Customer Reviews for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella

Glen Tuff® Olefin Fabric
Average Customer Rating:
3.914 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
(out of 35 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
27 of 35(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Review 1 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, CA
Date:March 3, 2011

My Second One.

"I purchased my first one off the floor of my local store. That was 5 years ago. It stood up well to our California weather conditions: sunshine with high temperatures, rain and near freezing temperature.
Recently, we experienced a storm with very high gust winds (35 to 50 mph) and I failed to lower the umbrella as is cautioned in the instruction book. It sailed up and out of its holder built into the table. Unfortunately two of the wooden stays broke when it hit the ground. Otherwise, I would have predicted at least two more years service.
My new umbrella is a direct replacement purchased on-line. The wood is beautifully fininshed, and the canvas sturdy, easy to raise and lower. The weakest link was found to be the raising cord on the previous unit which weathered and broke this year (just before the storm.) I was still able to raise the unit manually without too much difficulty by simply lifting.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2008

Big Shade for Little Cash!

"This is my second market umbrella from Costco. My first shade lasted five years and still looked and worket great. I would still have my first umbrella if only I had closed it durring a 50+ mph wind storm. It lifted up and blew onto my giant rose bush where it was ripped up quit a bit. It still worked but the fabric needed to be replaced. My second market umbrella was purchased on Costco.com and I recieved it in only two days!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2010

Beautiful and Elegant

"I LOVE this umbrella. (I just bought my third.) They look gorgeous and are very sturdy... and a great buy... especially at this price! The previous review accurately notes that the fabric may tear if stretched too tight… it can, and it did on one of mine. (Which is why I bought my third one… But since I keep all of my receipts, I retuned the torn umbrella to Costco for a full refund, no questions asked. Oh… by-the-way… Costco has NO time limits on when you can return a product for a full refund, no questions asked --- except for certain electronic items.) I LOVE COSCTO!! So if you’re looking for a great umbrella, take a chance on this one. And if you don’t like it, then take it to your nearest Costco for a full refund."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA
Date:April 10, 2009

Great Buy

Pros: the umbrella
Cons: none
"We bought one over nine years ago and the fabric just gave out last year and we live in a very hot area with plenty of sun, everything still works great, pulleys and rope, going to buy another one, recommend it highly."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:chalfont pa
Date:March 29, 2011

read the dimensions

"This is a beautiful umbrella. Made nicely and looked like it would work perfectly. I sadly had to return it because the pole didn't fit into my table and I didn't want to have to purchase a new table and chairs in addition to this umbrella."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:November 2, 2011

Big but not too big

Pros: quality gloss wood off nice canvas green
Cons: no option their stand must be purchased with this
Model Number: 11' Hunter green umbrella w/stand 200 bucks
"Thought it would be this Massive umbrella and look a bit rediculous but even so I wanted the 11' one. I wanted real good coverage and shade. You know what? It is not HUGE... it is big sure but it is really perfect and actually covers my whole table and all chairs around it. The shaft is gloss wood, dark and off the green is really nice. Really easy to deploy the upbrella up and then lock it out. It does not tilt in any way. I love it and am very happy with my purchase. The only downside that I can see is that you MUST BUY the base stand to it to hold the umbrella and that is another hundred bucks. Ouch! That said, I can see how it is needed. It has a MUCH wider stand and circumfernce compared to my old noe and goes up higher to hold the pole higher up for more sukpport. I am happy that I bought it. I would/will never go back to a smaller umbrella."
Review 7 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Murrieta, Ca
Date:July 6, 2011

Best Umbrella we have found

Pros: long lasting against the elements
Cons: none
"We live in a very harsh environment for a market umbrella, especially an 11 foot one. We have found this one to be the best. We bought our first one several years ago and it lasted a long time. We then bought a different one from Costco and were very dissatisfied. So, we went back to this one and also bought a third one. In the meantime, we also bought several inexpensive 9 foot umbrellas. So, we have had a lot of experience with these things. This one has a simple straight forward design that holds up in the wind, harsh sun and heat, as well as the cold and fog. Like the bunny, it just keeps going. The only thing that failed us is the string on the last one. The elements got to it. Fortunately, we simply bought more string and restrung it. So, the bottom line is, we won’t waste out money on more expensive ones. This one does the job and more."
Review 8 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:July 13, 2009

Love It, Wish they had stronger poles

Pros: heavy duty fabric, doesnt fade easily
Cons: wood pole is just cheap pine, cannot take high winds or even medium winds
Model Number: Green, 11ft
"Today I am ordering my THIRD one of these from Costco. 1st one lasted 2 years and then the wire ring holding everything together at the top came off and it was hopeless to fix it. Amazingingly, Costco took it back and we ordered a new one. It lasted one day and was snapped in half like a toothpick in the wind. The thing is, I had a second umbrella up (the oldest of all) and it was just fine. I guess they dont make them as strong as they used to. For the size and the quality of the fabric, you cant beat Costco's price, so here I go, ordering number 3.........."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Staten Island NYC
Date:July 25, 2011

Market Umbrella

"This is decent value for the price,but the quality is down from one we bought; an 11 foot market umbrella from COSTCO about 16 years ago. it was heavy canvas and the wood pole was a heavier grade. I still use it in another area of the yard and I will use this new one as well. I wish that the umbrellas made today were the heavier grade material."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfield, CT
Date:April 29, 2009

Great Umbrella, fits 1.75" table opening

"This is our second 11' Tropi wood umbrella from Costco. One is in a granite base, the other is in our teak table. The pole is 1.75" from top to bottom (not 2" on the bottom as the description for this product states). It fits perfectly in our table.
The wood has a beautiful dark stain. The rope/pully system is very solid.
Highly recommended."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:RSM, CA
Date:April 8, 2009

Great Product

Pros: covers more area than the 9 foot, sturdy, fits a table for 6 well
Cons: no tilt
Model Number: 365446
"Just now purchasing our 2nd one. Our 1st was purchased approx 4 years ago and this past winter it finally had had it! This is the best pricing for an 11 foot umbrella ever!! Sometimes I wish that it would tilt, but it covers almost of our patio dinner table. I hope that we get another 4 years out of this one!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:December 18, 2008

Great Umbrella!

"We bought this umbrella two years ago and keep it up all year. Has not faded a bit, no weakness in fabric and cleans well with a hose or when it rains. I just purchased another one for a different area of the garden. Very durable, excellent quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011

Totally Satisfied!

Pros: great for the price
"We bought this umbrella at Costo 6 years ago. Works great. Material wears out, so we bought the same thing online. Believe this...it was made better!
The online shipping was estimated at 2 weeks, it was on my doorstep the next day!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:April 19, 2011

Solid umbrella

"This is my third purchase of this product from Costco. Can't beat the quality and price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Auburn, Wa
Date:July 28, 2010

very poor

"I bought this umbrella to replace one we had for several years. It was smaller and much lighter than ourold one. I put it upat around 11:00 and by 1:30 it had somehow gotten airborne and was broken in several pieces about 30" away. Nothing else had moved so it couldn't have been a very strong wind that took it for a ride."
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fayetteville, GA
Date:April 13, 2010

Don't buy it

Model Number: 365446
"If lifting the umbrella to the position where you can insert the support pin, the stress on the fabric is too great. Even if drilling a lower pin support hole (then the outer perimeter of the umbrella is too low) the stress on the fabric is too great - and over time the fabric at the center top will tear. I have owned two of these umbrellas - all materials are of excellent quality - but the flawed fabric shape design will ultimately result in tearing. Both of my umbrellas were thrown out due to design flaw stress torn fabric."
Review 17 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:April 14, 2011

Great Value

"We've owned a couple of these wood market umbrellas and Costco continues to carry the best price. They are made of good quality fabric and wood poles. Unfortunately, however, our backyard seems to be in a wind tunnel, and no matter how we try to anchor the base, the umbrellas have blown over and broken one or two of the top ribs. Fortunately, Costco comtinues to carry the umbrellas at this reasonable price, so we can continue to buy new ones."
Review 18 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rumson, NJ
Date:July 13, 2011

Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella

Pros: large coverage area, easy to open and close
"I ordered 3 of these. Two were delivered one day and after calling UPS, the other turned up the next day. Two of the boxes were torn in the middle, and then taped with clear tape. Even though UPS told me that they would examine them, I opened them and they were fine. It seems like they will be great and they are in place for a nice weekend ahead. They are quite large and I hope they don't blow over like my smaller ones did."
Review 19 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Alexander City, AL
Date:June 29, 2011

Disappointed

Pros: looks great
Cons: poorly made
"We owned our first Costco umbrella for 15 years and replaced it with this umbrella. The quality is NO WHERE near the same. The wind has picked the umbrella up three times and the "spokes" on the umbrella are so poorly made they have broken. My spouse has fixed them twice and after the third time, we are hoping to purchase a new umbrella."
Review 20 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cody, WY
Date:July 26, 2010

Patio Umbrella

Pros: add a pro
Model Number: 365446
"I loved the online ordering, the delivery went well and I love the umbrella. While I probably would have ordered a different color the dark green shade provides a cool shade effect. Not sure how it will do while open during the wind we get here but am excited that it offers us what we were looking for in patio shade."
1 2 next>>