Customer Reviews for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella

Glen Tuff® Olefin Fabric
Average Customer Rating:
3.914 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
(out of 35 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
27 of 35(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Review 1 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:November 2, 2011

Big but not too big

Pros: quality gloss wood off nice canvas green
Cons: no option their stand must be purchased with this
Model Number: 11' Hunter green umbrella w/stand 200 bucks
"Thought it would be this Massive umbrella and look a bit rediculous but even so I wanted the 11' one. I wanted real good coverage and shade. You know what? It is not HUGE... it is big sure but it is really perfect and actually covers my whole table and all chairs around it. The shaft is gloss wood, dark and off the green is really nice. Really easy to deploy the upbrella up and then lock it out. It does not tilt in any way. I love it and am very happy with my purchase. The only downside that I can see is that you MUST BUY the base stand to it to hold the umbrella and that is another hundred bucks. Ouch! That said, I can see how it is needed. It has a MUCH wider stand and circumfernce compared to my old noe and goes up higher to hold the pole higher up for more sukpport. I am happy that I bought it. I would/will never go back to a smaller umbrella."
Review 2 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Azusa, CA
Date:October 9, 2011

Excellent Choice

"I love this umbrella, the wind has not knocked it over yet, the dark green is perfect to shield the sun and the lackered post looks beautiful."
Review 3 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fullerton, CA
Date:July 27, 2011

Did not fit into umbrella base

"I bought this umbrella to fit into my Shademobile rolling umbrella base (also from Costco), The 11' umbrella said a base that accommodates a 2" pole was needed, which is what the Shademobile is can fit. Unfortunately, the umbrella did not fit in the base. i returned it."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Staten Island NYC
Date:July 25, 2011

Market Umbrella

"This is decent value for the price,but the quality is down from one we bought; an 11 foot market umbrella from COSTCO about 16 years ago. it was heavy canvas and the wood pole was a heavier grade. I still use it in another area of the yard and I will use this new one as well. I wish that the umbrellas made today were the heavier grade material."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lees Summit, Mo
Date:July 21, 2011

Very nice umbrella and BIG

Pros: big and inexpensive
Model Number: Item # 365446
"We just got this umbrella and very pleased with the quality and price, so far anyway. It has enough rope left over for another umbrella and no place to put it after you raise it up. BUT it can be shorten so no real complaints. Also this was received on the 4th working day, Very Fast Shipping...."
Review 6 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Pasadena Ca
Date:July 19, 2011

Broke after first week!

Pros: large shaded umbrella
Cons: wood extensions broke, does not tilt, no place to wrap rope around
"This umbrella provides ample amount of shade at 11' but the problem is with the wooden sticks that support the umbrella. 2 sticks broke in half in the first week. I will return however to coscto for a replacement as I like the 11 foot over the 9 foot umbrellas. This also does not have a tilt feature."
Review 7 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rumson, NJ
Date:July 13, 2011

Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella

Pros: large coverage area, easy to open and close
"I ordered 3 of these. Two were delivered one day and after calling UPS, the other turned up the next day. Two of the boxes were torn in the middle, and then taped with clear tape. Even though UPS told me that they would examine them, I opened them and they were fine. It seems like they will be great and they are in place for a nice weekend ahead. They are quite large and I hope they don't blow over like my smaller ones did."
Review 8 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2011
Cons: won't hold up
"Big disappointment. Have purchased many umbrellas over the years at Costco- though good looking, the umbrella ribs are weak and brittle - two umbrellas already rendered useless because of breaking."
Review 9 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Murrieta, Ca
Date:July 6, 2011

Best Umbrella we have found

Pros: long lasting against the elements
Cons: none
"We live in a very harsh environment for a market umbrella, especially an 11 foot one. We have found this one to be the best. We bought our first one several years ago and it lasted a long time. We then bought a different one from Costco and were very dissatisfied. So, we went back to this one and also bought a third one. In the meantime, we also bought several inexpensive 9 foot umbrellas. So, we have had a lot of experience with these things. This one has a simple straight forward design that holds up in the wind, harsh sun and heat, as well as the cold and fog. Like the bunny, it just keeps going. The only thing that failed us is the string on the last one. The elements got to it. Fortunately, we simply bought more string and restrung it. So, the bottom line is, we won’t waste out money on more expensive ones. This one does the job and more."
Review 10 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Alexander City, AL
Date:June 29, 2011

Disappointed

Pros: looks great
Cons: poorly made
"We owned our first Costco umbrella for 15 years and replaced it with this umbrella. The quality is NO WHERE near the same. The wind has picked the umbrella up three times and the "spokes" on the umbrella are so poorly made they have broken. My spouse has fixed them twice and after the third time, we are hoping to purchase a new umbrella."
Review 11 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:April 19, 2011

Solid umbrella

"This is my third purchase of this product from Costco. Can't beat the quality and price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2011

Its the best of big but not heavy duty

"The wind of course will get it...and they can not help that, but the upper structure is still weak, and breaks rather easy but okay
for the price. Just figure on replacing every two years for sure.
"
Review 13 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:April 14, 2011

Great Value

"We've owned a couple of these wood market umbrellas and Costco continues to carry the best price. They are made of good quality fabric and wood poles. Unfortunately, however, our backyard seems to be in a wind tunnel, and no matter how we try to anchor the base, the umbrellas have blown over and broken one or two of the top ribs. Fortunately, Costco comtinues to carry the umbrellas at this reasonable price, so we can continue to buy new ones."
Review 14 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2011

hardwood warped

"I put the umbrella in the garage during the winter for 2 seasons, but the hardwood warped and expanded so I couldn't get it out of the base. So then I had to leave it out all year. The rope on the pully system disintegrated so I couldn't open the umbrella.
It was nice while it lasted.
"
Review 15 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:chalfont pa
Date:March 29, 2011

read the dimensions

"This is a beautiful umbrella. Made nicely and looked like it would work perfectly. I sadly had to return it because the pole didn't fit into my table and I didn't want to have to purchase a new table and chairs in addition to this umbrella."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:EL PASO,TEXAS
Date:March 22, 2011

great deal on umbrella

Pros: great value
Model Number: TROPI SHADE 11' MARKET UMBRELLA (GREEN)
"RECIEVED 11' MARKET UMBRELLA AND WAS EVERYTHING I EXPECTED. THE SIZE
WAS JUST WHAT WE NEEDED, THE POLE IS STURDY ENOUGH TO SUPPORT THE SIZE AND I AM TRULY HAPPY WITH THE QUALITY AND ESPECIALLY WITH THE PRICE POINT . RECOMENDED THIS TO MY SISTER IN LAW FOR HER PATIO.
"
Review 17 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2011

Great purchase!

"This umbrella will give great coverage for your dining set. It is beautiful and very sturdy.
You will not be disappointed.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011

Totally Satisfied!

Pros: great for the price
"We bought this umbrella at Costo 6 years ago. Works great. Material wears out, so we bought the same thing online. Believe this...it was made better!
The online shipping was estimated at 2 weeks, it was on my doorstep the next day!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, CA
Date:March 3, 2011

My Second One.

"I purchased my first one off the floor of my local store. That was 5 years ago. It stood up well to our California weather conditions: sunshine with high temperatures, rain and near freezing temperature.
Recently, we experienced a storm with very high gust winds (35 to 50 mph) and I failed to lower the umbrella as is cautioned in the instruction book. It sailed up and out of its holder built into the table. Unfortunately two of the wooden stays broke when it hit the ground. Otherwise, I would have predicted at least two more years service.
My new umbrella is a direct replacement purchased on-line. The wood is beautifully fininshed, and the canvas sturdy, easy to raise and lower. The weakest link was found to be the raising cord on the previous unit which weathered and broke this year (just before the storm.) I was still able to raise the unit manually without too much difficulty by simply lifting.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tropi Shade 11' Wood Market Umbrella
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson AZ
Date:January 28, 2011

High quality

Pros: solid construction
Cons: does not tilt
Model Number: Tropi Shade 11'
"Construction is of high quality. Fabric is
durable & excellent color. Umberlla construction is solid & pulley system works
well. 11 ' diameter covers well
Good value
"
1 2 next>>