering I lack knowledge with technology. I love this system and plan on buying one more for our new house when we move this fall. We have four cameras but because my husband and I are OCD about home security/protection, we will buy another. These days, it is rare to find good customer service. I have been with some companies for 10 + years yet I have never received such individualized attention when requesting help like I did with John-Paul W (@ QSEE).... The products and people are worth your money! This experience has made me feel
Iike a valued customer and I recommend them to everyone! Thank you to Costco as well for offering another great product! 10 stars!!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs, CA
Date:November 1, 2012

Great first video system - full featured

Pros: cheap high quality easy install good support
Cons: you may need support help to set up remote viewing
Model Number: Model: QT548-841-5
"Nearly idiot-proof basic installation. Good picture quality. Remote viewing setup requires some tweeking of your remote modem to ensure it will pass on the ports. Costco support was great."
Review 9 for Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2012

Love my security sysyem

Model Number: QD6531Z
"I had a few problems with my securtiy system, after speaking with Brandon of Q-see, all of my problems was solved. He spend at least 45 minutes helping me to solve the problem. Just want you to know that he did a wonderful job."
Review 10 for Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lewiston, ID
Date:October 10, 2012

Good for the money so far - Great Customer Service

Pros: inexpensive, cell phone apps big plus
Cons: not easy to get all the network stuff working
Model Number: QT504
"Kind of a pain to get all set up, but works well so far. Only had it together for a day or two though.
Had trouble getting Android phone to see the cams, but Brendon at Q-see made it easy by logging in to my computer and setting it up perfectly and quickly. At least very satisfied with the customer service!
"
Review 11 for Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montgomery, AL
Date:September 28, 2012

Best Ever For The Money

Pros: easy to install and setup fast remote viewing, good android app for my htc cell phone
Cons: cmos cameras not ccd
Model Number: QT548-841-5
"Excellent system for the money. The hard drive is not a factor because I set the DVR up to record on motion only and lowered the frame rate to 8 images per second. Dvr has Pre and Post event recording ( this is the the time in which it records prior and after it sees motion). The cameras work as they should. Don't expect to see color at night. There will be limited visibility at night without additional lighting outside. The cameras come pre-focused. Do your research before bashing a product. In the security industry no one records in real time but casinos."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vallejo, CA
Date:September 13, 2012

Excellent Starter Security System

Pros: clear and easy to install
Cons: remote viewing is hard to set up. i relied on the, tech support and google to set the remote viewing
Model Number: QC 448
"I initially want to put 3 or 4 cameras around the house just to watch the surroundings when we go on vacation. But when I was installing it I found that the cameras are very clear with infrared. In fact the infrared is so clear that it looks like day time on the middle of the night. I was so impress that I decided to install all 8 cameras. I feel so safe I can watch our house in and out anytime of the day or night. I like to thanks the Costco tech support for helping me set the DVR and Q See tech Manuel, David and Daniel. I am not a computer savvy but with their help I was able to get the system working. It took me several days to set the remote viewing because my system is Apple router which they are not very familiar. Nevertheless they tried. I am very happy to get this system and recommends this to anybody that does not want to spend a lot of money."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Q-See 8 Channel Full D1 Real Time DVR Security System with 500GB and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston,MA
Date:September 11, 2012

Excellent product needs more manuals

Pros: great features and picture quality, affordable price
Cons: bit difficult to install remote monitoring, still dont know how to back up files on network, dont know how to save videos in a playable format
"We purchased a similar model but no longer available here at costco.
First, I was afraid of buying this as it seemed cheap however with costco return policy it was no risk to buy.
It is an easy to use an learn remote monitoring system however setting up remote monitoring is not that easy.
Especially with the Verizon and the dynamic ip etc.. still doable..
I had to call support whos number kind of hidden but the support personell were very helpful and professional and not outsourced..
So they got to the point and fixed it and it works.
I can even look up videos from my Galaxy S2 phone and search back..
"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.