Customer Reviews for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine

Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine The Singer 160™ Limited Edition sewing machine features a nostalgic heritage shape and color with updated features and new technology that makes sewing easy, intuitive and fun. It boasts a SwiftSmart™ Threading System with one-touch automatic needle threader. The Drop & Sew™ Bobbin System is a top drop-in bobbin system that doesn't require you to pick up the bobbin thread for a quick and easy start. The presser foot sensor ensures that your presser foot is in the correct position for sewing - the perfect feature for beginners. The OneTouch™ Stitch Stitch Selection is automatically set at the stich's optimal length and width, but can be easily overridden for personalization. If you're an expert sewer, this machine's extra-large sewing space, drop feed and StayBright™ LED lights make this the perfect addition to your sewing space. Features:   Vintage inspired design features nostalgic black color, gold filigree and original "bird in flight" design   OneTouch™ stitch selection makes it easy to select and personalize your stitches   SwiftSmart™ threading system with automatic needle threader is sewing's biggest timesaver   Drop & Sew™ bobbin system has automatic bobbin thread pick up for quicker threading   24 built-in stitches, 6 essential, 4 stretch, 12 decorative and 2 fully automatic 1-step buttonholes   2 fully automatic 1-step buttonholes provide professional results at the touch of a button   Exclusive buttonhole underplate ensures perfect buttonholes on multiple fabric layers and in places conventional buttonhole devices can't easily reach   Quick view stitch setting displays optimal stitch size for sewing ease   Simple stitch adjustment keeps seams strong and prevents bunching on any type of fabric   Presser foot sensor ensures the presser foot is in position for an easy start   Extra-large sewing space-the arm of the machine measures 14.7", allowing you to easily manage quilts and other large projects   Drop Feed for free motion sewing for creative topstitching and free motion embroidery   3 StayBright™ LED lights illuminate the sewing surface for optimal viewing   Heavy duty interior metal frame for overall durability and skip-free sewing   7mm stitch width for flawless decorative and satin stitches   Automatic tension-keeps stitches balanced and even   Free arm - easily sew hard-to-reach areas like cuffs, collars and pant hems   13 Needle positions for inserting cords and zippers   Extra-high presser foot lifter accommodates multiple fabric layers   On-board accessory storage keeps your sewing space tidy   Machine dimensions: 23.5" L x 10" W x 13" H   Weight: 18.6 lbs   25-year limited warranty Included Accessories:   All-purpose foot   Zipper foot   Buttonhole foot with underplate   Blind hem foot   Satin stitch foot   Pack of needles   Bobbins (Class 15J)   Thread spool caps   Auxiliary spool pin   Spool pin felt   Needle plate screwdriver   Seam ripper/lint brush   Soft-sided dust cover   Machine intro DVD   Instruction manual with included stitch guide   Quick start guide   Foot control   Power cord
Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
(out of 21 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
18 of 21(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Review 1 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Maria, CA
Date:October 25, 2012

STUNNING LOOK

Pros: perfect stitches. impressive unique look.
Cons: limited stitches...but it is retro.
Model Number: Singer 160 Limited Edition Anniversary Model
"As many, the first impression is that the Singer 160 is a Black Beauty. The real test is how it would sew the limited number of stitches. The stitches were PERFECT. I was impressed as I have a number of excellent sewing machines, all of which are more expensive."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oceanside, CA
Date:October 26, 2012

Vintage Singer 160

Pros: sews like a top of line machine.
Cons: slightly noisy
Model Number: Singer 160 Limited Edition
"Thrilled about this purchase! I own three top-of-the-line computerized sewing machines but this one sews just as beautifully. I am an experienced sewer and this machine is not only highly functional, it is gorgeous. A collector's dream!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Port Ludlow, WA
Date:October 27, 2012

IMPRESSIVE!

Pros: practical variety of stitches very even!
Cons: the protective cover is like a plastic bag.
Model Number: Singer 160 Limited Edition
"Just got it tonight - sat and played with it for three hours - learned how to use everything and tried out all the stitches. Extremely easy to use - pretty much idiot proof. Love the threading, the needle threader, the bobbin threading, the storage space, the shape and size of the sewing surface, with the free arm option, the blind hem foot - all great! The button hole maker is really inventive and works, but would take some practice to know where to start the button hole - but I am sure that's doable. No problem with the size you need for your button, that's all built into the buttonhole foot/attachment. The foot pedal works fine, the light is sort of bluish and didn't seem very bright until I started using it - was fine."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bronx, new york
Date:November 8, 2012

Best of my singer machines

Pros: simply the best!
Cons: i can't think of any problem.
Model Number: 160
"This is the best sewing machine I ever owned. The shape is lovely, attractive and sews beautifully. I love the automatic threading and you can easily sew in the dark."
Review 5 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lolo, MT
Date:November 17, 2012

beautiful and easy

Pros: auto threader
Cons: none yet
Model Number: 160
"This machine is so easy to thread; both the bobbin and the needle. The cost is very reasonable and its versatility is out standing for a person like me."
Review 6 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Springfield, MA
Date:October 22, 2012

Remark about power cord to previous reviewer

Pros: beautiful styling very heafty and stable.
Cons: plastic and doesn't feel like the older metal one.
Model Number: 160
"I just received mine and the power cord was tucked inside the smaller square styrofoam piece that was in the middle of the sewing machine body itself. I might have missed it except that it fell out along with the presser foot. Looks to be a really stable machine. I want to watch the enclosed DVD before I do anything other unpack it as I don't wish to do anything to damage it. Thus far I am very impressed!"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:October 28, 2012

Singer 160 LE Sewing machine

Pros: sturdy substantial and cute as a bugs ear.
Model Number: Singer 160 Limited Edition
"Excellant value, am an experienced quilter,have several machines including old treadle machines and a newer computerized machine. This would be a great first machine, a good upgrade for a hand-me-down owner, or just a really cute machine to take to classes. Heavy enough so it won't jump around on a class table, but not too heavy to move it around when you need to. I don't plan on covering it, too pretty. It has a decent warranty, and we've never had trouble resolving a problem with a Costco purchase. Everything was included as stated on the box."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando,Fl
Date:November 1, 2012

Great sewing machine

Pros: great price great look and sews great!
Cons: i don't have one...
Model Number: 160 Limited Edition
"I am impressed. I have been sewing for over 40yrs and this is a very nice sewing machine. It looks great and sews great.
If you need a sewing machine that is easy to use and gives you great looking work this is the machine to purchase.
Great price and free shipping.
My husband bought this for his Mom but I got it!!! We did order her one too.
S. Lias
"
Review 9 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:November 5, 2012
Pros: strong; seems very reliable and user-friendly.
Cons: might be larger than some would like.
Model Number: 160
"I haven't tried the buttonhole maker yet, but everything I have tried is great! The machine is big and strong, not flimsy at all. It seems like it will last forever. I've been sewing like a fiend since I got it and I was avoiding sewing with the machine I had before."
Review 10 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:November 6, 2012

Beautiful machine

"I have not had the chance to use it yet, but it is a well-built machine and is fun to look at since it is modeled after the original featherweights."
Review 11 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:October 24, 2012

Singer 160

Model Number: 160
"Love it, sturdy and simple. The needle threader worked perfectly.
The con for me doesn't have to do with the machine it's Costco's site gave the wrong dimensions and I bought a bag/tote and it doesn't fit :( so I have to return that now. The real Dimensions are 21" L x 10" W x 13" H
Oh, and my foot pedal was included."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 5, 2012

Great Machine!

Pros: quiet love the black color easy to use, great price!
Cons: disappointed the exterior is not metal., chintzy dust cover.
Model Number: Singer 160
"This machine is so simple to use it is surprising! I have sewed for 45+ years so I am so pleased with my Singer 160. Everything is preset - bobbin tension and there is no tricky guesswork. Love it!"
Review 13 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Metro, Oregon
Date:November 6, 2012

EXACTLY what we wanted~!

Pros: self-threading, ample stitches, comfortable and beautiful, its a singer~!
Cons: the plastic outer skin
Model Number: 160 Limited Edition
"We were looking for an inexpensive but versatile, reliable sewing machine.. what we got was an INCREDIBLE machine that is so Beautiful we want to leave it out and stage the lighting around it~"
Review 14 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Baton Rouge, LA
Date:November 6, 2012

Great machine!

Pros: easy to change stitches
Cons: instructions for threading the machine are unclear
Model Number: Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
"I've been sewing for 45 yrs and replaced a 30 yr old Singer in a sewing cabinet with this portable machine. I've been putting off hemming some jeans and used this machine to quickly do the job. It is extremely easy to change stitches. Only drawback I found is the directions for threading the machine and winding the bobbin are very unclear and I still have not figured out how to use the automatic needle threader. The DVD enclosed needs to address these items."
Review 15 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:October 25, 2012

Just look at it... It's Gorgeous!

Pros: unique and gorgeous design, simple set-up, easy to use, a good variety of accessories to get you started
Cons: short foot pedal cord, black shows fingerprints and dust, heavy
"Design:
If you're looking to buy this machine, one of the big sells will obviously be the unique design. I will say that it gets tons of compliments, but the flimsy white dust bag that is included does not do the machine any justice. The Black is not as deep as I would like and bright light makes it look washed out a bit (minor detail). Please also take into consideration that the black easily collects fingerprints and seems to be a magnet for dust.
Sewing:
As a beginner to sewing, I found the included guides incredibly useful. It includes a basics DVD, but the quick-reference guide is perfect for getting set up. The threading process is pretty straight forward and the machine takes care of most of it, including the threading of the needle. The included pedal was quite light, so it did get kicked around easily under the table and the cord is also quite short and probably wouldn't be ideal for a standing workstation.
Features:
Selecting stitch patterns and settings is pretty straight forward on the control pad, but find myself using the quick reference guide to make sure I was picking the right pattern. It also includes a built in storage compartment, but due to the curves of the machine, don't plan on putting too many items in there. It is great for extra bobbins and feet, though.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:November 3, 2012

Previous reviewer

"Your feed dogs may not be working because they are turned off. There is a switch on the back of the machine that acturally lifts the feed dogs up so they will move the material. (I noticed this while I was reading and looking at the machine for purchase.)
Hope this helps.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2012

Missing power cord and foot control

Model Number: 160
"Heavier and more stable than I thought the machine would be....but...Is anyone else missing the power cord and foot control?"
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:November 6, 2012

Probably works well, but too big and bulky

Pros: probably works well
Cons: too big
"Not really like the traditional Singer- much bigger and bulkier, but not that heavy- made of plastic. I returned it."
Review 19 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Suitland, Maryland
Date:November 7, 2012

Beautiful to look at

Pros: it's very easy to set up., easy to use., instruction book is clear and simple., decals are beautiful, wide sewing space
Cons: needle completely up to use needle threader., decals are easy to rub off., storage draw doesn't open smoothly., will stitch two extra stitches in reverse., to many plastic parts.
Model Number: 160
"When I saw this sewing machine I knew that I had to have it. Singer hit a home-run with the style of this machine."
Review 20 for Singer 160™ Limited Edition Sewing Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:November 7, 2012

Would Not Buy Again

Pros: looks good
Cons: made of all plastic
Model Number: Singer 160 Limited Edition
"The machine looked great online and also when I opened the box. However, upon checking it out further, everything was made of plastic, foot pedal, wheel, everything. I was afraid it wouldn't hold up, so I returned it to my local Costco store. No problems there, they immediately gave me a refund of my purchase price. Costco is the best!!"
1 2 next>>